Research Guides: Library Resources for finding Career and Job Information: Guide Home

Welcome

This guide will provide resources to utilize in preparation and throughout a job search. Research a company before you apply, build a resume, or review some interview skills with these library resources.

Career Guides

Encyclopedia of careers and vocational guidance
Overviews of 93 industries . More than 700 career articles. Information on salaries and employment trends , on-the-job interviews and more than 2,500 Web sites listed for further information.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Dept. of Labor)
(1) To find out about a specific occupation or topic, use the Search box that is on every page—enter your search term in the box. (2) To find out about many occupations, browse through listings using the Occupations links that are on the right side of each page. (3) For a listing of all occupations in alphabetical order, go to the A-Z Index and select a letter.

Where to Research a Company and Industy

Discover more about a company and/or industry before you apply or after you've landed your interview

Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online is a database of public and private company reports and Industry studies. Search by: Company name¸ Ticker symbol¸ Keyword Person's last name. UC has access also to the Members Only sections which includes the Hoovers in-depth Company Profiles where you will find sales leads¸ business contacts¸ investment ideas¸ financial information and competitive intelligence information including a list of competitiors.
NOTE: KNOWN ISSUE WITH ACCESS PROBLEMS; TRY A DIFFERENT BROWSER, CLEAR HISTORY AND/OR TRY AGAIN.
Coverage: Current
IBISWorld
IBISWorld Industry Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries in all major U.S. industry sectors at the 5-digit level of NAICS . Reports are updated regularly¸ and contain: key statistics¸ market characteristics¸ segmentation¸ industry conditions¸ industry performance¸ key competitors¸ key factors¸ and industry outlook and forecast.
Coverage - Current

Salaries and Wages

Employment and Earnings Online (U.S. BLS)
BLS has 12 surveys or programs that provide information on pay and benefits.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Outlook for various occupations. Includes wages and earnings.

Job Opportunities

Plunkett Research Online
Follow the Job Seeker Resources and Tools to find guides on how to research a company and its employment opportunities.

UC Handshake
If you are an enrolled UC student, a Handshake account has been created for you.

Go to the UC Handshake login page (https://uc.joinhandshake.com/)
Click on University of Cincinnati Login
Log in with your UC username and password
Note: Incoming graduate students must have paid their deposit and been confirmed before they can access Handshake and apply to jobs on Handshake.

Applying for the Job and Practicing for the Interview

The following are e-books available to help you plan and write your resume and cover letters.

O'Reilly Ebooks
Browse eBooks with interview advice, and how to draft and write resume and cover letters.

NOTE: First time users (authorized UC users) need to register for an account at O'Reilly with their UC email address to access the site.
View this video to learn more about how to access O'Reilly
LinkedIn Learning
Build your skills with a course from LinkedIn Learning and add it to your resume!