Biography in ContextBiography in Context provides research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. It is a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that is updated daily to meet the needs of today's user. It includes: 600¸000+ biographies covering more than 525¸000 individuals¸ 50¸000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events¸ integrated reference material¸ periodical information and multimedia content¸ plus hundreds of hand-crafted topic pages covering the highest-interest features.
Biography Reference BankThe database combines the complete content of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated with the complete and enhanced content of Biography Index Plus. Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated contains more than 95¸000 biographies and obituaries and more than 26¸000 photographs of the subjects. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text¸ abstracts¸ and citations from H. W. Wilson databases. Biography Index Plus is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson Company databases and additional selected periodicals¸ current books of individual and collective biography¸ and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books.
American National BiographyThe landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17¸400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. More than a decade in preparation¸ the American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years. (from the Web site).
Biographical Books with a Focus on Criminal Justice
African Americans and Criminal Justice by Delores D. Jones-Brown (Editor); Marvie Brooks (Editor); Beverly D. Frazier (Editor)Does justice exist for Blacks in America? This comprehensive compilation of essays documents the historical and contemporary impact of the law and criminal justice system on people of African ancestry in the United States. * 120 A-Z entries on race and criminal justice and famous or infamous African American crime perpetrators or victims * Contributions from more than 50 distinguished scholars from many criminal justice/criminology academic programs across the country * An index of key persons, events, and legislation
Crime and Punishment in America by Richard Clay Hanes; Kelly Rudd; Sarah HermsenCovering the evolution of the American criminal justice system throughout history, the Crime and Punishment in America Reference Library explores everything from juvenile justice to organized crime. Crime and Punishment in America: Biographies includes entries on important figures, such as Jane Addams, Allan Pinkerton, Clarence Darrow, Senator Estes Kefauver and others.
Call Number: LANGSAM HV6785 .H34 2005
Criminological Thought by Robert J. Mutchnick; Randy Martin; W. Timothy AustinOffering an extensive look into the lives and times of fifteen notable crime theorists, Criminological Thought: Pioneers Past and Present examines the people who have helped shape the discipline. Features fifteen criminological pioneers. Includes a systematic approach that focuses on one thinker per chapter. Offers an innovative work that places the theoretical perspective within a historical context.
Call Number: LANGSAM HV6023 .M37 2009
Encyclopedia of Criminology by J. Mitchell Miller (Editor); Richard A. Wright (Editor); Richard A. Wright (Editor)This three-volume work offers a comprehensive review of the pivotal concepts, measures, theories, and practices that comprise criminology and criminal justice. No longer just a subtopic of sociology, criminology has become an independent academic field of study that incorporates scholarship from numerous disciplines including psychology, political science, behavioral science, law, economics, public health, family studies, social work, and many others. The three-volume Encyclopedia of Criminology presents the latest research as well as the traditional topics which reflect the field's multidisciplinary nature in a single, authoritative reference work. More than 525 alphabetically arranged entries by the leading authorities in the discipline comprise this definitive, international resource. The pivotal concepts, measures, theories, and practices of the field are addressed with an emphasis on comparative criminology and criminal justice. While the primary focus of the work is on American criminology and contemporary criminal justice in the United States, extensive global coverage of other nations' justice systems is included, and the increasing international nature of crime is explored thoroughly. Providing the most up-to-date scholarship in addition to the traditional theories on criminology, the Encyclopedia of Criminology is the essential one-stop reference for students and scholars alike to explore the broad expanse of this multidisciplinary field.
Call Number: LANGSAM HV6017 .E5295 2005
Fifty Key Thinkers in Criminology by Keith Hayward (Editor); Jayne Mooney (Editor); Shadd Maruna (Editor)Fifty Key Thinkers in Criminology brings the history of criminological thought alive through a collection of fascinating life stories. The book covers a range of historical and contemporary thinkers from around the world, offering a stimulating combination of biographical fact with historical and cultural context. A rich mix of life-and-times detail and theoretical reflection is designed to generate further discussion on some of the key contributions that have shaped the field of criminology. Featured profiles include: Cesare Beccaria Nils Christie Albert Cohen Carol Smart W. E. B. DuBois John Braithwaite. Fifty Key Thinkers in Criminology is an accessible and informative guide that includes helpful cross-referencing and suggestions for further reading. It is of value to all students of criminology and of interest to those in related disciplines, such as sociology and criminal justice.
Call Number: LANGSAM HV6023 .F54 2010
Historical Dictionary of Law Enforcement by Mitchel P. RothViewing policing from an international perspective, this volume covers the history of law enforcement from early accounts of policing under Caesar Augustus to such present-day events as Rodney King and the LAPD. American policing dominates the book, but it also covers such items as the 1829 London Metropolitan police model and Continental innovations stemming from Napoleonic France. While including such well-known Americans as Police Commissioner Theodore Roosevelt, the book also covers important policewomen, forgotten but exceptional African American policemen, and Indian Police forces that ranged the Oklahoma Territory. The book will be a useful resource for all those interested in the history of law enforcement. Unlike existing reference works that try to cover both lawmen and criminals, this book focuses on the police diaspora. In addition to traditional police officers, it also includes nontraditional examples of law enforcement, such as private detectives, vigilante groups, and organizations such as Wells Fargo and the Pinkertons. The book provides an instructive blend of history, criminology, and police science.