Skip to Main Content
West Academic Study Aids
-
Black Letter Outline on Family Law (West Academic)
This outline summarizes the black letter rules of family law, allowing students to understand how their course materials fit together.
-
Community Property in a Nutshell (West Academic)
Summarizes the marital property laws dealing with creation, management and termination of community property in nine states (Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin). The first portion of each chapter presents a broad overview, followed by the detail of the law in the second part. A third part explains how various states differ. Covers premarital contracts, transmutations, community property, separate property, and characterization issues. Discusses community property during a marriage, management and control, and liabilities. Addresses the termination of community property and the special problems that can result.
-
Employment Discrimination Stories (West Academic)
Like all the volumes in the Stories collection, this book provides students with a three-dimensional picture of the most important cases that are addressed in nearly every employment discrimination casebook and course. These stories give the students and faculty members a deeper understanding of the historical and cultural background of the cases and insight into their long-term impact on the development of employment discrimination law.
-
Family Law in a Nutshell (West Academic)
Few areas of law practice cover as many issues as family law. The subject embraces marriage and divorce, annulment, custody of children, spousal and child support, complex property issues, paternity, domestic violence, adoption, and alternative means of reproduction. Each of these topics itself is complex. For example, within the broad subject of child custody lie the issues of interstate move away cases, international parental child abduction, and the impact of domestic violence on a parent’s right to custody or visitation. In addition to purely legal issues, family law has a large psychological component, touching on some of the most important and sensitive aspects of human nature and interaction, such as, what is a family, what are the rights and responsibilities of parents toward children, and how should society respond to child abuse and domestic violence? All of these issues, and more, are discussed in this Nutshell. The book provides a thorough introduction to this challenging field of practice.
-
Family Law Stories (West Academic)
Sanger’s Family Law Stories presents the historical, procedural, personal, and political background of 11 significant family law cases. The essays, written by leading family law scholars, cover four main areas: Marriage Parenting and custody Separation and divorce The definition of family Other essays investigate well-known state and federal cases on such topics as child kidnapping, the intentional infliction of emotional distress, the Indian Child Welfare Act, and frozen embryos.
-
Gilbert Law Summaries on Community Property (West Academic)
The subjects discussed in this Community Property outline include classifying property as community or separate, management and control of property, liability for debts, and division of property at divorce. Also covered are devolution of property at death, relationships short of valid marriage, conflict of laws problems, and constitutional law issues (including equal protection standards, and due process issues).
-
Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, and the Law in a Nutshell (West Academic)
This Nutshell presents a very timely overview of legal topics relating to sexual orientation, gender identity and the law. Topics covered include: regulation of sexuality, gender identity and expression, parenthood, marriage, United States military, nondiscrimination statutes and ordinances, freedom of expression, freedom of association, and religious freedom. Discussion includes developments at the federal, state and local level. Statutes discussed include Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964; Title IX; the Fair Housing Act; the Affordable Care Act; Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell; Defense of Marriage Act, as well as some of the anti-gay rights measures that have been adopted in various statutes such as North Carolina.
-
Sum and Substance Audio on Community Property (West Academic)
This audio lecture overviews determination of separate and community property, quasi-marital property, and quasi-community property. Explores transmutation; general and special presumptions; commingling, apportionment, and reimbursement; management and control; and liability for debt. Also covers management on dissolution of marriage, disposition on death, and constitutional law principles.
-
Sum and Substance Audio on Family Law (West Academic)
Now you can assimilate the essentials of family law at your convenience. This audio product simplifies difficult concepts and brings them to life, while offering helpful exam tips.
-
Sum and Substance Quick Review of Family Law (West Academic)
Sum and Substance Quick Review is a short, clear, concise, and substantive outline. It is designed to make the study of law clear and convenient, and it is designed to help students prepare for their law school exams. The main body is an outline of the substantive content that a stuent needs to prepare for a law school exam. The concise format provides a "Big Picture" overview allowing students to review the subject quickly prior to final exams.
