Our knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria - is scattered around the world in books, journals, databases, websites, specimen collections, and in the minds of people everywhere. Imagine what it would mean if this information could be gathered together and made available to everyone – anywhere – at a moment’s notice. This dream is becoming a reality through the Encyclopedia of Life.
The Plant List is a working list of all known plant species. It aims to be comprehensive for species of Vascular plant (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of Bryophytes (mosses and liverworts).
Website provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities - from the perspective of the US.
The United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
The Wilderness Society provides general information about backpacking and hiking in the United States and different trails in other countries. Information on each trail includes a brief sketch of the host country, including basic climatic information, local topography, and the type of terrain that each trail traverses.
Spaceborne Imaging Radar-C/X-Band Synthetic Aperture Radar (SIR-C/X-SAR) is a joint U.S.-German-Italian project that uses a highly sophisticated imaging radar to capture images of Earth that are useful to scientists across a great range of disciplines. The instrument was flown on two Endeavor flights - mission STS-59 April 9-20, 1994 and mission STS-68 September 30-October 11, 1994.
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) maintains the Earth Science Information Centers (ESIC's) to sell aerial photographs, remotely sensed images from satellites, a wide array of digital geographic and cartographic data, as well as the Bureau's well-known maps.
OGRIP (Ohio Geographically Referenced Information Program) is a volunteer organization whose goals are to: encourage the creation of digital geographic data of value to multiple users, foster the ability to easily determine what geographic data exists and foster the ability to easily access and use this data.
Geographic Information Management Systems (GIMS) is a term used by DNR to describe a collection of related technologies used to manage spatial data. These technologies include geographic information systems (GIS), computer-aided design systems, automated and desktop mapping systems, remote sensing and image analysis systems, and their related database management systems.