Research Guides: Researching Judges: Contact Information

About

Legal directories provide basic contact information for judges, clerks and other court personnel. They also include general information about court procedures and organization as well as some biographical information.

Basic Directories

Biographical Directory of Federal Judges The directory includes the biographies of judges who have served since 1789 on the U.S. District Courts, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the Supreme Court, the former U.S. Circuit Courts, the Court of International Trade, and the Court of Claims. Select the research categories link to createcustomized lists of judges based on various criteria, including nominating president, type of court, dates of service, gender, race and more.
BNA’s Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges, and Clerks Provides names, titles, street addresses, phone/fax numbers, Internet sites, e-mail addresses, and TDD/TTY for judges, clerks and court administrators. It also includes a list of nominations for federal judgeships with nominee’s name, state of residence, and other information. Federal appellate court jurisdiction map and list and state court structure charts showing interrelationships and routes of appeal for all courts of record are also available.
more...less...
This publication is also available in the UC College of Law Center for Professional Development, Suite 201G
The Directory of Minority Judges of the United States Includes the name, address and telephone numbers of African-American, Asian/Pacific Island, Hispanic, Native American, and Tribal Court Judges. It also includes a chart detailing the number of minority judges found in each state.
Directory of State Court Clerks & County Courthouses Includes names, addresses, and phone numbers of state appellate, trial, and county clerks. It also includes state court Web sites, organizational charts, offices of vital statistics, and trends in state court litigation.
Federal-State Court Directory Formerly known as Want’s. Includes names, addresses, and phone numbers of all U.S. appellate and district judges and clerks of court, U.S. magistrate judges, and bankruptcy judges. There are listings for court Websites, places of holding court and counties in federal districts, and U.S. Attorneys' information. Also includes court organizational charts, alternative dispute resolution sources, State Bar Associations listings, and a glossary of terms and guide to how a case is litigated.
Judicial Staff Directory Lists names, addresses, and telephone numbers for all federal judges and court personnel. Biographical information is included for selected judges. The Directory is also available in the Westlaw database JUDSTAFF-DIR and the Lexis database Judicial Staff Directory.
Judicial Yellow Book Provides contact and biographical information for over 2,200 federal judges and 1,300 state judges, as well as judges’ staff, court staff, and law clerks. In addition to the name index, it also includes a law school index, which lists individuals by law school and year of graduation, and anorganization index, which lists all of the organizations that appear in the book.
Lawyer’s Almanac Provides vital facts and figures on the courts, government, law schools, lawyers, and their work and organizations. Includes sections on corporate lawyer salaries, legal research sites on the Internet, listings for government agencies, as well as the most up-to-date bar examination statistics, and more. Also included is a complete picture of the workload in the nation's courts.
United States Tribal Courts Directory A state-by-state listing of the contact information for tribal courts across the county. Background information is provided for selected courts.

Historical Directories

Biographical Directory of Federal Judges The directory includes the biographies of judges who have served since 1789 on the U.S. District Courts, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the Supreme Court, the former U.S. Circuit Courts, the Court of International Trade, and the Court of Claims. Select the research categories link to createcustomized lists of judges based on various criteria, including nominating president, type of court, dates of service, gender, race and more.
Biographical Directory of the Federal Judiciary 1789-2000 Alphabetically arranged entries provide vital statistics and summarize each person's education, professional history, and federal judicial service. They also contain references to manuscript collections for those justices and judges whose primary source material has been collected. It also had legislative histories, lists of judicial appointments, and a bibliography for each district court, court of appeals, circuit court, and the Supreme Court. The location of each court's official records and Web sources for its opinions are also noted. The book also discusses and reproduces landmark judicial legislation and, in a section called "Topics in Judicial History," lists interesting facts such as the oldest and youngest judges, first women judges, first minority judges, judges who have been impeached, etc.
Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court Covers the Court's entire history, its operations, its power in relation to other branches of government, major decisions affecting the other branches, the states, individual rights and liberties and biographies of the justices. Appendixes provide additional information on the Court such as the Judiciary Acts of 1789 and 1925 and a list of Acts of Congress found by the Court to be unconstitutional.
Judges of the United States Contains biographical information on all federal judges from 1789 to 1981. It also contains indexes by appointing president and year of appointment.
The Supreme Court Justices: A Biographical Dictionary Alphabetically arranged, each entry begins with life dates, the date of nomination to the Court, the name of the president who nominated the justice, and the date he or she was seated. Most of the biographical essays are accompanied by a portrait and offer a bibliography of sources. There is also a subject index and an index of cases. Coverage is up to the 108th Justice (Stephen G. Breyer).
The Supreme Court Justices: Illustrated Biographies 1789-1995 A collection of biographies of up to the 108th Justice (Stephen G. Breyer).