Sociology -- Resources & Services (Main Library)

Amazon.com provides a very large database for books (new and used). However, the bibliographic detail provided is not comprehensive. For such information the user may wish to search in BIP, WorldCat, the OhioLINK Central Catalog or UCLID. This specific link is to Amazon.com's advanced search screen for its book database.
Record date: 10/31/2019

Includes over 36 million records of any type of material (e.g. books, periodicals, manuscripts, dissertations, proceedings, pamphlets, etc.) cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Updated daily. Coverage: 11th century to present. This is a FirstSearch (OCLC) database
Record date: 10/12/2011

The EbscoHost e-book collection provides the full-text for nearly 12,000 books from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as the full-text of a large number of older works in the public domain. Titles in this collection range from 1938 to 2005. This resource was originally known as NetLibrary, owned and maintained by NetLibrary, a division of OCLC. The collection is presently static. No new books have been added to this collection since 2005.
Record date: 11/17/2011

Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
Record date: 11/17/2011

From the contents list in the CRCnetBASE click on "Homeland Security" to gain access to an additional 169 e-books.
Record date: 8/11/2015

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Record date: 11/17/2011

InfoSci-Books includes full-text books and proceedings on the following topics: IT management, end user computing, data mining, knowledge management, e-commerce, multimedia databases, telecommunications, and distance learning in the following areas: Business Management; Computer Science; Education Technologies; Electronic Commerce; Environmental IS; Healthcare Information Systems; Information Systems; Library Science; Multimedia Information Systems; Public Information Systems; Social Science and Technologies. Coverage starts in 2000.
Record date: 11/17/2011

Record date: 10/26/2016

A comprehensive online library of full-text neuroscience references from CRC Press. It includes references, classic works, and illustrative atlases.

The Scholarly & Reference Collection of the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center offers thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences.

The Core Collection is a huge and comprehensive resource that contains over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Record date: 11/17/2011

Oxford Scholarship Online is a database that contains full-text of over 1,200 scholarly books in: Economics, Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology and Religion. The database is updated with 200 books each year.
Record date: 11/17/2011

PsycBOOKS is a rich, full-text database of e-books on psychology, published by the APA
and other psychology book publishers. The database includes over 30,000 chapters from
over 1,800 books. A monthly update list may be found at http://www.apa.org/psycbooks/newreleases.html, and the total coverage list of books may be found at http://www.apa.org/psycbooks/covlist.html. PsycBOOKS also includes exclusive electronic access to the full-text of the Encyclopedia of Psychology, edited by Alan Kazdin and published by the APA. The 8 volume Encyclopedia of Psychology provides scholarly coverage of theory, research and practice in the field of psychology. It includes 1,500 original signed articles, including 400 biographies. Another extensive source of biographical information in PsycBooks is the series, "A History of Psychology in Autobiography." To find this series, conduct a search for "A History of Psychology in Autobiography" and limit this search to the
"TI Title" field. This search will retrieve all the the books in this series.

The archives of this database will soon be available via a link to Portico, a digital repository (www.portico.org).
Record date: 1/9/2018

Record date: 10/31/2019

Record date: 2/16/2019

Record date: 7/25/2012