Ohio Innocence Project Student Research Guide

Also available on Westlaw: CONRTACC

Organized to follow the course of any criminal action, this treatise clearly and concisely covers the pre-trial process, the trial itself, and post-trial situations. An extensive analysis of federal constitutional rights focuses on frequently litigated topics such as arrest, search and seizures, and confessions.

Westlaw CRIMPROC

Leading experts provide step-by-step direction through the typical state court criminal justice system. This set focuses on the pattern used by most states from pre-arrest to pre-trial, trial, post-conviction, and on to appellate proceedings. Covers search and seizure, including further limitations on exclusionary rule, dynamics affecting search warrant execution, and Fourth Amendment restrictions on use of force in arrest; confessions, including scope and application of Miranda Rule, Sixth Amendment right to counsel, and traditional voluntariness test; accusatory pleadings; sentencing; and habeas corpus.

Law Faculty & Students only. Moore’s Federal Practice is one of the most widely recognized authorities on federal civil, criminal, appellate, and admiralty procedure. It is written by the legal professionals, judges and lawyers who write and amend the federal rules. In addition to the text of the rules, the treatise contains extensive commentary and practice guidelines, as well as forms.

Print copy is not being kept up to date. Available on Westlaw at ORFIELDS

This multiple-volume set provides extensive examination of a wide range of procedural areas. Includes the history of federal criminal procedure since 1789, the scope of the rules, preliminary proceedings, indictment and information, arraignment and preparation for trial, appeal, and special proceedings. In-depth discussion of each rule includes practical applications of the law in federal courts and related criminal proceedings, and historical commentary of its drafting and development.

Also available on Westlaw: FEDPROC

A multi-volume practice oriented set, with a fairly detailed subject index.

Also available on Westlaw at OHPRAC-CRIM

Part of Baldwin's Ohio Practice series.

The authors have integrated the Rules of Criminal Procedure with revised code provisions, common-law precedent, and recent case law from Ohio, other states, and the federal system. One volume is devoted to forms related to criminal law and procedure, including more than 400 notices, warrants, indictments, complaints, and motions. Topics include sentencing, search and seizure, exclusion of evidence and motions to suppress, Miranda issues, limits on police action during traffic stops, and sexual predator registration requirements.

Contains regularly updated analysis, statutes, cases, and forms.

Contains Title 29, the Ohio Criminal Code, as well as miscellaneous related statutes, United States Constitution and Ohio Constitution (selected provisions), Table of Penalties and Index of Offenses, Elements of Offenses, Time Table in Criminal Cases, Ohio Rules of Procedure (Criminal / Evidence / Juvenile / Traffic), Application for Crime Victim Compensation, Selected Rules of Superintendent for the Courts of Ohio.

Also available on Westlaw at OHSTATCG

Intended to be part of the Appendix to Criminal Law (Baldwin's Ohio Practice), this product provides useful text references for preparing criminal charges and indictments that comply with Ohio criminal statutes. The compilation of charges is particularly helpful for prosecutors, law enforcement officers, and criminal defense attorneys.

Also available on Lexis Advance at Browse Sources > Anderson's Ohio Manual of Criminal Complaints and Indictments

Ohio Manual of Criminal Complaints and Indictments provides police officers and prosecutors with an easy-to-use format for filing criminal charges and preparing indictments. Completely revised, this important resource provides instant access to accurate charging information—containing complete language for all offenses in Title 29 of the Ohio Revised Code, as well as important statutory definitions.