Federal Administrative Law

The United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Manual also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.

The Federal Regulatory Directory contains extensive descriptions about individual regulatory agencies, with appendices of the Administrative Procedure Act and the Freedom of Information Act.

Nutshells are little paperback books that give a concise overview of an area of law. This nutshell provides an overview of the laws governing administrative agencies. The authors summarize the dominant statutes and case law in the area, and also discuss informal administrative processes and the background realities of the regulatory state.

This Understanding volume is designed to help the reader grasp the fundamental concepts of administrative law. Understanding Administrative Law addresses the role of administrative agencies in our system of government, the processes of administrative decisionmaking by agencies, and judicial review of agency action. It touches on the substance of the laws that agencies are called upon to implement and administer. As students study the topic of administrative law and later enter into legal practice, they will find that the substance of the laws that agencies implement and administer and the procedures that agencies follow in performing those functions are increasingly intertwined and, in many instances, almost inextricable. An awareness that no bright line exists between substance and procedure, particularly in the context of an administrative agency, is especially helpful to a thorough understanding of administrative law. Additionally, Understanding Administrative Law includes recommendations for identifying administrative law issues and tools for organizing the reader's thinking once an issue has been identified. It highlights the manner in which a client's issues may move through a typical agency and the manner in which lawyers cope with different stages of client representation before administrative agencies. Additionally, Understanding Administrative Law identifies trends in judicial review of agency action, including an evolving jurisprudence regarding the nondelegation doctrine, agency design, and judicial deference to agency interpretations of law. The seventh edition discusses recent cases and provides extensive citations to law review articles and other resources for readers who wish to study further topics covered by the volume.

This treatise provides a comprehensively updated analysis of administrative law in the United States, placing special emphasis on topics undergoing significant evolution or transformation in the Supreme Court and federal courts of appeals. These include, for example, the latest developments in Congress's authority to delegate legislative authority to agencies, deference to agency legal interpretations, the so-called "major questions doctrine," modern due process issues, and the presidential appointments power. The fundamental purposes of this book are to assess and explain the current state of the core doctrines of administrative law, place the most important aspects of those doctrines in a historical context, and identify important trends that can help readers understand how the doctrines may continue to evolve.

This study aid covers the entire field of administrative law – the structure of the administrative state, rulemaking, adjudication, the availability and scope of judicial review, agency acquisition of information, and the public’s ability to obtain information from the government. New to the 7th edition: recent developments in the standing doctrine, the Court's groundbreaking cases on the unitary executive; and the Court's overhaul of the deference doctrine in Loper Bright and Kisor v. Wike.

This mini-treatise discusses and analyzes principal concepts of administrative law and process, including the political and legal nature of administrative law; legislative control of administrative discretion; executive control of administrative discretion; judicial control of agency discretion (threshold issues, procedural issues, substantive issues); and access to private and public information. The book incorporates descriptions of the major changes in doctrine that the Supreme Court has made in the last few years.

This book provides an accessible, yet sophisticated treatment of the essential principles of administrative law. Topics covered include a history of the American administrative state; theories of agency behavior; separation of powers and procedural due process, as they are implicated by the administrative process; the procedural framework of the Administrative Procedure Act; formal adjudicatory procedure; informal rulemaking procedure; and the availability, timing, and scope of judicial review. The book includes charts and diagrams that assist the reader in visualizing the major elements of the administrative process.