Skip to Main Content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Kentucky Legal Research Guide


Web Sites

Kentucky Constitution

Kentucky Constitution

Kentucky became the westernmost county of Virginia and Virginia's Constitution of 1776 provided for the possiblity of Kentucky becoming a separate state.  The Virginia Compact of 1789 set forth the conditions for Kentucky statehood.

  • First Constitution - 1792
  • The Second Constitution - 1799
  • The Third Constitution - 1850
  • The Fourth Constitution - 1891

Kentucky Constitution - Print

Kentucky Constitution - Online

Citation Rules

Bluebook Citation, Rule 11
The correct citation format for the current Kentucky Constitution is,  “KY. Const. § xx.”

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2021 University of Cincinnati