Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1912. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS)
Series 1 (1691-1820) -- Series 2 (1821-1837) -- Series 3 (1838-1852) -- Series 4 -- (1853-1865) -- Series 5 (1866-1877)
The Web-based edition is a fully searchable version of the Associated Press Stylebook, including: A-Z guide to usage, spelling, capitalization, abbreviation, punctuation, numerals and many other questions of language usage; also includes a pronunciation guide with audio files.
ASTM Compass provides full-text access to the full set of ASTM’s Standards (both current and historical versions), Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Conference Proceedings, Technical Manuals, and research journals such as the Journal of Testing and Evaluation.
This database provides company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from: Hoover’s Company Profiles – covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch – succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports – covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots – market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Derwent Innovations Index indexes patents of chemical, electrical and mechanical inventions from 40 patent-issuing authorities worldwide. Users may search by topic, inventor, patent assignee, patent number, classification codes, as well as searching by cited patents, and by chemical compounds. Patent titles and abstracts are enhanced by Derwent patent experts for increased clarity and better topic searching.
This digital archive includes hundreds of concerts of the Berlin Philharmonic. Each season forty live broadcasts in high definition (HD) are added to the collection. In addition to world class performances featuring the great artists of classical music, the collection includes concert introductions, interviews and artist introductions, documentaries, and educational films.
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play. Updates vary.
East India Company, Module 1: Trade, Governance and Empire, 1600-1947 consists of the complete IOR classes A, B, C, and D and their associated Z-class indexes, comprising 932 volumes. Document types include Minutes of council meetings (Court of Directors, Court of Proprietors and Council of India), Memoranda and papers laid before councils, Council resolutions, Proceedings of revenue boards, Charters, Text of legislation, Printed books, Correspondence, Lists of administrative, military and ecclesiastical personnel. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Govinfo.gov is a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. Govinfo is a user-friendly, modernized site that provides an easy to use navigation system accessible on smartphones, tablets, laptops and personal computers. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies, and the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music, which contains recordings from more than 70 nations. Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a joint venture with Smithsonian Global Sound®, an international network of music audio archives and an educational resource that delivers the world's diverse cultural expressions via digital media.
Popular Medicine in America documents the history of popular remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America, through primary source materials drawn from the extensive collections of the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Emphasis is on material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Included is an array of printed sources, rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera. The material covers popular trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine and hydrotherapy, and documents the rise of widespread advertising by commercial manufacturers of medical aids.
RIBApix is a database of exceptional and unique images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects, the world's most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture. RIBApix covers world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts
Rock's Backpages is an online archive of music journalism, sourced from freelance contributions to the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day. Articles are full text and searchable, and all are reproduced with the permission of the copyright holders. The database contains over 31,000 articles, including interviews, features and reviews, which cover popular music from blues and soul up to the present date.
Coverage: 1950s to present
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape, which includes the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. Also contains a collection of fine art pieces by such artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. All of the documents are digitized in colour and include: verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Sourcing Journal is the premiere trade publication for apparel and textile executives focused on sourcing and manufacturing. Sourcing Journal knows that intelligent business decisions are based on strategic, time-sensitive information. With continuous updates on global market conditions, breaking news stories, top-tier investigative journalism and industry white papers, this resource makes sense of an increasingly complex sourcing landscape.
TRIP was created in 1997 to bring together all the evidence-based healthcare resources available on the Internet. TRIP plus was created in April 2003; this greatly enhanced version includes coverage of peer-reviewed journals, medical images and patient information leaflets, and is updated monthly
The United Nations Digital Library (UNDL) Website offers public free access to current and historical UN documents, maps, speeches, voting data, as well as non-sales publications. Available in English, French, Arabic, Russian and Chinese.
The University of Fashion offers fashion professionals and consumers the first ever online fashion design video library, comprised of professionally produced online fashion how-to videos covering the five fashion design disciplines of draping, pattern making, fashion art, sewing and product development. All lessons are taught by select fashion college professors from prestigious fashion colleges and by fashion industry professionals currently working in the fashion industry.
The collection spans the presidential administrations of Lyndon Baines Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia. Coverage 1820 - present.
Includes the full text of the Yomiuri Shinbun, from its initial publication in 1874 to date, as well as full text of the Daily Yomiuri, its English language equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Articles are keyword indexed to 8/31/1986, and can be searched full-text from 9/1/1986 to present.
Access is limited to one concurrent user.