-
Women and the Law Stories (West Academic)
This book examines landmark cases establishing women’s legal rights, offering accounts of the litigants, history, parties, strategies, and theoretical implications. It will enrich any law school course and can serve as a text for a course on women and the law, gender and law, feminist jurisprudence, or women’s studies. This volume utilizes subject areas common to many women and law casebooks: history, constitutional law, reproductive freedom, the workplace, the family, and women in the legal profession. Several chapters explore issues of domestic violence and rape.
Lexis OverDrive Study Aids
-
Mastering Adoption Law and Policy (Lexis OverDrive)
This title is the first of its kind — it is a deskbook detailing the intricacies of U.S. domestic adoption law and policy. This deskbook is geared for use as a reference by the adoption law attorney, adoption professional, and law students. This book, written in clear and concise language, provides an in-depth discussion and analysis of adoption law. In addition to 14 chapters addressing the most critical topics of adoption law and policy (including, for example, consent, ICWA and TRA), the guide offers a chart of the current statutes from all 50 states, a detailed bibliography, a discussion of key Federal legislation, and much more.
-
Mastering Employment Discrimination Law (Lexis OverDrive)
The book begins first with coverage and jurisdiction issues surrounding employment discrimination law. It then turns to federal and state procedural topics surrounding the filing of administrative charges of discrimination and civil lawsuits. Finally, the book addresses comprehensively the substantive aspects of Title VII, ADEA, ADA (including the new ADAAA), Equal Pay Act, and the Civil Rights Acts, covering topics such as disparate treatment discrimination (including single- and mixed-motive claims, as well as the BFOQ defense), disparate impact discrimination, and related issues, such as remedies, attorney fees, and settlements.
-
Mastering Family Law (Lexis OverDrive)
Mastering Family Law helps students understand the basic principles and underlying policies of the topics covered in a general family law course. The content in this book is drawn from the table of contents of all the major family law teaching texts and includes all of the major topics covered in those texts. Consequently, a student will find this book a helpful supplement to any family law casebook. The book includes traditional family law topics such as marriage and divorce, but also covers child law topics such as the constitutional rights of parents and the definition of parents, among others. It provides a roadmap at the beginning of each chapter to focus attention on the important topics that will be addressed and a checkpoints list at the end of each chapter to summarize the important concepts as an aid to student comprehension and retention. The book is written in a student-friendly style designed to present the major concepts in easily understood language.
-
Questions & Answers: Family Law (Lexis OverDrive)
This study guide includes over 210 multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of 28 questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, Professor Strasser provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Strasser provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer.
-
Understanding Employment Discrimination Law (Lexis OverDrive)
Employment discrimination law is like a huge jigsaw puzzle—albeit one with many missing and mismatched pieces, which are constantly being changed. The purpose of Understanding Employment Discrimination Law is to clarify the differences, uncertainty, and complexity of employment discrimination law. The Second Edition deals with all the watershed Supreme Court decisions since 2002 and otherwise expands and updates the coverage of the prior edition.
-
Understanding Family Law (Lexis OverDrive)
This clearly-written Understanding treatise includes coverage of both traditional and nontraditional families, nonmarital and postmarital contracts, annulment, paternity and legitimacy, procreation rights, contraception, abortion, sterilization, artificially assisted conception, adoption and termination of parental rights. Understanding Family Law explains specific family law issues, such as intrafamily tort immunity and liability, medical care for child and spouse, wrongful life and wrongful birth, domestic violence, PINS, ethical issues for the lawyer, alternative dispute resolution, equitable distribution, community property, and child custody and visitation.
-
Understanding Juvenile Law (Lexis OverDrive)
This Understanding treatise discusses the various bodies of law in relation to a fundamental issue permeating the entire field of juvenile law: the extent to which the law should protect young people rather than recognize them as autonomous persons.
