Research Guides: Anesthesiology: Find Articles

Summon Search Box

Article Databases

PubMed
PubMed¸ a service of the National Library of Medicine¸ includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Coverage: 1950's - present
Scopus (Elsevier)
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present

Finding Full Text

Many databases available through UC provide links to the full text article. To find out if the full text is available from UC, look for the UC Article Linker icon or the browser extension icon Download PDF

Check the Journals page in this guide for more information about tools for locating full-text.

Not at UC?

Scroll down the UC Article Linker page and click on the “Interlibrary Loan Form - HSL Users" link.
Or request articles or books using the online request system ILLiad. Click on "Health Sciences Library ILLiad Request System" and log in with your UC username and password.

Citation Management Software

The Citation Management Software guide provides an overview of four citation management software options to help you manage references, cite references, and create bibliographies.

SciWheel (formerly F1000Workspace) and RefWorks are HSL subscriptions so accounts are free for HSL users. Zotero is also free. EndNote Online is free as well but EndNote desktop must be purchased. Use this guide to review and determine if one of these citations managers meets your needs.

RefWorks (NEW Version)
RefWorks is a citation and reference management service. With RefWorks users can create their own personal database by importing references from online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product¸ RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows¸ Mac¸ Unix¸ etc. UC users can set up their free individual accounts. This is the NEW version of RefWorks. Users new to RefWorks should set up accounts with this version of RefWorks. Most new development for RefWorks service will be on this NEW platform.
SciWheel
Web-based citation management system (formerly F1000Workspace). You must register for a personal account. Organize references in personal databases, share citations with colleagues, read and annotate full text articles, and inserting citations into documents. Integrates with Google Docs and Microsoft Word through the SciWheel plug-in.
Zotero
Desktop free, open sourced citation management system that can be used to collect, organize, cite, and share research. Word processor integration for Word, LibreOffice, and Google Docs, and can sync records across devices. Developed and supported by the Corporation for Digital Scholarship.