Research Guides: Researching in the Performing Arts @ CCM: Streaming Audio & Video

Streaming Audio & Video

STREAMING AUDIO & VIDEO

Find performances to listen to and/or to view online.

Streaming Audio

Digital Concert Hall (Berliner Philharmoniker)
This digital archive includes hundreds of concerts of the Berlin Philharmonic. Each season forty live broadcasts in high definition (HD) are added to the collection. In addition to world class performances featuring the great artists of classical music, the collection includes concert introductions, interviews and artist introductions, documentaries, and educational films. Choose "Direct Access" or create a personal account -- both work!
Met Opera on Demand
More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library comprises over 550,000 tracks from 38,700 albums, including classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. While listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's database. It is searchable by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre, and allows for creation of playlists.
Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library holds 56¸000 tracks¸ primarily of standard classical repertoire, licensed from around 32 labels¸ including¸ Arabesque¸ ASV¸ EMI¸ Hyperion¸ Hänssler¸ and Smithsonian Folkways. Provided by Alexander Street Press.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
20¸000 tracks of jazz from over 1¸850 albums. Over 500 jazz artists are represented. Comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalog and offers the very best in blues and R&B.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Smithsonian Global Sound includes the published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. The resource includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University, as well as material collected on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies, and the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music, which contains recordings from more than 70 nations.
Qwest TV edu
Find concerts, documentaries, archives, and albums from a variety of genres: jazz, blues, funk-soul, pop-folk-rock-indie, electronic music, musics of the world ... Click "watch now" to get to main home page. If that doesn't work, click search box in upper right-hand corner, then click Qwest logo in upper left-hand corner.
DRAM (formerly Database of Recorded American Music)
DRAM provides streaming access to the diverse catalog of American music recordings by New World Records. Listeners can access CD-quality audio, complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. The collection ranges from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater to contemporary, electronic and beyond. Other contributing labels include the CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening and Mutable Music.
OhioLINK Music Center (OMC)
OhioLINK Music Center¸ features more than 78¸000 tracks and 21¸000 works from the Naxos Music Library. Users can search for and listen to tracks in six genres - Chinese music¸ classical music¸ opera¸ jazz¸ spoken word and world music - with works from many well-known composers¸ including Bach¸ Handel¸ Beethoven¸ Chopin¸ Strauss¸ Copeland¸ and Ellington. Flash player is required.

CCM concert programs (dating back to 2000) and concert recordings (dating back to 2010).The recordings are held on one of the University of Cincinnati's digital repositories, the Digital Resource Commons (DRC); they are available for listening to current members of the UC community.

Internet Archive: Audio Recordings
Thousands of recordings contributed by Archive users and community members.
National Jukebox
The Library of Congress's National Jukebox includes early recordings digitally transferred from the collections at the Library’s Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and from other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings. The Jukebox initially launched more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Content is increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles of other Sony-owned American labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others. Detailed metadata about Jukebox recordings can often be found on the Discography of American Historical Recordings (DAHR) website.(http://victor.library.ucsb.edu/).
UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive
A digital collection of more than 10,000 early cylinder recordings held by the UCSB Library. To bring these recordings to a wider audience, the Library makes them available to download or stream online for free.

Speech Accent Archive
The speech accent archive uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. Native and non-native speakers of English read the same paragraph and are carefully transcribed. The archive is used by people who wish to compare and analyze the accents of different English speakers.

return to TOP MENU

Streaming Video

Acquisition Guide to Streaming Video
A guide to help you locate streaming films that are available to lease and are available for free.
Guide from UC Libraries.

medici.tv
Building on the success of webcasts from the Verbier Festival in 2007, Medici.tv has since offered high-definition webcasts from many other leading music and arts festivals, including Aix-en-Provence, Saint-Denis, Aspen, Glyndebourne, and Lucerne, as well as from such music venues as the Opéra National de Paris, Auditorium du Louvre, Cité de la Musique, and Salle Pleyel in Paris, and Milan's famed La Scala. Many operas and concerts performed by the world's top-flight artists and orchestras have been webcast both as live events and later as video-on-demand (VOD).
Digital Concert Hall (Berliner Philharmoniker)
This digital archive includes hundreds of concerts of the Berlin Philharmonic. Each season forty live broadcasts in high definition (HD) are added to the collection. In addition to world class performances featuring the great artists of classical music, the collection includes concert introductions, interviews and artist introductions, documentaries, and educational films. Choose "Direct Access" or create a personal account -- both work!
Met Opera on Demand
The online streaming resource of New York's Metropolitan Opera, featuring more than 450 full-length Met performances. Features recent HD broadcasts, as well as historic telecasts (1970s-2010s) and radio broadcasts (dating back to the 1930s).
Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with over 300 operas¸ ballets¸ documentaries¸ live concerts¸ and musical tours of historic places.

Qwest.tv
Find concerts, documentaries, archives, and albums from a variety of genres: jazz, blues, funk-soul, pop-folk-rock-indie, electronic music, musics of the world ... Click "watch now" to get to main home page. If that doesn't work, click search box in upper right-hand corner, then click Qwest logo in upper left-hand corner.
Kanopy@UC
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. This guide explains how to request access to a Kanopy film at UC.

Films on Demand - Streaming Videos
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows viewing of streaming videos from Films Media Group. Arts-related films include: "John Cage: Talks About Cows & One/Seven," "...Mounting Parsifal at the Stuttgart Opera," "In Search of Haydn," parts 1 & 2, "...Exploring Mahler's Resurrection Symphony," etc. (check out the "Music History," "Dance," and "World Music" categories), as well as videos of many artists in concert. Ken Burns documentaries include the history of jazz, the Roosevelts, the Civil War, women's suffrage, Thomas Jefferson, National Parks, etc.

NewMusicBox Interviews
Full-length interviews of American musicians conducted by editor Frank Oteri for NewMusicBox, the online magazine of NewMusicUSA. This exciting collection is available from Oral History of American Music (OHAM).
When you click on a video, you may get a message "content locked" and a prompt to log in or create an Aviary account. To create a free account, click "Log In" at the top of the page. You need to submit a separate request to access each interview, but requests are granted automatically.

return to TOP MENU