Research Guides: Sociology -- Statistics and Data Sets: Population & Socioeconomic Statistics

Population and Socio-economic Statistics

Additional sources for general population and socioeconomic data can be found on the "DataSets/Archives" and "Statistics Databases" pages.

American FactFinder
Starting in July 2019, Explore Census Data (below) will be the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
American FactFinder (AFF) will remain as an "archive" system for accessing historical data until March 31, 2020. After this date American FactFinder will no longer be available.
more...less...
Record date: 2/26/2020
Census Bureau
The Census Bureau compiles statistics for population, social & economics conditions and business. Use the Search Box to find a specific decennial census.
Enter "[year] census," e.g., 1990 census.
more...less...
Record date: 11/18/2019
Comparative Guide to American Suburbs
Nearly 3,000 suburbs with populations over 10,000 are listed here. The Guide includes statistics on geography, climate, population characteristics, income levels, economy, housing and education.
more...less...
Record date: 8/8/2018
County and City Data Book: 2007
Provides comprehensive general statistical coverage for states, counties and cities with a population of at least 25K. The data represents a very wide range of topical areas, including crime, death, earnings, education, employment, housing and income. Very easy to search as a PDF file.
more...less...
Sources for the data include the U.S. Census Bureau and other federal statistical bureaus, governmental administrative and regulatory agencies, and private research bodies.
Record date: 10/31/2019
Current Population Survey
Population estimates including employment & earnings and demographic statistics.
more...less...
Record date: 11/7/2019
Decennial Census of Population & Housing
This website provides decennial census data from 1790 to 2010, including information about plans for the 2020 decennial census.
more...less...
Record date: 12/3/2018
DHS | Immigration Statistics
Provides a wide range of statistical reports on legal immigration, unauthorized immigration, legal population estimates, refugees, immigration mapping and a link to the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics .
more...less...
Record date: 11/13/2019
Explore Census Data
Replaces American Fact Finder -- this new U.S. Census Bureau platform provides primary access to data from the 2018 American Community Survey, the 2017 Economic Census, the 2020 Census and more.
more...less...
Record date: 6/5/2019
Federal Government & Statistical Agencies
This website provides links to very large federal government statistical resources.
more...less...
Record date: 11/4/2019
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online
more...less...
Provides users with access to data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. It is the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. The Millennial edition is a revised, updated, and expanded version of the previous three editions of HSUS.
Record date: 12/13/2011

PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a cloud-based data and mapping platform enabling government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the U.S. It may be used for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
Sage Stats - see Data-Planet

Social Change in America: The Historical Handbook
Pulls data from the U.S. Census and other government sources to produce statistical table and analysis for the following areas: population; households and families; social conditions; labor force and job characteristics; housing; income, wealth, and poverty; education; crime and criminal justice; health; leisure, volunteerism, and religiosity; voting; and government.
more...less...
Record date: 11/19/2019
Social Explorer
Social Explorer contains historical Census data from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey, 2005 to 2015 and the Uniform Crime Report from 2010 to 2015. NEW feature -- check out "Demographic Profiles" at bottom of Social Explorer page for a plethora of demographic details by state, county, place, MSA or ZIP code.
more...less...
Database tools allow you to explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing. You may explore the data through interactive thematic maps of Census 1790 through Census 2010; then create a report from the view of your interest to see numbers and percent breakdowns. You may also go directly to the reports section and choose the data you wish to view and download. Social Explorer also allows you to create and export map slide shows which is very convenient for viewing data over time.
Record date: 07/10/2018
State & County Quick Facts
You need only to select a geographical entity from a browse list. Compares up to 6 geographical entities on a single table. QuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.
more...less...
Record date: 8/8/2017
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book: 2013
Provides more that 1,500 tables for the U.S., individual states, counties and metropolitan areas. Includes over 400 references to crime in many contexts. This title can be downloaded as a single PDF file and searched very effectively.
more...less...
Files contain a collection of data from the U.S. Census Bureau and other federal statistical bureaus, governmental administrative and regulatory agencies, private research bodies, trade associations, insurance companies, health associations, educational associations, and philanthropic foundations.
Record date: 5/16/2018
State of the world's cities 2010/2011
more...less...
Record date: 12/23/2014
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Print)
Langsam REF HA202 .A1
Provides a wide variety of statistics dealing with the political, social, and economic organization of the United States, in a work originally issued by the Bureau of the Census and now published by ProQuest. Includes some international data. This resource also is an invaluable index to the resources/agencies that produce the data found in the tables contained in this volume.
more...less...
Record date: 10/31/2019
Stats America
Provides state, county, regional and metropolitan demographic and economic value added statistics. This is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business.
more...less...
Record date: 11/19/2019
USA.gov (Federal Government Data and Statistics Sources)
Provides over 30 government sources for data/statistics and miscellaneous quick facts
more...less...
Record date: 2/20/2020
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, 2017
The Yearbook is a compendium of tables that provide data on foreign nationals who are granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., immigrants who receive a “green card”), admitted as temporary nonimmigrants, granted asylum or refugee status, or are naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including apprehensions and arrests, removals, and returns. Previous yearbooks are available at the following URL: https://www.dhs.gov/immigration-statistics/yearbook#
more...less...
Record date: 11/4/2019