Bringing together material from twelve archives from around the world, this collection includes documents relating to major events in European maritime history from the voyages of James Cook to the search for John Franklin’s doomed mission to the Northwest Passage. It contains a host of additional features for teaching, such as an interactive map which presents an in-depth visualisation of over 50 of these influential voyages.Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1912. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS)
Series 1 (1691-1820) -- Series 2 (1821-1837) -- Series 3 (1838-1852) -- Series 4 -- (1853-1865) -- Series 5 (1866-1877)
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination includes more than 8 hours of video content that provides head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Note: OSCE Clinical Skills Videos not included in this subscription. Access is available via computer, smartphone, or tablet device. Browser compatibility includes Windows PC: IE 9, Firefox (latest version), Chrome (latest version). Mac: Safari (latest version), Firefox (latest version). Android and IOS devices: latest version of native browser.
NOTE: Access limited to authorized UC Medical Center users
This database provides company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from: Hoover’s Company Profiles – covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch – succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports – covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots – market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Covers business and law topics such as antitrust and competition, banking & consumer finance, bankruptcy, energy & environment, healthcare, hurman resources, intellectual property, labor & employment law, life sciences, pensions, product liability, securities, tax and transportation. Also includes a historical archive of economic forecasts under the heading Blue Chip.
This digital archive includes hundreds of concerts of the Berlin Philharmonic. Each season forty live broadcasts in high definition (HD) are added to the collection. In addition to world class performances featuring the great artists of classical music, the collection includes concert introductions, interviews and artist introductions, documentaries, and educational films.
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play. Updates vary.
East India Company, Module 1: Trade, Governance and Empire, 1600-1947 consists of the complete IOR classes A, B, C, and D and their associated Z-class indexes, comprising 932 volumes. Document types include Minutes of council meetings (Court of Directors, Court of Proprietors and Council of India), Memoranda and papers laid before councils, Council resolutions, Proceedings of revenue boards, Charters, Text of legislation, Printed books, Correspondence, Lists of administrative, military and ecclesiastical personnel. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text for nearly 2,000 magazines and book is provided, along with videos, and hobby profiles. Subjects include arts & crafts, home & garden, outdoor recreation, performing arts, and science & technology.
"Contains the National Archives and Records Administration's complete collection of records on President John F. Kennedy's assassination. Also included are books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic."--HeinOnline website
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies, and the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music, which contains recordings from more than 70 nations. Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a joint venture with Smithsonian Global Sound®, an international network of music audio archives and an educational resource that delivers the world's diverse cultural expressions via digital media.
Pharmacology World videos are a series of videos that covers all major drug classes and includes: mechanism of action, key pharmacokinetics, major therapeutic uses, and common and serious adverse effects. It also incorporates relevant physiology, pathophysiology and biochemistry.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape, which includes the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. Also contains a collection of fine art pieces by such artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. All of the documents are digitized in colour and include: verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
SAE Mobilus (TRIAL)
SAE Mobilus is a vast repository of engineering content for the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries. Our trial access (through November 10) includes full access to SAE’s standards and technical papers. The standards content includes thousands of new, revised, and reaffirmed standards in the areas of: Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports); Aerospace Standards; and Aerospace Material Specifications (AMS). The technical papers includes thousands of reports on the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering, including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
Please send us your feedback on the usefulness of this content to your work. Send feedback to Ted.Baldwin@uc.edu -- Ted Baldwin, Director of the Science and Engineering Libraries. Following the trial period, we will use your feedback to determine if we pursue a campus subscription to any content from SAE Mobilus.
Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.
A language learning resource, offering speaking, typing, listening, and vocabulary practice in 100+ languages, including for ESL students. Transparent Languages can be used via computer, smart phone, or tablet; both iPhone and Android devices are supported.
The collection spans the presidential administrations of Lyndon Baines Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
Very Short Introductions can change the way you think about the things that interest you, and are the perfect introduction to subjects you previously knew nothing about: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory. Very Short Introductions online bringing together titles from this well-known and established print series, via a highly discoverable and fully cross-searchable platform.