Highly Circulating Print Books in Science and Engineering Libraries
How to access the resources:
Click on the link in the image or title below.
Click the yellow "Log In" button in the top right corner of the HathiTrust website.
Choose University of Cincinnati and log in using your UC credentials. This will prompt a Duo authentication.
Click "Temporary Access" under the Viewability heading.
Click the "Check Out" button on the top right. Check outs last 1 hour and automatically renew as long as nobody else requests access.
Applied Linear Regression Models by John Neter; Michael H. Kutner; William Wasserman; Christopher J. NachtsheimProviding a blend of theory and application, this text emphasizes understanding concepts, which are demonstrated by means of worked-out examples. The theoretical side enables applications of regression analysis to be carried out successfully. Computer and graphic plots focus the text on analysis and models, and discussion of regression diagnostics includes the DFBETAS, DFFITS, and PRESS measures. Model building is examined in order to allow students to see how the model-building process integrates many of the elements considered in earlier chapters. This edition includes new topics, such as: robust tests for constancy of the error variance, smoothing techniques to explore the shape of the regression function, robust regression and non-parametric regression techniques.
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Classical Electrodynamics by John David JacksonThe third edition of the defining text for the graduate-level course in Electricity and Magnetism has finally arrived! It has been 37 years since the first edition and 24 since the second. The new edition addresses the changes in emphasis and applications that have occurred in the field, without any significant increase in length.
Publication Date: 1998-08-10
Classification and Regression Trees by Leo Breiman; Jerome Friedman; Charles J. Stone; R. A. OlshenThe methodology used to construct tree structured rules is the focus of this monograph. Unlike many other statistical procedures, which moved from pencil and paper to calculators, this text's use of trees was unthinkable before computers. Both the practical and theoretical sides have been developed in the authors' study of tree methods. Classification and Regression Trees reflects these two sides, covering the use of trees as a data analysis method, and in a more mathematical framework, proving some of their fundamental properties.
Publication Date: 1984-01-01
Communicating Nature: : how we create and understand environmental messages by Julia B. CorbettA broader and more comprehensive understanding of how we communicate with each other about the natural world and our relationship to it is essential to solving environmental problems. How do individuals develop beliefs and ideologies about the environment? How do we express those beliefs through communication? How are we influenced by the messages of pop culture and social institutions? And how does all this communication become part of the larger social fabric of what we know as "the environment"? Communicating Nature explores and explains the multiple levels of everyday communication that come together to form our perceptions of the natural world. Author Julia Corbett considers all levels of communication, from communication at the individual level, to environmental messages transmitted by popular culture, to communication generated by social institutions including political and regulatory agencies, business and corporations, media outlets, and educational organizations. The book offers a fresh and engaging introductory look at a topic of broad interest, and is an important work for students of the environment, activists and environmental professionals interested in understanding the cultural context of human-nature interactions.
Publication Date: 2006-11-06
Curve and Surface Fitting with Splines by Paul DierckxThe fitting of a curve or surface through a set of observational data is a recurring problem across numerous disciplines such as applications. This book describes the algorithms and mathematical fundamentals of a widely used software package for data fitting with tensor product splines. It gives a survey of possibilities, benefits, and problems commonly confronted when approximating with this popular type of function. Dierkx demonstrates in detail how the properties of B-splines can be fully exploited for improving the computational efficiency and for incorporating different boundary or shape preserving constraints. Special attention is also paid to strategies for an automatic and adaptive knot selection with intent to obtain serious data reductions. The practical use of the smoothing software is illustrated with many theoretical and practical examples.
Electrochemical Methods by Allen J. Bard; Larry R. FaulknerA broad and comprehensive survey of the fundamentals for electrochemical methods now in widespread use. This book is meant as a textbook, and can also be used for self-study as well as for courses at the senior undergraduate and beginning graduate levels. Knowledge of physical chemistry is assumed, but the discussions start at an elementary level and develop upward. This revision comes twenty years after publication of the first edition, and provides valuable new and updated coverage.
