Research Guides: Government Documents Information: Internet Search Engines & Web Sites

Government Search Engines

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
FDsys - Federal Digital System
The database provides access to important information products produced by the Federal Government. It includes numerous Congressional resources¸ the Code of Federal Regulations¸ the Federal Register¸ the U.S.Code¸ U.S. Supreme Court decisions¸ and more.

FDsys Searching Tutorials
View basic, advanced, citation, and help tutorials produced by the Government Printing Office.
Fedworld
The FedWorld.gov web site is a gateway to government information. This site is managed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) as part of it's information management mandate.

USA.gov
Federal government website that provides the public with easy¸ one-stop access to all online U.S. Federal Government resources¸ including a search engine¸ directory by topic¸ and directory by department.

Use the box above to search the U.S. government's official web portal.

GovSpot
A directory of government information, including information arranged by subject and a section of frequently asked questions.
GovTrack.us
GovTrack.us, is a project of Civic Impulse, LLC. It brings together the status of U.S. federal legislation, voting records, congressional district maps, and more. Use GovTrack to track bills for updates or get alerts about votes with email updates and RSS feeds. It also has unique statistical analyses to put the information in context

CyberCemetary (GPO and Univ. of North Texas Library partnership)
Provides permanent public access to the Web sites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions.
FDLP Desktop (GPO)
Web site that provides information for depository libraries.
GODORT Handout Exchange (American Library Association, Government Documents Round Table)
Includes a collection of guides to government information sources written by library staff across the United States. The guides are arranged by broad subject classification.
U.S. Government Information on the Web Subject Index (St. Mary’s University)
Provides links to web sites created by libraries and organizations, in broad subject categories.