The databases listed here act as powerful specialized portals for researching all aspects of special education. For a less focused, broader approach, use Summon, linked in the box below.
Education Research CompleteEducation Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education¸ and all educational specialties¸ such as multilingual education¸ health education¸ and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration¸ policy¸ funding¸ and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1¸500 journals¸ as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs¸ and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
Education Full TextEducation Abstracts indexes core international periodicals¸ monographs¸ and yearbooks in education. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues¸ including government funding¸ instructional media¸ multicultural education¸ religious education¸ student counseling¸ competency-based¸ and information technology. Education Abstracts cites articles in English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English language books related to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed.
Coverage: 1983 - present
Educational Administration AbstractsEducational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration¸ including educational leadership¸ educational management¸ educational research¸ and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 66¸000 records¸ which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Coverage: 1966 – Present
ERIC (EBSCOhost)ERIC indexes education-related literature¸ beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information¸ containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs¸ research reports and surveys¸ curriculum and teaching guides¸ instructional materials¸ position papers¸ and resource materials. In 1993¸ ERIC began indexing education-related books¸ including the output of major publishers. More recently it includes full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-present). ERIC may be accessed directly at http://www.eric.ed.gov. To take advantage of many links to full-text documents through OhioLINK¸ use the connect below.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Legal CollectionThis database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected¸ scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues¸ studies¸ thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Coverage: 1965 - present
OmniFile Full Text MegaFull Text Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing¸ abstracts¸ and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text¸ General Science Full Text¸ Humanities Full Text¸ Readers' Guide Full Text¸ Social Sciences Full Text¸ Wilson Business Full Text Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text¸ Art Full Text¸ Biological & Agricultural Index¸ Index to Legal Periodicals & Books¸ Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Indexing begins in 1982¸ abstracts in 1984¸ and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing¸ abstracting¸ and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.
ProQuest Research LibraryOne of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system¸ Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas¸ including business¸ education¸ literature¸ political science¸ and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.Coverage: 1971 - present
PsycINFOPsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, is a collection of electronically stored bibliographic references--most with abstracts or content summaries. It contains citations that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. Although the references themselves are all written in English, the covered literature includes material published in over 45 countries and written in 30 languages.Coverage: 1872-present
Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers¸ faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100¸000 pages of SAGE's book¸ journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects¸ understand particular methods or identify a new method¸ conduct their research¸ and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines¸ it can be used across the social sciences¸ health sciences¸ and more.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present