Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Ohio Legal Research

Ohio Session Laws

Session laws may enact, repeal or amend numerous Ohio Revised Code Sections.  The session laws are the official statutes of the state of Ohio.  The Ohio Secretary of State certifies the language of commercially produced codes, such as Page's and Baldwin's.  Should a descrepancy arise between the language of a session law and a commercially produced code, the language of the session law prevails.

 
Laws of Ohio
Ohio session laws are published officially in the Laws of Ohio by the Ohio Secretary of State, going back to 1801. 
 
Session Law Library
Ohio Coverage is from 1788-2006; Including the Territory of Ohio (1788-1803)
 
Call Number: KFO25 .A22
This page lists bills which have been passed by both the Ohio House and the Ohio Senate.
 
Call Number: KFO15 .B34
Unofficial publication for Ohio session laws. 

Bills & Bill Tracking

Recent Ohio Senate and House bills are posted for free on the General Assembly Web site.
Search by bill number or bill sponsor. (1997 - present)
 
Browse Sources > OH Full-Text Bills
Full text of bills (excluding simple resolutions) pending in the current legislative session.
 
Ohio Bills - Westlaw (OH-BILLTXT)
Full text of all available bills (introduced, amended, and enacted versions) from the current session of the Ohio Legislature.
 
Search by bill number or keyword.  (1989 - present)

Ohio Revised Code - Print

Ohio does not publish an official version of the Ohio Revised Code, instead unofficial versions of the code are published in Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated and Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated. 

Ohio Revised Code - Online

ORC Via Lexis, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law & Casemaker
 
Browse Sources > OH - Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated
Browse the Table of Contents or search the database.
 
Browse the Table of Contents, Popular Names Table, Statutes Index or search the database.
 
CasemakerX - Law Students - Free Access
Casemaker - Attorneys - State Bar Association Membership
 
Browse the Table of Contents or search the database
 
ORC Via the Web
 
LAWriter
Browse the ORC by title and chapter, or search by keyword/phrase.
The statutes provided at this web site are unofficial and do not offer annotations.

Citation Rules

Bluebook Citation, T1
State of Ohio:
Legislative Acts Passed
& Joint Resolutions

 

      <year>Ohio Laws<page no.>

 

Page's Ohio Revised Code
Annotated (LexisNexis)
 
      Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § x.x (Lexis Nexis <year>)
Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code
Annotated (West)
 

      Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § x.x (West <year>)

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati