This multidisciplinary database¸ provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals¸ conference proceedings¸ reports¸ monographs¸ books and government publications.
Coverage: 1960 - present
GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences¸ including geology¸ human and physical geography¸ environmental sciences¸ oceanography¸ geomechanics¸ alternative energy sources¸ pollution¸ waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals¸ trade publications¸ book series and conference proceedings.
Coverage: 1973 - present
GeoRef¸ produced by the American Geosciences Institute¸ is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 3 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Among the subjects covered in GeoRef are: environmental and engineering geology¸ hydrology¸ economic geology¸ geophysics¸ petrology¸ paleontology¸ marine geology and oceanography¸ and mineralogy. Over 3¸500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books¸ maps¸ government reports¸ conference papers¸ and theses and dissertations. The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present¸ and coverage dates back to 1933 for the rest of the world. Over 100¸000 references are added to GeoRef annually.
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly¸ government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals¸ corporations and local/national governments¸ and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming¸ green building¸ pollution¸ sustainable agriculture¸ renewable energy¸ recycling¸ and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture¸ education¸ law¸ health and technology.
The system includes U.S. Environmental Protection Agency publications¸ with more than 7¸000 hardcopy titles in stock and more than 35¸000 digital titles. The searches look at a full text index of the electronic documents and an index of the metadata records for both the hardcopy and digital titles. Coverage: 1997 - present
Major areas of coverage include: Groundwater Lakes Estuaries Erosion and sedimentation Water supply and conservation Desalination Water yield improvement Water quantity management and control Watershed protection Water quality management Water resources planning Water law Engineering works and hydraulics. Coverage: 1967 - present
Comprehensive database for zoological (animal biology) literature, including animal behavior, biodiversity, ecology, genetics, paleontology, and more. Primary taxonomic reference source for animal classification. Indexes more than 4,500 journals, magazines, newsletters, books and conference proceedings. Coverage 1993-present.
Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
Explore other databases
Take a chance on research serendipity - explore more UC reasearch databases...