Research Guides: Health Law: Bioethics

Bioethics Background

Biolaw and Policy in the 21st Century by Erick Valdés (Editor); Juan Alberto Lecaros (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030059026
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
This book offers an impressive collection of contributions on the epistemology of international biolaw and its applications, both in the legal and ethical fields. Bringing together works by some of the world's most prominent experts on biolaw and bioethics, it constitutes a paradigmatic text in its field. In addition to exploring various ideologies and philosophies, including European, American and Mediterranean biolaw traditions, it addresses controversial topics straight from today's headlines, such as genetic editing, the dual-use dilemma, and neurocognitive enhancement. The book encourages readers to think objectively and impartially in order to resolve the ethical and juridical dilemmas that stem from biotechnological empowerment and biomedical techniques. Accordingly, it offers a valuable resource for courses on biolaw, law, bioethics, and biomedical research, as well as courses that discuss law and the biosciences at different professional levels, e.g. in the courts, biomedical industry, pharmacological companies and the public space in general.
The Cambridge Companion to Natural Law Ethics by Tom Angier (Editor)
ISBN: 9781108422635
Publication Date: 2019-11-07
Natural law ethics centres on the idea that ethical norms derive from human nature. The field has seen a remarkable revival since the millennium, with new work in Aristotelian metaphysics complementing innovative applied work in bioethics, economics and political theory. Starting with three chapters on the history of natural law ethics, this volume moves on to various twentieth-century theoretical innovations in the tradition, and then to natural law as embedded in the three Abrahamic faiths. It closes with sections on applied natural law ethics and the challenges and prospects for natural law ethics in the twenty-first century. Uniquely interdisciplinary and written without technical jargon, the book will be of great interest to students and researchers in philosophy, theology, political theory and economics. They will find this the go-to resource for cutting-edge thinking in natural law ethics.
The Reality of Human Dignity in Law and Bioethics by Brigitte Feuillet-Liger (Editor); Kristina Orfali (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319991115
Publication Date: 2018-11-29
Adopting an interdisciplinary perspective, this volume explores the reality of the principle of human dignity - a core value which is increasingly invoked in our societies and legal systems. This book provides a systematic overview of the legal and philosophical concept in sixteen countries representing different cultural and religious contexts and examines in particular its use in a developing case law (including of the European Court of Human Rights and of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights). Whilst omnipresent in the context of bioethics, this book reveals its wider use in healthcare more generally, treatment of prisoners, education, employment, and matters of life and death in many countries. In this unique comparative work, contributing authors share a multidisciplinary analysis of the use (and potential misuse) of the principle of dignity in Europe, Africa, South and North America and Asia. By revealing the ambivalence of human dignity in a wide range of cultures and contexts and through the evolving reality of case law, this book is a valuable resource for students, scholars and professionals working in bioethics, medicine, social sciences and law. Ultimately, it will make all those who invoke the principle of human dignity more aware of its multi-layered character and force us all to reflect on its ability to further social justice within our societies.
Law and Bioethics by Michael A. Freeman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199545520
Publication Date: 2008-12-15
Current Legal Issues, like its sister volume Current Legal Problems, is based upon an annual colloquium held at Univesity College London. Each year, leading scholars from around the world gather to discuss the relationship between law and another discipline of thought. Each colloqium examines how the external discipline is conceived in legal thought and argument, how the law is pictured in that discipline, and analyses points of controversy in the use, and abuse,of extra-legal arguments within legal theory and practice. Law and Bioethics, the latest volume in the Current Legal Issues series, contains a broad range of essays by scholars interested in the interactions between law and bioethics. It includes studies examining theregulation of stem cell research, human rights and bioethics, the regulation of reproductive technologies, and distributive justice in healthcare and pandemic planning.
The Law of Bioethics by Marsha Garrison; Carl Schneider
Call Number: KF3823 .G37 2015
ISBN: 9780314291004
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
This casebook covers contemporary issues in bioethics ranging from reproductive choice to decision making about death. It teaches legal doctrine through judicial opinions and statutes; it teaches analytical and practical skills through a diverse set of problems. The casebook also enables students to think broadly about regulatory issues by supplementing traditional legal materials with patients' accounts of their illnesses, doctors' reports of their encounters with patients, ethicists' reflections, and researchers' findings on how medical decisions are made, the results those decisions produce, and the impact of various forms of legal regulation. Finally, the casebook encourages students to use the law of bioethics as a window into larger questions about the role of law as a form of social regulation and the impact of American culture on the development of law and regulatory strategy.
Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics by Henk ten Have (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319094823
Publication Date: 2016-06-29
This work presents the first comprehensive and systematic treatment of all relevant issues and topics in contemporary global bioethics. Now that bioethics has entered into a novel global phase, a wider set of issues, problems and principles is emerging against the backdrop of globalization and in the context of global relations. This new stage in bioethics is furthermore promoted through the ethical framework presented in the UNESCO Universal Declaration on Bioethics and Human Rights adopted in 2005. This Declaration is the first political statement in the field of bioethics that has been adopted unanimously by all Member States of UNESCO. In contrast to other international documents, it formulates a commitment of governments and is part of international law (though not binding as a Convention). It presents a universal framework of ethical principles for the further development of bioethics at a global level. The Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics caters to the need for a comprehensive overview and systematic treatment of all pertinent new topics and issues in the emerging global bioethics debate. It provides descriptions and analysis of a vast range of important new issues from a truly global perspective and with a cross-cultural approach. New issues covered by the Encyclopedia and neglected in more traditional works on bioethics include, but are not limited to, sponsorship of research and education, scientific misconduct and research integrity, exploitation of research participants in resource-poor settings, brain drain and migration of healthcare workers, organ trafficking and transplant tourism, indigenous medicine, biodiversity, commodification of human tissue, benefit sharing, bio industry and food, malnutrition and hunger, human rights and climate change.
