Sociology -- Resources & Services (Main Library)

SocINDEX with Full Text provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. The database includes over 2 million records and provides cover to cover indexing for over 450 priority and selective indexing for over 2,900 journals. SocINDEX also indexes books, conference papers and non-periodical content. FULL TEXT is provided for over 860 journals, over 830 books and over 16,800 conference papers.
Record Date: 7/1/2015

Coverage is from 1975 to the present.
Record Date: 4/23/2012

The Family & Society Studies Worldwide Database(FSSW) includes the discontinued Inventory of Marriage and Family (produced by the National Council on Family Relations), the Australian Family & Society Abstracts, U.S. Military Family Resource Center Documents Database, and National Clearinghouse on Family Violence, Health Canada. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources.

Family Studies Abstracts (formerly Sage family studies abstracts) provides abstracts for articles, reports, books, and other materials to the current literature in the field of family studies, including coverage of adolescent problems and treatment, adulthood, aging, child care, death and dying, development and socialization, domestic abuse and violence, education, employment, ethnic and minority relations, family law, family life cycles, gender roles and comparisons, home schooling, homosexuality and bisexuality, infancy and toddler hood, marital happiness and quality, mate selection, parental influence, pregnancy loss, sexually transmitted diseases, and social work. Coverage is from 1979 to the present.
Record Date: 4/23/2012

POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE) contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development. (USAID).
Record date: 6/11/2012

Scopus provides indexing, abstracting and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus includes over 19,500 peer reviewed titles from 5,000 publishers, providing access to over 46 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years, building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage also includes over 500 million quality web sites, over 20 million patents and 200 book series.
Record Date: 8/6/2012

This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Record Date: 10/24/2013

Summon contains a variety of quality information and access to content provided by the University of Cincinnati Library. To date, Search Summon to find articles, books, and more.
Record date: 1/11/2012

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Most full text titles are in PDF format.
Record date: 4/23/2012

Indexes and contains the full text of literature review articles in psychology and related areas. Coverage is from 1950 to the present. Published annually.
Record Date: 4/26/12

This is an international index covering major communications related articles, reports and books, including such areas as mass communication, broadcasting, communications theory, organizational communications, small group communications, intrapersonal communications, public opinion and television. Communications Abstracts covers over 250 publications and over 200,000 articles.
Record Date: 3/28/2012

Provides a unique pro/con approach to contemporary social and economic issues, including areas of health and criminal justice. This is not a scholarly source, but each report provides an overview and pro/con analysis of a topic.
Record date: 5/3/2012

Ethnic NewsWatch covers 1979 to the present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The publications offer both national and regional coverage. Ethnic NewsWatch™ is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. Coverage begins in 1979 and is updated daily with new content. Many of the titles are not found in any other aggregated resource.


Record date: 3/28/2012

Provides access to articles from more than 5,300 scholarly, trade and general-interest publications, as well as references for The New York Times. More than 3,000 of these titles are full text. The database integrates core titles in every major academic concentration. Subject coverage includes astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. The database is updated daily.
Record Date: 3/28/2012

This database indexes over 5,300 academic, popular and news publications from 1980 to the present. Over 3,000 publications are full text and over 3, 800 are peer reviewed.
Record date: 5/3/2012

GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
This database combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD includes several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
Record date: 4/24/2012

GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government reports. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.
Record Date: 3/28/2012

This database serves as an index to over a half million United States government publications from 1976 to the present--including congressional reports, executive and agency documents. It includes Item and SUDOC numbers, author, title, type, and complete bibliographic information. Coverage: 1976 to present.
Record date: 4/26/2012

Record date: 8/19/2019

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition provides access to full text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994. The database provides indexing and abstracts from 1982 for nearly 3,600 publications, including the following areas: art, agriculture, applied science, business, current events, education, general science, humanities, law, library sciences, social sciences, technology, and many other fields.
Record date: 4/23/2012

This viewpoints database covers a wide range of controversial topics, including the following: Abortion, Administration of Criminal Justice, Adolescence, Adolescent , Sexual Ethics, AIDS (Disease), American Culture, Animal Experimentation, Animal Rights, Animal Rights Movement, Bioethics, Birth Control, Capital Punishment, Censorship, Child Abuse, Civil Rights, Crime, Cultural Conflict, Death, Eating Disorders, Ecology, Education, Elderly, Employment, Endangered Species, Environmental Policy, Environmental Protection, Environmentalism, Ethnic Relations, Euthanasia, Family, Family Life, Family Planning, Family Relationships, Feminism, Gambling, Gangs, Genetic Engineering, Gun Control, Health Care Industry, Health Care Reform, Health Insurance, Homosexuality, Human Reproduction, Juvenile Delinquency, Media Violence, Medical Care, Medical Ethics, Mental Disorders, Mental Health, Narcotics Control, Natural Resources, Pollution, Poverty, Public Assistance, Race Relations, Sex Education, Sexual Behavior, Sexuality, Social Values, Suicide, Teenage Pregnancy, Terrorism, United States, United States Foreign Relations, Violence, Welfare Reform, Women's Rights, Youth. Provides direct access to full-text articles. Click on "Research Guide" at bottom of home page to connect to critical thinking tools.
Record date: 12/7/2017

Indexes periodicals, government documents, statistical directories, reports, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and books. Each year, PAIS indexers review more than 8000 monographs and issues of more than 1600 periodicals. Coverage includes the entire spectrum of public and social policy issues. Most records include an abstract. Publications from over 120 countries throughout the world are included, representing source documents in a wide variety of languages. The main subject areas covered in this database are: economics, political science, public administration, international trade, international law, international relations, demography, and social problems. Coverage is from 1972 to the present.
Record date: 4/26/2012

Population Index is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. This website provides a searchable and browsable database of the full text of Population Index and the former title, Population Literature.
Record date: 4/26/2012

Record date: 12/3/2018

The ProQuest Research Library provides indexing to over 2,600 periodicals. Nearly two-thirds of the titles covered in Research Library offer complete articles in the ASCII full-text, full-image, or Text+GraphicsT formats. Coverage represents popular, business magazines and scholarly journals.

Provides selected full text articles from 574 journals (title list found at http://epnet.com/titleLists/pb-complete.htm) covering topics such as behavioral characteristics, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Coverage for is from 1918 to the present. Nearly all of the journals covered in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. However, a substantial number of the articles indexed in "Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection" are indexed "full text." This is not the case with PsycINFO. Therefore, you will likely find some articles on your topic in "Psychology & Behavioral Sciences" that you will not find in PsycINFO, but you must search the "All Text" field in your "Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection" search.
Record Date: 8/9/06

PsycINFO®, produced by the American Psychological Association, is the primary database to scholarly research for the psychology. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
Record date: 6/25/2012

Record date: 7/25/2012

Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records from over 2,000 periodical titles and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Record Date: 3/28/2012