A First Course in Abstract Algebra - 4th ed by Joseph J. RotmanThis text introduces readers to the algebraic concepts of group and rings, providing a comprehensive discussion of theory as well as a significant number of applications for each. Number Theory: Induction; Binomial Coefficients; Greatest Common Divisors; The Fundamental Theorem of Arithmetic Congruences; Dates and Days. Groups I: Some Set Theory; Permutations; Groups; Subgroups and Lagrange's Theorem; Homomorphisms; Quotient Groups; Group Actions; Counting with Groups. Commutative Rings I: First Properties; Fields; Polynomials; Homomorphisms; Greatest Common Divisors; Unique Factorization; Irreducibility; Quotient Rings and Finite Fields; Officers, Magic, Fertilizer, and Horizons. Linear Algebra: Vector Spaces; Euclidean Constructions; Linear Transformations; Determinants; Codes; Canonical Forms. Fields: Classical Formulas; Insolvability of the General Quintic; Epilog. Groups II: Finite Abelian Groups; The Sylow Theorems; Ornamental Symmetry. Commutative Rings III: Prime Ideals and Maximal Ideals; Unique Factorization; Noetherian Rings; Varieties; Grobner Bases. For all readers interested in abstract algebra.
Publication Date: 2005-09-28
Forecasting with Univariate Box - Jenkins Models by Alan PankratzExplains the concepts and use of univariate Box-Jenkins/ARIMA analysis and forecasting through 15 case studies. Cases show how to build good ARIMA models in a step-by-step manner using real data. Also includes examples of model misspecification. Provides guidance to alternative models and discusses reasons for choosing one over another.
Publication Date: 1983-08-30
Fundamentals of Acoustics by Lawrence E. Kinsler; Austin R. Frey; Alan B. Coppens; James V. SandersThis text is designed for a one semester junior/senior/graduate level course in acoustics. It presents the physical and mathematical concepts related to the generation, transmission and reception of acoustic waves, covering the basic physics foundations as well as the engineering aspects of the discipline. This revision keeps the same strong pedagogical tradition as the previous editions by this well known author team.
Publication Date: 1999-12-30
Genius: the life and science of Richard Feynman by James GleickTo his colleagues, Richard Feynman was not so much a genius as he was a full-blown magician: someone who "does things that nobody else could do and that seem completely unexpected." The path he cleared for twentieth-century physics led from the making of the atomic bomb to a Nobel Prize-winning theory of quantam electrodynamics to his devastating exposé of the Challenger space shuttle disaster. At the same time, the ebullient Feynman established a reputation as an eccentric showman, a master safe cracker and bongo player, and a wizard of seduction. Now James Gleick, author of the bestselling Chaos, unravels teh dense skein of Feynman's thought as well as the paradoxes of his character in a biography--which was nominated for a National Book Award--of outstanding lucidity and compassion.
Introduction to Cosmology by Barbara RydenIntroduction to Cosmology provides a rare combination of a solid foundation of the core physical concepts of cosmology and the most recent astronomical observations. The book is designed for advanced undergraduates or beginning graduate students and assumes no prior knowledge of general relativity. An emphasis is placed on developing the readers' physical insight rather than losing them with complex math. An approachable writing style and wealth of fresh and imaginative analogies from "everyday" physics are used to make the concepts of cosmology more accessible. The book is unique in that it not only includes recent major developments in cosmology, like the cosmological constant and accelerating universe, but also anticipates key developments expected in the next few years, such as detailed results on the cosmic microwave background.
