Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Access: Free
  • Follow directions in description to access content
New
Updated daily, NISO is collecting and posting information on temporary expanded access to online resources from many publishers and providers.
  • Access: UC Only
  • Primary Sources
New
Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1912. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS)
Series 1 (1691-1820) -- Series 2 (1821-1837) -- Series 3 (1838-1852) -- Series 4 -- (1853-1865) -- Series 5 (1866-1877)
  • Access: UC Only
  • Data & Statistics
New
This database provides company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from: Hoover’s Company Profiles – covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch – succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports – covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots – market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
  • Access: UC Only
New
The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis.
  • Access: Free
  • Follow directions in description to access content
New
Updated daily, NISO is collecting and posting information on temporary expanded access to online resources from many publishers and providers.
  • Access: Free
  • Data & Statistics
  • Government Documents
New
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it. For guidance on using data.census.gov, please see our Resources page at https://www.census.gov/data/adrm/what-is-data-census-gov.html.
  • Access: UC Only
  • Videos
  • Audio
New
This digital archive includes hundreds of concerts of the Berlin Philharmonic. Each season forty live broadcasts in high definition (HD) are added to the collection. In addition to world class performances featuring the great artists of classical music, the collection includes concert introductions, interviews and artist introductions, documentaries, and educational films.
  • Access: UC Only
  • Videos
  • Audio
New
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play. Updates vary.
  • Access: UC Only
  • e-books
  • Images
  • Maps & GIS
  • Primary Sources
New
East India Company, Module 1: Trade, Governance and Empire, 1600-1947 consists of the complete IOR classes A, B, C, and D and their associated Z-class indexes, comprising 932 volumes. Document types include Minutes of council meetings (Court of Directors, Court of Proprietors and Council of India), Memoranda and papers laid before councils, Council resolutions, Proceedings of revenue boards, Charters, Text of legislation, Printed books, Correspondence, Lists of administrative, military and ecclesiastical personnel. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
  • Access: UC Only
New
An article recommendation service (formerly F1000Prime and F1000Biology) providing up-to-date notifications on essential “science you shouldn’t miss.” Articles are annotated with commentary and ratings from a global virtual Faculty of experts in life sciences, health and physical sciences. These further details describe the importance and potential impact of a broad range of research articles. Users of Faculty Opinions can also add comments to published recommendations.
  • Access: UC Only
  • Primary Sources
  • Follow directions in description to access content
  • Print Book
New
UC users may “checkout” or VIEW but NOT DOWNLOAD content from books we have identified as owning in print that are also part of the HathiTrust digital collection.
To access: go to www.hathitrust.org
Click yellow Log In button
Choose University of Cincinnati from the dropdown
You will receive the standard UC login box requesting your username and password
Next, you will be asked to use the dual signin Duo
Once completed, the HathiTrust screen will display showing you as Member (in the right hand corner of the screen)
From there, you can search. Once you find a desired title, if you see a Temporary Access link, you will be able to check out the title.
  • Access: UC Only
  • Audio
  • Images
New
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies, and the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music, which contains recordings from more than 70 nations. Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a joint venture with Smithsonian Global Sound®, an international network of music audio archives and an educational resource that delivers the world's diverse cultural expressions via digital media.
  • Access: UC Only
  • Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
New
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedias cover a number of subjects and disciplines.
  • Access: UC Only
  • Primary Sources
New
Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950 through correspondence, reports, studies, organizational and administrative files, and much more. It is the first multi-sourced digital collection to consider the global scope of the refugee crisis leading up to, through, and after World War II. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
  • Access: UC Only
  • e-books
  • Images
  • Maps & GIS
  • Primary Sources
New
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape, which includes the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. Also contains a collection of fine art pieces by such artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. All of the documents are digitized in colour and include: verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
  • Access: UC Only
New
Access is limited to registered UC users. SciFinder-N is a new version of the chemistry research portal. It will be the only version available as of 1/1/2021. SciFinder is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, chemical substance databases. SciFinder-N also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), a predictive retrosynthesis planner, PatentPak patent mapping tool, and additional formulations and NMR spectra content. Coverage: 1907 – present.
  • Access: UC Only
New
Web-based citation management system (formerly F1000Workspace). You must register for a personal account. Organize references in personal databases, share citations with colleagues, read and annotate full text articles, and inserting citations into documents. Integrates with Google Docs and Microsoft Word through the SciWheel plug-in.

Access UC Only Resources from Off-Campus

Off Campus Access Logo

Please Report Database Errors

Icon Key

title
Loading...

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati