Research Guides: Media & Design at UCBA: Art History

Finding Articles

Use these databases to locate articles (text-based sources) on an artist, type of artwork, exhibitions, artistic movements, and critiques.

Art Full Text
The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals and 280 peer-reviewed journals, and over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. Coverage: 1984 - present
JSTOR
JSTOR, which now has been merged with ArtSTOR, is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. It contains a wide range of scholarly journals, newspapers, and image collections from museums around the world.

Art History Image Databases

Use these resources to find digital images and background information on artwork, artists, museum collections and more. (See also the IMAGES page of this guide for more image related resources).

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an authoritative¸ inclusive¸ and easily searchable online art resource. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online¸ the Benezit Dictionary of Artists¸ the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics¸ The Oxford Companion to Western Art¸ and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms¸ as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.

Google Arts & Culture
Google Arts & Culture is a non-commercial initiative that works with cultural institutions and artists around the world with a goal to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere.
Mother of All Art History Links
From the University of Michigan's School of Art & Design, provides links to a number of visual resources, art departments and other art history-related websites.

JSTOR
JSTOR, which now has been merged with ArtSTOR, is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. It contains a wide range of scholarly journals, newspapers, and image collections from museums around the world.

E-Reference Sources

Use these additional sources for definitions of art terms, artists' biographies, historical information about periods of art.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Heilbrunn Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum's collection. It includes maps, essays and digital images of artwork.

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an authoritative¸ inclusive¸ and easily searchable online art resource. Through a single gateway users can access-and simultaneously cross-search-an expanding range of Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online¸ the Benezit Dictionary of Artists¸ the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics¸ The Oxford Companion to Western Art¸ and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms¸ as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text¸ aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images¸ sound files¸ maps and customizable data tables.
Coverage: varies