Introduction to Elementary Particles by David F. GriffithsThis is the first quantitative treatment of elementary particle theory that is accessible to undergraduates. Using a lively, informal writing style, the author strikes a balance between quantitative rigor and intuitive understanding. The first chapter provides a detailed historical introduction to the subject. Subsequent chapters offer a consistent and modern presentation, covering the quark model, Feynman diagrams, quantum electrodynamics, and gauge theories. A clear introduction to the Feynman rules, using a simple model, helps readers learn the calculational techniques without the complications of spin. And an accessible treatment of QED shows how to evaluate tree-level diagrams. Contains an abundance of worked examples and many end-of-chapter problems.
An Introduction to Modern Astrophysics by Bradley W. Carroll; Dale A. OstlieAn Introduction to Modern Astrophysics is a comprehensive, well-organized and engaging text covering every major area of modern astrophysics, from the solar system and stellar astronomy to galactic and extragalactic astrophysics, and cosmology. Designed to provide students with a working knowledge of modern astrophysics, this textbook is suitable for astronomy and physics majors who have had a first-year introductory physics course with calculus. Featuring a brief summary of the main scientific discoveries that have led to our current understanding of the universe; worked examples to facilitate the understanding of the concepts presented in the book; end-of-chapter problems to practice the skills acquired; and computational exercises to numerically model astronomical systems, the second edition of An Introduction to Modern Astrophysics is the go-to textbook for learning the core astrophysics curriculum as well as the many advances in the field.
Publication Date: 2017-09-07
An Introduction to Numerical Analysis by Kendall E. AtkinsonThis Second Edition of a standard numerical analysis text retains organization of the original edition, but all sections have been revised, some extensively, and bibliographies have been updated. New topics covered include optimization, trigonometric interpolation and the fast Fourier transform, numerical differentiation, the method of lines, boundary value problems, the conjugate gradient method, and the least squares solutions of systems of linear equations. Contains many problems, some with solutions.
Publication Date: 1989-01-17
Introduction to Probability Models -7th ed by Sheldon M. RossIntroduction to Probability Models, Twelfth Edition, is the latest version of Sheldon Ross's classic bestseller. This trusted book introduces the reader to elementary probability modelling and stochastic processes and shows how probability theory can be applied in fields such as engineering, computer science, management science, the physical and social sciences and operations research. The hallmark features of this text have been retained in this edition, including a superior writing style and excellent exercises and examples covering the wide breadth of coverage of probability topics. In addition, many real-world applications in engineering, science, business and economics are included.
Introduction to Real Analysis - 3rd ed by Robert G. Bartle; Donald R. SherbertThis text provides the fundamental concepts and techniques of real analysis for students in all of these areas. It helps one develop the ability to think deductively, analyze mathematical situations, and extend ideas to a new context. Like the first three editions, this edition maintains the same spirit and user-friendly approach with additional examples and expansion on Logical Operations and Set Theory. There is also content revision in the following areas: Introducing point-set topology before discussing continuity, including a more thorough discussion of limsup and limimf, covering series directly following sequences, adding coverage of Lebesgue Integral and the construction of the reals, and drawing student attention to possible applications wherever possible.
Introduction to Solid State Physics by Charles KittelNew edition of the most widely-used textbook on solid state physics in the world. Describes how the excitations and imperfections of actual solids can be understood with simple models that have firmly established scope and power. The foundation of this book is based on experiment, application and theory. Several significant advances in the field have been added including high temperature superconductors, quasicrystals, nanostructures, superlattices, Bloch/Wannier levels, Zener tunneling, light-emitting diodes and new magnetic materials.