Law and Bioethics by Jerry Menikoff
Call Number: KF3821 .M46 2001
ISBN: 0878408398
Publication Date: 2002-02-28
While the American legal system has played an important role in shaping the field of bioethics, Law and Bioethics is the first book on the subject designed to be accessible to readers with little or no legal background. Detailing how the legal analysis of an issue in bioethics often differs from the "ethical" analysis, the book covers such topics as abortion, surrogacy, cloning, informed consent, malpractice, refusal of care, and organ transplantation. Structured like a legal casebook, Law and Bioethics includes the text of almost all the landmark cases that have shaped bioethics. Jerry Menikoff offers commentary on each of these cases, as well as a lucid introduction to the U.S. legal system, explaining federalism and underlying common law concepts. Students and professionals in medicine and public health, as well as specialists in bioethics, will find the book a valuable resource.
Bioethics by Marcus Düwell
ISBN: 1136190082
Publication Date: 2012-11-27
This book is a philosophically-oriented introduction to bioethics. It offers the reader an overview of key debates in bioethics relevant to various areas including; organ retrieval, stem cell research, justice in healthcare and issues in environmental ethics, including issues surrounding food and agriculture. The book also seeks to go beyond simply describing the issues in order to provide the reader with the methodological and theoretical tools for a more comprehensive understanding of current bioethical debates. The aim of the book is to present bioethics as an interdisciplinary field, to explore its close relation to other disciplines (such as law, life sciences, theology and philosophy), and to discuss the conditions under which bioethics can serve as an academically legitimate discipline that is at the same time relevant to society. As a systematic and methodologically rigorous overview, Bioethics: Methods, Theories and Principles will be of particular interest to academics and students in the disciplines of Law, Medicine, Ethics and Philosophy. 'This is a book that embraces neither a single ethical theory nor a pragmatic melange of just-so-principles. It is a thoughtful and engaging analysis of diverse theoretical foundations in Bioethics. It is also an enormous step towards conceptual and philosophical clarity in this fascinating area.' - Professor Christian Illies, Chair for Practical Philosophy at the Otto-Friedrich University Bamberg, Germany
Bioethics by Lewis Vaughn
Call Number: WB 60 V371b 2017
ISBN: 9780190250102
Publication Date: 2016-07-15
Bioethics: Principles, Issues, and Cases, Third Edition, explores the philosophical, medical, social, and legal aspects of key bioethical issues. Opening with a thorough introduction to ethics, bioethics, and moral reasoning, it then covers influential moral theories and the criteria forevaluating them. Integrating eighty-nine readings - twelve of them new to this edition - numerous classic bioethical cases, and abundant pedagogical tools, this text addresses the most provocative and controversial topics in bioethics.PEDAGOGICAL FEATURES:* "Classic Case Files" describe landmark cases that shaped the debate, while news-making "Cases for Evaluation" encourage students to form their own opinions* Various text boxes: "In Depth" boxes contain additional material, illustrations, or analyses, much of it "ripped from the headlines"; "Fact File" boxes provide statistics on the social, medical, and scientific facets of a chapter's topic; and "Legal Brief" boxes summarize important court rulingsand the status of major legislation* "Key Terms" are boldfaced and boxed off within the text and then defined in a glossary at the back of the book* "Applying Major Theories" sections at the end of each chapter help students relate theories to the issues
Bioethics, Health Care and the Law by Richard H. Hedges
Call Number: R725.5 .H44 1999
ISBN: 0874367611
Publication Date: 1999-12-22
A comprehensive introduction to the vocabulary and definitions of the terms involved in the health care and bioethics debate.
Bioethics and Law in a Nutshell by Sandra Johnson; Robert Schwartz; Robert Gatter; Elizabeth Pendo
Call Number: KF3821 .J64 2016
ISBN: 1634604709
Publication Date: 2016-09-23
This book provides a concise analysis of areas in which the law has addressed issues in bioethics. Topics include assisted reproductive techniques and family-making, limitations on reproduction (including abortion, contraception and sterilization), the role of ethical and religious beliefs of health care professionals, the definition of death, end-of-life decision-making (including physician assisted death), genetics, research involving human subjects (including issues related to conflicts of interest), stem cell research, organ transplantation, and other emerging topics. The book provides an excellent introduction to the process of ethics decision-making as well as useful support for students.

Boethics Databases

PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health. PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations and abstracts biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Web of Science
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO) is a comprehensive source of full text for medical journals¸ providing full text for more than 1¸370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those¸ more than 1¸340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature. Coverage: Full Text:1965-present/ Citations:1800s-present
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
ProQuest Research Library
One of the most comprehensive databases available through the ProQuest online system¸ Research Library provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas¸ including business¸ education¸ literature¸ political science¸ and psychology. The database can be customized to meet the specific needs of many different types of libraries and information centers.Coverage: 1971 - present
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a ready-reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text¸ aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference materials. The content is enriched with images¸ sound files¸ maps and customizable data tables.
Coverage: varies
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press¸ as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles¸ topic overviews¸ statistics¸ primary documents¸ links to web sites¸ and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
EBSCOhost Ebook Collection
Books available to browse¸ view and check out online.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text from 2500+ journals and ebooks in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Scopus (Elsevier)
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database that includes literature from the social sciences, physical sciences, health sciences and life sciences. Search and filter relevant information, monitor research trends, track newly published research and identify subject experts. Use the analytics tools to visualize, compare and export the data.