Aspen Study Aids
-
Best Friends at the Bar: The New Balance for Today's Woman Lawyer (Aspen)
Best Friends at the Bar: The New Balance for Today's Woman Lawyer candidly addresses the problems unique to women in the practice of law and provides practical, helpful advice and solutions. This companion to Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law is based on research, the author's experience, and interviews with women attorneys who have successfully made the transition from one practice setting to another. These women, many with national reputations, tell their stories in their own compelling words. The lawyers profiled are Sally Blackmun, former Senior Associate General Counsel of Darden; Kathleen Tighe, Inspector General, US Department of Education; Bonnie Brier, General Counsel, New York University; Karen Kaplowitz, Law Firm Consultant, The New Ellis Group; Laura Oberbroeckling, Solo Practitioner; Kathryn Spencer, former member of Women-owned Law Practice; Stephanie Kimbro, Virtual Law Firm Practice, Kimbro Legal Services; Victoria Pynchon, Alternative Dispute Resolution, She Negotiates at ForbesWoman ADR Services, Inc.; Deborah Burand, Professor, University of Michigan Law and former GC and VP, Legal Affairs, OPIC; Amy Yeung, Associate Counsel, ZeniMax Media Inc.; Honorable Marianne Short, Managing Partner, Dorsey & Whitney; and Markeisha Miner, Assistant Dean, Career Services and Outreach, University of Detroit Mercy School of Law.
-
Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know About a Career in the Law (Aspen)
Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law addresses the realities of law firm practice, especially in large firms, and gives pre-law students, law students, and new attorneys a realistic view of the opportunities and challenges most often encountered by women lawyers. Drawing on her many years of practicing law and mentoring young lawyers and with the help of other women in all areas of the legal profession— her “best friends at the bar”— Susan Smith Blakely strives to help young women entering the legal profession begin their careers with open eyes and a more level playing field than women lawyers of past generations.
This concise paperback, which is written in a direct, personal tone that instantly engages the reader
• Explores the experiences of the author and more than 60 private and public sector attorneys, judges, law school career counselors, and law firm managing partners who address a wide variety of issues as trustworthy mentors
-
Examples & Explanations for Family Law, Sixth Edition (Aspen)
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
-
Friedman's Practice Series for Family Law (Aspen)
Friedman's Practice Series is keyed to exam preparation with real law school essay exams, model answers, multiple choice questions and academic analysis, and offers students insights into writing essay exams in core courses.
CALI Lessons
-
Battered Woman's Syndrome (CALI Lesson)
This is a lesson on battered woman syndrome with respect to the defense of self-defense. Over the last few decades, there has developed in the legal literature a recognition of this, and other similar syndromes, in the context of homicide cases. The situation of an abused person who kills the abuser raises questions about the basis for a defense of self-defense in circumstances that might not easily fit into the traditional self-defense mold. Though courts allow the defense in many cases, the invocation of the defense still presents problems in certain situations. The purpose of this lesson is to explore those varying circumstances and the issues raised with respect to the possibility of a defendant invoking the defense of self-defense.
-
The Marital Status (CALI Lesson)
This is an introduction to some of the legal aspects of the husband-wife relationship, including property and support obligations along with a number of issues involving the marital status.
-
Marriage Regulations (CALI Lesson)
This lesson addresses the formal and substantive regulations imposed on the right to marry.
-
New Reproductive Technologies or Who's Your Mama? (CALI Lesson)
This lesson covers emerging issues of assisted reproduction technologies. Most specifically, it explores issues of parental rights on both a constitutional and state level. Topics covered include artificial insemination, surrogacy, and the status of un-implanted pre-embryos when the parties disagree about implantation. It does not cover post-partum conception. The lesson includes the issue of lesbian partners when one provides the egg and the other is the gestational mother but it does not cover other issues of lesbian parenthood.
-
Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Employment Discrimination (CALI Lesson)
This Chapter will address the current protections that are available to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (“LGBT”) individuals who allege they have been victims of employment discrimination. The Chapter’s primary focus will be on federal statutory law, particularly Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Although the focus here is on federal law, Appendix I to this Chapter lists the states that protect individuals from public and/or private discrimination under state laws.