Karst Hydrology of S Center, Kentucky by William B. WhiteThis volume has its roots in the distant past of more than 20 years ago, the International Hydrologic Decade (IHD), 1964-1974. One of the stated goals of the IHD was to promote research into groundwater situations for which the state of knowledge was hopelessly inadequate. One of these problem areas was the hydrology of carbonate terrains. Position papers published early in the IHD emphasized the special problems of karst; carbonate terrains were supposed to receive a substantial amount of attention during the IHD. There were indeed many new contributions from European colleagues but, unfortunately, in the United States the good intentions were not backed up by much in the way of federal funding. Some good and interesting work was published, particularly by the U. S. Geological Survey (USGS), but in the academic community the subject languished. About this same time the Cave Research Foundation (CRF), organized in 1957 to promote the systematic exploration, survey, and scientific study of the great cave systems of Mammoth Cave National Park, was casting about for a broader scope for its research activities. Up until that time, CRF research had been largely restricted to detailed mineralogical and geological investigations within the caves, with the main part of the effort concentrated on exploration and survey. The decision to investigate the hydrology required a certain enlargement of vision because investigators then had to consider the entire karst drainage basin rather than isolated fragments of cave passage.
Publication Date: 1989-05-31
Mathematical Proofs by Gary Chartrand; Albert D. Polimeni; Ping ZhangFor courses in Transition to Advanced Mathematics or Introduction to Proof. Meticulously crafted, student-friendly text that helps build mathematical maturity Mathematical Proofs: A Transition to Advanced Mathematics, 4th Edition introduces students to proof techniques, analyzing proofs, and writing proofs of their own that are not only mathematically correct but clearly written. Written in a student-friendly manner, it provides a solid introduction to such topics as relations, functions, and cardinalities of sets, as well as optional excursions into fields such as number theory, combinatorics, and calculus. The exercises receive consistent praise from users for their thoughtfulness and creativity. They help students progress from understanding and analyzing proofs and techniques to producing well-constructed proofs independently. This book is also an excellent reference for students to use in future courses when writing or reading proofs. 0134746759 / 9780134746753 Chartrand/Polimeni/Zhang, Mathematical Proofs: A Transition to Advanced Mathematics, 4/e
Publication Date: 2017-10-27
Methods of Multivariate Analysis by Alvin C. Rencher; William F. ChristensenPraise for the Second Edition "This book is a systematic, well-written, well-organized texton multivariate analysis packed with intuition and insight . . .There is much practical wisdom in this book that is hard to findelsewhere." --IIE Transactions Filled with new and timely content, Methods of MultivariateAnalysis, Third Edition provides examples and exercises basedon more than sixty real data sets from a wide variety of scientificfields. It takes a "methods" approach to the subject, placing anemphasis on how students and practitioners can employ multivariateanalysis in real-life situations. This Third Edition continues to explore the keydescriptive and inferential procedures that result frommultivariate analysis. Following a brief overview of the topic, thebook goes on to review the fundamentals of matrix algebra, samplingfrom multivariate populations, and the extension of commonunivariate statistical procedures (including t-tests,analysis of variance, and multiple regression) to analogousmultivariate techniques that involve several dependent variables.The latter half of the book describes statistical tools that areuniquely multivariate in nature, including procedures fordiscriminating among groups, characterizing low-dimensional latentstructure in high-dimensional data, identifying clusters in data,and graphically illustrating relationships in low-dimensionalspace. In addition, the authors explore a wealth of newly addedtopics, including: Confirmatory Factor Analysis Classification Trees Dynamic Graphics Transformations to Normality Prediction for Multivariate Multiple Regression Kronecker Products and Vec Notation New exercises have been added throughout the book, allowingreaders to test their comprehension of the presented material.Detailed appendices provide partial solutions as well assupplemental tables, and an accompanying FTP site features thebook's data sets and related SAS® code. Requiring only a basic background in statistics, Methods ofMultivariate Analysis, Third Edition is an excellent book forcourses on multivariate analysis and applied statistics at theupper-undergraduate and graduate levels. The book also serves as avaluable reference for both statisticians and researchers across awide variety of disciplines.
