Skip to Main Content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Access: UC Only
  • e-books
New
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.
  • Access: UC Only
  • Videos
  • e-books
New
ACS In Focus e-books focus on improving fundamental understanding of emerging topics across the physical sciences with multimedia extensions including videos, animations, and interactive models. Topics include Machine Learning, Nanocrystals and materials, photochemistry, astrochemistry, python for chemists, and more.
  • Access: UC Only
  • Primary Sources
New
Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1912. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS)
Series 1 (1691-1820) -- Series 2 (1821-1837) -- Series 3 (1838-1852) -- Series 4 -- (1853-1865) -- Series 5 (1866-1877)
  • Access: UC Only
New
The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis.
  • Access: Free
New
The Coronavirus Web Archive contains representative web-based content that documents the impact and response to the Covid-19 pandemic on communities across the United States. This collection was curated by subject specialists from across the Library in order to present a multidisciplinary collection. Subjects and creators include: federal, state, local, and tribal government; science and technology; economics and labor; arts and culture; public and social policy; education; psychology; sports and recreation; and religion. African American, Asian American, Latino/a/x, and Native American communities are reflected in this collection as both web content creators and marginalized populations impacted by the pandemic. A sample of coronavirus content from Asia, South America, Africa, Europe, and Oceania are featured in the collection.
Collection material in English, with Burmese, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Lao, Malay, Malayalam, Marathi, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Sinhala/Sinhalese, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Turkish
  • Access: UC Only
  • e-books
  • Images
  • Maps & GIS
  • Primary Sources
New
East India Company, Module 1: Trade, Governance and Empire, 1600-1947 consists of the complete IOR classes A, B, C, and D and their associated Z-class indexes, comprising 932 volumes. Document types include Minutes of council meetings (Court of Directors, Court of Proprietors and Council of India), Memoranda and papers laid before councils, Council resolutions, Proceedings of revenue boards, Charters, Text of legislation, Printed books, Correspondence, Lists of administrative, military and ecclesiastical personnel. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
  • Access: UC Only
New
"The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index"--|cProvided by publisher
  • Access: UC Only
  • Audio
  • Images
New
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies, and the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music, which contains recordings from more than 70 nations. Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a joint venture with Smithsonian Global Sound®, an international network of music audio archives and an educational resource that delivers the world's diverse cultural expressions via digital media.
  • Access: UC Only
  • Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
New
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedias cover a number of subjects and disciplines.
  • Access: UC Only
  • e-books
  • Images
  • Maps & GIS
  • Primary Sources
New
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape, which includes the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. Also contains a collection of fine art pieces by such artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. All of the documents are digitized in colour and include: verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.

Accessing UC Libraries Resources

Accessing Library Resource Information link

Please Report Database Errors

Icon Key

title
Loading...

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2021 University of Cincinnati