Sociology -- Resources & Services (Main Library)

The publishing center of APA Style Central provides access to over 2,000 academic journals with detailed information about each journal, including the scope of the journal, publication schedule and number of articles published in the last 3 years by keywords, population groups, authors, tests & measures and various other descriptive variables. Each journal entry includes a "SUBMISSION" link to the publisher and a plethora of information to facilitate your submission of a manuscript.

Formerly Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities, Cabell's Scholarly Analytics has a new and intuitive interface. Cabell's facilitates the process of finding the most appropriate publication opportunities for your area of research. Cabell's provides publishing information, guidelines and requirements for over 11,000 journals and nearly 2,000 journals in psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines. Though the Cabell's Directory focuses on the discipline of psychology, dozens of the publications listed in this directory are very related to the discipline of sociology. Cabell's provides the following information for each publication: contact information, review process (including acceptance rate, type of review & review time), publication data, manuscript guidelines and topics covered. Further, Cabell's provides a plethora of journal metrics and altmetrics to assist your journal selection.

This webinar introduces Cabell's new and improved interface, new features and redesigned journal entries. Additionally, Cabells introduces two new important features: the Journal Blacklist, the only blacklist of deceptive and predatory academic journals (including specific violations), and Altmetric Reports, a measurement of journal respectibility and value. NOTE: you must register with Cabells to invoke the video.

Use "Match," the new manuscript matching utility, to facilitate the discovery of the best journal candidates for your manuscript. This excellent tool is available from within the EndNote desktop product (Version X9), from with any manuscript using EndNote's Cite While You Write utility (version X9) or by creating and accessing your EndNote online account. Click on the link above to access a short tutorial video for more information.

"Publishing options : an author's guide to journals" is published by the American Sociological Association. Published since 1981, this January 2013 electronic edition is vastly improved over previous editions. It now covers 180 journals publishing manuscripts in sociology and related fields. Each entry includes basic bibliographic information about each entry. Additionally, each entry includes the journal's Website, mission of the journal, annual circulation information, the journal's areas of interest and types of articles, submission requirements and statistics (including acceptance rate) and in many cases the ISI impact factor. Publishing Options will be updated approximately every 3 months.

The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses. Use the robust Ebsco search engine to identify journals that publish articles in your areas of expertise.

Ulrichs contains listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. Though Ulrichs is not limited to scholarly serials, it does include a comprehensive collection of scholary journals. Further, using the [Advanced Search] mode it is easy to search either for specific journal titles or for a large group of journals. The SUBJECT search box is useful for identifying broad subjects (e.g. psychology), and the KEYWORD search box is useful for finding journals that focus on any specifuc content area, e.g. cognition.