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Nonlinear Programming: Theory and Algorithms - 2nd ed by Mokhtar S. Bazaraa; Hanif D. Sherali; C. M. ShettyCOMPREHENSIVE COVERAGE OF NONLINEAR PROGRAMMING THEORY ANDALGORITHMS, THOROUGHLY REVISED AND EXPANDED Nonlinear Programming: Theory and Algorithms?now inan extensively updated Third Edition?addresses the problem ofoptimizing an objective function in the presence of equality andinequality constraints. Many realistic problems cannot beadequately represented as a linear program owing to the nature ofthe nonlinearity of the objective function and/or the nonlinearityof any constraints. The Third Edition begins with a generalintroduction to nonlinear programming with illustrative examplesand guidelines for model construction. Concentration on the three major parts of nonlinear programmingis provided: Convex analysis with discussion of topological properties ofconvex sets, separation and support of convex sets, polyhedralsets, extreme points and extreme directions of polyhedral sets, andlinear programming Optimality conditions and duality with coverage of the nature,interpretation, and value of the classical Fritz John (FJ) and theKarush-Kuhn-Tucker (KKT) optimality conditions; theinterrelationships between various proposed constraintqualifications; and Lagrangian duality and saddle point optimalityconditions Algorithms and their convergence, with a presentation ofalgorithms for solving both unconstrained and constrained nonlinearprogramming problems Important features of the Third Edition include: New topics such as second interior point methods, nonconvexoptimization, nondifferentiable optimization, and more Updated discussion and new applications in each chapter Detailed numerical examples and graphical illustrations Essential coverage of modeling and formulating nonlinearprograms Simple numerical problems Advanced theoretical exercises The book is a solid reference for professionals as well as auseful text for students in the fields of operations research,management science, industrial engineering, applied mathematics,and also in engineering disciplines that deal with analyticaloptimization techniques. The logical and self-contained formatuniquely covers nonlinear programming techniques with a great depthof information and an abundance of valuable examples andillustrations that showcase the most current advances in nonlinearproblems.
Nonlinear Solid Mechanics by Wilfried B. Holzapfel; Gerhard A. HolzapfelNonlinear Solid Mechanics a Continuum Approach for Engineering Gerhard A. Holzapfel Graz University of Technology, Austria With a modern, comprehensive approach directed towards computational mechanics, this book covers a unique combination of subjects at present unavailable in any other text. It includes vital information on 'variational principles' constituting the cornerstone of the finite element method. In fact this is the only method by which Nonlinear Solid Mechanics is utilized in engineering practice. The book opens with a fundamental chapter on vectors and tensors. The following chapters are based on nonlinear continuum mechanics - an inevitable prerequisite for computational mechanicians. In addition, continuum field theory (applied to a representative sample of hyperelastic materials currently used in nonlinear computations such as incompressible and compressible materials) is presented, as are transversely isotropic materials, composite materials, viscoelastic materials and hyperelastic materials with isotropic damage. Another central chapter is devoted to the thermodynamics of materials, covering both finite thermoelasticity and finite thermoviscoelasticity. Also included are: * an up-to-date list of almost 300 references and a comprehensive index * useful examples and exercises for the student * selected topics of statistical and continuum thermodynamics. Furthermore, the principle of virtual work (in both the material and spatial descriptions) is compared with two and three-field variational principles particularly designed to capture kinematic constraints such as incompressibility. All of the features combined result in an essential text for final year undergraduates, postgraduates and researchers in mechanical, civil and aerospace engineering and applied maths and physics.
Publication Date: 2000-04-07
Numerical Analysis by Richard L. Burden; J. Douglas FairesThis well-respected text gives an introduction to the modern approximation techniques and explains how, why, and when the techniques can be expected to work. The authors focus on building students' intuition to help them understand why the techniques presented work in general, and why, in some situations, they fail. With a wealth of examples and exercises, the text demonstrates the relevance of numerical analysis to a variety of disciplines and provides ample practice for students. The applications chosen demonstrate concisely how numerical methods can be, and often must be, applied in real-life situations. In this edition, the presentation has been fine-tuned to make the book even more useful to the instructor and more interesting to the reader. Overall, students gain a theoretical understanding of, and a firm basis for future study of, numerical analysis and scientific computing. A more applied text with a different menu of topics is the authors' highly regarded NUMERICAL METHODS, Third Edition.
