Research Guides: Government Documents Information: Databases

Finding Articles

The online indexes listed can be searched to help locate materials created by Federal agencies. Some databases provide links to the full text of the document and may also index non-governmental literature.

When you have a citation to an article that is not available full text search the library's catalog to see if we own or search the full text journal list to see if we have available online.

Article and Subject Databases

Access to archival databases (AAD) system (NARA)
Provides online access to electronic records at the National Archives that are highly structured, such as in databases. The series selected for AAD identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, or dates. Some of these series serve as indexes to accessioned archival records in non-electronic formats. Includes a link to search descriptions of NARA's non-electronic records through NARA's online catalogue, ARC.
Air University Index to Military Periodicals
Contains citations to English language military periodicals from 1989 forward.
GAO Reports and Testimonies
Presents a collection of online editions of reports and testimonies by the Government Accountability Office (GAO), the investigative arm of the U.S. Congress.
GrayLIT Network
Searchable database of scientific and technical reports produced by U.S. government agencies including the Defense Technical Information Center, Department of Energy, NASA, and Environmental Protection Agency. Includes full text of many documents.

NASA Technical Reports Server
Publicly available¸ the NASA Technical Reports Server is an experimental service that allows users to search the many different abstracts and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs.
NCJRS
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)-Produced by the U.S. National Institute of Justice¸ this online database indexes and abstracts journals¸ reports¸ and documents from all levels of government and the private sector relating to criminal justice and law enforcement. Topics such as victims of crime¸ death penalty¸ child abuse¸ youth gangs¸ and statistics are included. Most documents published by NCJRS sponsoring agencies since 1995 are available in full text. Coverage: 1972 - present

Plants database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

ProQuest Congressional Publications
ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis) is a comprehensive index to materials by and relating to the U.S. Congress and the legislative process. The database indexes materials including hearings, committee prints and publications, and legislative histories.
PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health. PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations and abstracts biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Scientific and Aerospace Technical Reports
STAR provides abstracts of aerospace-related reports from Government agencies, research institutions and industry worldwide, including reports on aeronautics, space, and supporting disciplines. This site provides .pdf files of the index issues. Electronic access began in 1996.
USGS publications warehouse (US Geological Survey)
Contains more than 67,000 bibliographic citations, including numbered series begun as early as 1882. Availability of content ranges from full text to bibliographic citation only.