Research Guides: LCOB MKTG 2208 Marketing Research: Guide Home

Welcome

This guide will get you started on your research process for Marketing Research. Please refer to your professor and syllabus for detailed information for the assignment.

Where to Find Company Information like Descriptions, Financials, Past Sales/Projections, Competitors

Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online is a database of public and private company reports and Industry studies. Search by: Company name¸ Ticker symbol¸ Keyword Person's last name. UC has access also to the Members Only sections which includes the Hoovers in-depth Company Profiles where you will find sales leads¸ business contacts¸ investment ideas¸ financial information and competitive intelligence information including a list of competitiors.
NOTE: KNOWN ISSUE WITH ACCESS PROBLEMS; TRY A DIFFERENT BROWSER, CLEAR HISTORY AND/OR TRY AGAIN.
Coverage: Current

Additional databases with company profiles
Full list of UC databases that contain company profiles and descriptions.

Where to Find Mission Statements and Brand Information

One of the best places to find a company's mission statement is on the "About Us", "Find more information", or "investor relations" page of its web page.

Below are additional resources to check:

Business Insights: Global
Powered by a frequently updated and curated collection¸ Gale Business Insights: Global combines deep research coverage with scholarly journals¸ business news¸ and more.
Business Source Complete
Business database with full text for over 3¸600 serials¸ including over 1¸000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text¸ non-journal content includes financial data¸ books¸ monographs¸ major reference works¸ book digests¸ conference proceedings¸ case studies¸ investment research reports¸ industry reports¸ market research reports¸ country reports¸ company profiles¸ SWOT analyses and more.
Coverage: 1886 - present

Where to Find Industry Trends and Information

IBISWorld
IBISWorld Industry Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries in all major U.S. industry sectors at the 5-digit level of NAICS . Reports are updated regularly¸ and contain: key statistics¸ market characteristics¸ segmentation¸ industry conditions¸ industry performance¸ key competitors¸ key factors¸ and industry outlook and forecast.
Coverage - Current
Mintel Reports
Market research reports primarily for the U.S. and covers a variety of sectors including beauty and personal¸ health and medical¸ electronic¸ consumer goods¸ lifestyles¸ travel and tourism¸ financial industry¸ internet industry¸ retail¸ and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers¸ market size & trends¸ market segmentation¸ supply structure¸ advertising and promotion¸ retail distribution¸ consumer characteristics¸ and future and forecasts. Users will need to click on "I Agree" with the "Conditions of use" statement - each time they enter the database¸ and to establish and login into a profile with a UC e-mail address. Coverage: current

Other Market Research Databases
To find whether we have the report you need, try your industry search first on "Alacra" or "marketResearch.com". Once you identify the report that you need, look for the publisher of the report on the list below. If it is listed, connect to the publisher's website and search for that report.

Where to Find Consumer Trends and Information

Mintel Reports
Market research reports primarily for the U.S. and covers a variety of sectors including beauty and personal¸ health and medical¸ electronic¸ consumer goods¸ lifestyles¸ travel and tourism¸ financial industry¸ internet industry¸ retail¸ and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers¸ market size & trends¸ market segmentation¸ supply structure¸ advertising and promotion¸ retail distribution¸ consumer characteristics¸ and future and forecasts. Users will need to click on "I Agree" with the "Conditions of use" statement - each time they enter the database¸ and to establish and login into a profile with a UC e-mail address. Coverage: current
Passport (Euromonitor)
Includes sections on: Detailed market size data¸ Country marketing parameters¸ Marketing forecast data¸ Brand and company information¸ Business information sources¸ Marketing profiles¸ and Full text market analysis¸ International market intelligence reports¸ market direction reports¸ and Emerging market reports.
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap)
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) is a web-based mapping application to create professional quality, interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of U.S. demographic, business, and marketing variables. Select, sort, and compare data across multiple geographic locations and create custom reports exportable to spreadsheets. First time users must create an account to login.

How to Find Company Information at the Library

Summon searches for books, articles, and other materials available at the library (most of it is online). It is a library version of Google.

You can find company information available at the library by using some of the following searches:

Kroger AND "company goals"
IBM AND "financial goals"
Cintas AND "core competencies"
"consumer trends" AND "frozen foods"