Publication Date: 2004-12-10
Organic Chemistry II by David R. KleinBuilding on the resounding success of the first volume (0-471-27235-3), Organic Chemistry as a Second Language, Volume 2 provides readers with clear, easy-to-understand explanations of fundamental principles. It explores the critical concepts while also examining why they are relevant. The core content is presented within the framework of predicting products, proposing mechanisms, and solving synthesis problems. Readers will fine-tune the key skills involved in solving those types of problems with the help of interactive, step-by-step instructions and problems.
Probability, Random Variables and Stochastic Processes with Errata Sheet by Athanasios Papoulis; S. Unnikrishna PillaiThe fourth edition of Probability, Random Variables and Stochastic Processes has been updated significantly from the previous edition, and it now includes co-author S. Unnikrishna Pillai of Polytechnic University. The book is intended for a senior/graduate level course in probability and is aimed at students in electrical engineering, math, and physics departments. The authors' approach is to develop the subject of probability theory and stochastic processes as a deductive discipline and to illustrate the theory with basic applications of engineering interest. Approximately 1/3 of the text is new material--this material maintains the style and spirit of previous editions. In order to bridge the gap between concepts and applications, a number of additional examples have been added for further clarity, as well as several new topics.
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Programming in MATLAB by Marc E. HerniterPerfect for use in a lab or by individuals, PROGRAMMING IN MATLAB® is designed to help anyone interested in electrical and computer engineering develop programming skills using MATLAB® as the programming language. The text is also applicable for those interested in utilizing MATLAB® in industry.MATLAB® is quickly surpassing C, BASIC, and Fortran in engineering departments as the programming language of choice (due to the many functions and toolboxes the program features). It allows the many students who use it to write complex programs to solve a variety of technical problems efficiently. Herniter offers a straightforward approach to learning the program, and assumes no prior exposure to MATLAB®. The book offers comprehensive instructions for programming in MATLAB®, including specific output results and numerous MATLAB® screen captures. Its use is ideal in a lab/lecture setting where readers can recreate examples and complete problem assignments. However, the text organization is also appropriate for use as a general reference guide for programming MATLAB®. Herniter introduces fundamental programming skills, then moves into solving basic problems using built-in MATLAB® functions, and finally into solving engineering problems using MATLAB®.
Publication Date: 2000-11-28
Quantum Mechanics: concepts and applications by Nouredine ZettiliThis richly illustrated textbook provides a clear, balanced and modern approach to quantum mechanics. It combines the essential elements of the theory with the practical applications. Containing many examples and problems with step-by-step solutions, this cleverly structured text assists the reader in mastering the machinery of quantum mechanics. * A comprehensive introduction to the subject * Includes over 65 solved examples integrated throughout the text * Includes over 154 fully solved multipart problems * Offers an indepth treatment of the practical mathematical tools of quantum mechanics * Accessible to teachers as well as students
Publication Date: 2001-10-15
Solid State Physics by Gerald BurnsThe objective of Solid State Physics is to introduce college seniors and first-year graduate students in physics, electrical engineering, materials science, chemistry, and related areas to this diverse and fascinating field. I have attempted to present this complex subject matter in a coherent, integrated manner, emphasizing fundamental scientific ideas to give the student a strong understanding and "feel" for the physics and the orders of magnitude involved. The subject is varied, covering many important, sophisticated, and practical areas, which, at first, may appear unrelated but which are actually built on the same foundation: the bonding between atoms, the periodic translational symmetry, and the resulting electron energy levels. The text is comprehensive enough so that the basics of broad areas of present research are covered, yet flexible enough so that courses of varying lengths can be satisfied. the exercises at the end of each chapter serve to reinforce and extend the text.
