This book profiles the lives of numerous women, ranging from the earliest pioneers up until the late 1960's when the Civil Rights Acts sparked greater career opportunities. Brown examines each woman's motivation to pursue chemistry, describes their struggles to obtain an education and their efforts to succeed in a field in which there were few African American men, much less African American women, and details their often quite significant accomplishments.
A singular collection of autobiographical accounts that not only testify to the personal courage of individuals in overcoming the ravages of racism but also document their contributions to the establishment of a vital antiracist tradition in American thought and culture.
In the searing pages of this classic autobiography, originally published in 1964, Malcolm X, the Muslim leader, firebrand, and anti-integrationist, tells the extraordinary story of his life and the growth of the Black Muslim movement to veteran writer and journalist Alex Haley .
Call Number: ON DISPLAY Blue Ash Stacks E185.96 .B35 1991
Publication Date: 1991
This collection from the rich literature of African American autobiography documents the experience of being black in America, from slavery to present day, in the words of Frederick Douglass, Toni Morrison, and forty other contributors.
On July 7, 2016, during a street demonstration against fatal shootings by the police, a sniper killed five Dallas police officers. Chief Brown quickly ended the gunman's siege, calmed the community, and lent context for the rest of the country. Brown offers insights into that tragic day, as well as highlights of his 33-year career, from quelling riots, to reducing crime to 50-year lows and excessive-force complaints by 70%. Brown also outlines his community-based approach to policing.
The celebrated black Harvard scholar offers a heartwarming, poignant portrait of growing up in a West Virginia hill town, presenting a richly textured study of his family, his childhood icons, and the social institutions and mores of the time.
A biography of Justice Thurgood Marshall by his long-time friend, the syndicated columnist and author of Breaking Barriers, details Marshall's years as the first African American on the U.S. Supreme Court.
Call Number: ON DISPLAY Blue Ash Stacks S417.C3 V45 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Christina Vella offers a thorough biography of George Washington Carver and discovers an unassuming intellectual with a quirky sense of humor, striking eccentricities, and an unwavering religious faith. She explores Carver's anguished dealings with Booker T. Washington across their nineteen years working together at the Tuskegee Institute -- a turbulent partnership often fraught with jealousy. Uneasy in personal relationships, Carver lost one woman he loved to suicide and, years later, directed his devotion toward a white man.
Starting in World War II and moving through to the Cold War, the Civil Rights Movement and the Space Race, Hidden Figures follows the interwoven accounts of Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson and Christine Darden, four African American women who participated in some of NASA's greatest successes. It chronicles their careers over nearly three decades they faced challenges, forged alliances and used their intellect to change their own lives, and their country's future.
A colorful narrative, originally dictated to a journalist following the Civil War, chronicles the experiences of John P. Parker, a young slave forced from his family, who escapes, is caught, earns his way out of slavery, and becomes a key abolitionist and conductor on the Underground Railroad.
In this groundbreaking examination of the man and his legacy, provocative author, lecturer, and professor Michael Eric Dyson restores King's true vitality and complexity and challenges us to embrace the very contradictions that make King relevant in today's world.
Tracing the role of major African-American writers and thinkers over two hundred years, a group autobiography spotlights well-known and less famous contributors, including Richard Wright, James Weldon Johnson, James Baldwin, and Ida Wells Barnett.
Manning Marable's new biography of Malcolm X is filled with new information and shocking revelations that go beyond the Autobiography, Malcolm X unfolds a sweeping story of race and class in America, from the rise of Marcus Garvey and the Ku Klux Klan to the struggles of the civil rights movement in the fifties and sixties. Reaching into Malcolm's troubled youth, it traces a path from his parents' activism through his own engagement with the Nation of Islam, charting his astronomical rise in the world of Black Nationalism and culminating in the never-before-told true story of his assassination.
This biography of a lesser-known but seminal civil rights leader draws on personal interviews from Myrlie Evers-Williams (Evers's widow), his two remaining siblings, friends, grade-school-to-college schoolmates, and fellow activists to elucidate Evers as an individual, leader, husband, brother, and father. Extensive archival work in the Evers Papers, the NAACP Papers, oral history collections, FBI files, Citizen Council collections, and the Mississippi State Sovereignty Commission Papers, to list a few, provides a detailed account of Evers's NAACP work and a clearer understanding of the racist environment that ultimately led to his murder.
Memphis Tennessee Garrison, an innovative teacher, administrative worker at U.S. Steel, and vice president of the National Board of the NAACP at the height of the civil rights struggle (1963-66), was involved with all of these struggles.
Stacey Abrams' Minority Leader is the handbook for outsiders, written with the awareness of the experiences and challenges that hinder anyone who exists beyond the structure of traditional white male power--women, people of color, members of the LGBTQ community, and millennials ready to make a difference.
As a widow and single mother of four, Coretta Scott King worked tirelessly to found and develop The King Center as a citadel for world peace, lobbied for fifteen years for the US national holiday in honor of her husband, championed for women's, workers' and gay rights and was a powerful international voice for nonviolence, freedom and human dignity.
Featuring an introduction by the prominent black scholar Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and an extensive bibliography, a 150th anniversary edition of the autobiography of America's first major African American writer charts his journey from slave to statesman. Reprint.
Never Caught is the powerful narrative of Ona Judge, George and Martha Washington's runaway slave who risked everything to escape the nation's capital and reach freedom. At just twenty-two-years-old, Ona became the subject of an intense manhunt led by George Washington, who used his political and personal contacts to recapture his property.
The Oxford Frederick Douglass Reader collects the most outstanding and representative work from Frederick Douglass's fifty-year writing career, including all the major genres in which he worked: autobiography, journalism, oratory, and fiction.
SING FOR YOUR LIFE chronicles Ryan's suspenseful, racially charged and artistically intricate journey from solitary confinement to stardom. Daniel Bergner takes readers on Ryan's path toward redemption, introducing us to a cast of memorable characters--including the two teachers from his childhood who redirect his rage into music, and his long-lost father who finally reappears to hear Ryan sing.
Call Number: Blue Ash Stacks PS3573.A425 Z475 2000
Publication Date: 2000
The author presents a collection of short fiction loosely based on her own life, including "To My Young Husband," which describes life amid the turbulence of the Deep South at the dawn of the civil rights movement.
Traces the career of the influential African-American writer, citing the historical backdrop of her life and work while considering her relationships with and influences on top literary, intellectual, and artistic figures.