BME 3010: Research Design

Compendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present

Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present

PubMed¸ a service of the National Library of Medicine¸ includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Coverage: 1950's - present

EMBASE (Excerpta Medica dataBASE) is a biomedical and pharmacological international database (1947 to present).
Coverage: 1966 - present

Full-text access to high-quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics and related disciplines. Includes journals, magazines and standards published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and conference proceedings from both IEEE and the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology).

First-time users sign up here. Register for your account using your UC.edu email address. SciFinder-N is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. The database searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference papers, technical reports, chemical property data.

Access is limited to registered UC users. SciFinder-N is the updated version of this chemistry research portal. It is an extensive database for chemistry-related literature and patents, chemical substance and reaction databases, and chemical supplier catalogs. SciFinder-N searches journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports and chemical substance databases. It also includes MethodsNow (synthetic protocols), the PatentPak patent mapping tool, a predictive retrosynthesis planner, and added content for formulations and NMR spectra. Coverage: 1907 – present.

Includes full-text (2004-present) of materials science and engineering journals published by Trans Tech. Journal titles include: Advanced Materials Research, Applied Mechanics and Materials, Defect and Diffusion Forum, Journal of Biomimetics, Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Journal of Metastable and Nanocrystalline Materials, Journal of Nano Research, Materials Science Forum, and Nano Hybrids and Composites.

The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually. All sources are searchable and there are also several browse options for proceedings (by year, symposium, volume number, volume title, technology). Publications included in the SPIE Digital Library include, the Proceedings of SPIE, Optical Engineering, Journal of Electronic Imaging, Journal of Biomedical Optics, and Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems.

Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present