Statistical Inference by George Casella; Roger L. BergerThis book builds theoretical statistics from the first principles of probability theory. Starting from the basics of probability, the authors develop the theory of statistical inference using techniques, definitions, and concepts that are statistical and are natural extensions and consequences of previous concepts. This book can be used for readers who have a solid mathematics background. It can also be used in a way that stresses the more practical uses of statistical theory, being more concerned with understanding basic statistical concepts and deriving reasonable statistical procedures for a variety of situations, and less concerned with formal optimality investigations.
Variance Components by Shayle R. Searle; George Casella; Charles E. McCullochWILEY-INTERSCIENCE PAPERBACK SERIES The Wiley-Interscience Paperback Series consists ofselected books that have been made more accessible to consumers inan effort to increase global appeal and general circulation. Withthese new unabridged softcover volumes, Wiley hopes to extend thelives of these works by making them available to future generationsof statisticians, mathematicians, and scientists. ". . .Variance Components is an excellent book. It isorganized and well written, and provides many references to avariety of topics. I recommend it to anyone with interest in linearmodels." ?Journal of the American StatisticalAssociation "This book provides a broad coverage of methods for estimatingvariance components which appeal to students and research workers .. . The authors make an outstanding contribution to teaching andresearch in the field of variance component estimation." ?Mathematical Reviews "The authors have done an excellent job in collecting materialson a broad range of topics. Readers will indeed gain from usingthis book . . . I must say that the authors have done a commendablejob in their scholarly presentation." ?Technometrics This book focuses on summarizing the variability of statisticaldata known as the analysis of variance table. Penned in a readablestyle, it provides an up-to-date treatment of research in the area.The book begins with the history of analysis of variance andcontinues with discussions of balanced data, analysis of variancefor unbalanced data, predictions of random variables, hierarchicalmodels and Bayesian estimation, binary and discrete data, and thedispersion mean model.
Vertebrates: Comparative Anatomy, Function, Evolution by Kenneth KardongThis one-semester text is designed for an upper-level majors course. Vertebrates features a unique emphasis on function and evolution of vertebrates, complete anatomical detail, and excellent pedagogy. Vertebrate groups are organized phylogenetically, and their systems discussed within such a context. Morphology is foremost, but the author has developed and integrated an understanding of function and evolution into the discussion of anatomy of the various systems.
Publication Date: 2014-02-14
Vibrant Matter: a political ecology of things by Jane BennettIn Vibrant Matter the political theorist Jane Bennett, renowned for her work on nature, ethics, and affect, shifts her focus from the human experience of things to things themselves. Bennett argues that political theory needs to do a better job of recognizing the active participation of nonhuman forces in events. Toward that end, she theorizes a "vital materiality" that runs through and across bodies, both human and nonhuman. Bennett explores how political analyses of public events might change were we to acknowledge that agency always emerges as the effect of ad hoc configurations of human and nonhuman forces. She suggests that recognizing that agency is distributed this way, and is not solely the province of humans, might spur the cultivation of a more responsible, ecologically sound politics: a politics less devoted to blaming and condemning individuals than to discerning the web of forces affecting situations and events. Bennett examines the political and theoretical implications of vital materialism through extended discussions of commonplace things and physical phenomena including stem cells, fish oils, electricity, metal, and trash. She reflects on the vital power of material formations such as landfills, which generate lively streams of chemicals, and omega-3 fatty acids, which can transform brain chemistry and mood. Along the way, she engages with the concepts and claims of Spinoza, Nietzsche, Thoreau, Darwin, Adorno, and Deleuze, disclosing a long history of thinking about vibrant matter in Western philosophy, including attempts by Kant, Bergson, and the embryologist Hans Driesch to name the "vital force" inherent in material forms. Bennett concludes by sketching the contours of a "green materialist" ecophilosophy.