Research Guides: Researching Secondary Sources in Law: More Help with Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources

Please note that Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law are only available to law students and law faculty.

Researching Secondary Sources Video: Introduction to Legal Encyclopedias -- by Susan Boland This video introduces you to researching secondary sources, specifically legal encyclopedias. It covers what legal encyclopedias are and how they fit into the research process. It also demonstrates the structure and organization of legal encyclopedias and how to use an encyclopedia in print. The video is 8:38 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using Legal Encyclopedias on Lexis Advance -- by Susan Boland This video covers how to find and use legal encyclopedias on Lexis Advance. It shows the structure and organization of an encyclopedia on Lexis and demonstrates how to use the table of contents. This video is 5:18 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using Legal Encyclopedias on Westlaw -- by Susan Boland This video covers how to find and use legal encyclopedias on Westlaw. It shows the structure and organization of an encyclopedia on Westlaw and demonstrates how to use the index and table of contents. This video is 6:07 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Introduction to Restatements & Finding them on HeinOnline -- by Susan Boland This video explains what a Restatement of the Law is and when it should be used for legal research. It discusses unique features and finding tools for restatements as well as how to locate them on HeinOnline. The video is 4:42 minutes long and features closed captioning and a table of contents.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Introduction to American Law Reports -- by Susan Boland This video explains what the American Law Reports are and when they should be used for legal research. It discusses ALR finding tools, and how to locate ALRs online. The video is 10:25 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using ALRs on Lexis -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to find and use ALRs on Lexis Advance. It discusses the structure and organization of an online ALR and demonstrates the ALR finding tools of the ALR Article Index, the ALR Article Outline, and the Table of Jurisdictions. The video is 8:14 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using ALRs on Westlaw This video demonstrates how to find and use ALRs on Westlaw. It covers the structure and organization of an ALR on Westlaw and shows you how to use the ALR Complete Series Index, ALR Article Index, ALR Article Outline, and Table of Jurisdictions on Westlaw. The video is 9:32 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Introduction to Legal Periodicals -- by Susan Boland This video introduces you to legal periodicals. It covers the different types of legal periodicals, when and why you would use a legal periodical, how to evaluate the legal authority of legal periodical articles, and how to find legal periodicals on HeinOnline. The video is 9:04 minutes long and features closed captioning. minutes long and features a table of contents and closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Using Lexis & Westlaw to Find Law Reviews and Legal Periodicals -- by Susan Boland This video covers how to find legal periodicals on Lexis and Westlaw. It demonstrates finding legal periodicals by citation, keyword searching, and by topic. The video is 6:42 minutes long and feature closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Introduction to Treatises -- by Susan Boland This video explains what a treatise is, how they are structured, treatise finding aids, and when you should use one for legal research, and how to find them in print. This video is 8:09 minutes long and features and closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using Treatises on Lexis Advance -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to find and use treatises on Lexis. It is 7:07minutes long and features closed captioning.
Researching Secondary Sources Video: Finding and Using Treatises on Westlaw -- by Susan Boland This video covers how to find and use treatises on Westlaw. It is 8:24 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Help with 2019 October Memo Research on Texas Premises Liability -- by Susan M Boland This video demonstrates how to use Texas Jurisprudence 3d on Lexis and Westlaw to find cases on premises liability. The video is 2:19 minutes long and features closed captioning
How to Find Tax Materials on CCH Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to find tax materials on CCH's IntelliConnect. It includes tax finding tools, e-indexes, and how to search. This video is 3:36 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Finding Tax Treatises on Westlaw Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates different methods for finding tax treatises on Westlaw. The video is 4:25 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Finding Tax Management Portfolios Using Bloomberg Law Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how you can find Tax Management Portfolios using Bloomberg Law. It also explains Tax Management Portfolio finding tools and search methods. The video is 5:56 minutes long and features closed captioning.
Using Lexis Tax Advisor Video -- by Susan Boland This video demonstrates how to use the Lexis Tax Advisor, including explanation of how to find it on Lexis Advance, using the table of contents, getting documents, and searching. The video is 2:34 minutes long and is closed captioned.

Secondary Source Research on Lexis

Rely on Secondary Sources First (PDF) Secondary sources are not the law, but they can be the best place to begin your research. They help you determine which primary cases, statutes and regulations you need. Practitioners often use secondary sources to quickly evaluate their legal topic and better understand the laws that they read next. This brochure describes how to find secondary sources on Lexis Advance.
Searching and Navigating Treatises on Lexis (YouTube) This 3:30 min. Training on the Go video demonstrates searching and navigating treatises on Lexis.
Topic Summaries on Lexis (YouTube) This 2:03 min. Training on the Go video shows you the Lexis Topic Summaries feature.
Lexis Answers (PDF)
Lexis Answers (YouTube) This 1:22 min. Training on the Go video introduces Lexis Answers. Lexis Answers provides a quick summary for legal concepts, doctrines and standards using advanced artificial intelligence.
Lexis Answers on Lexis+ (YouTube) This 1:21 min. video shows you how to access Lexis Answers on Lexis+. Lexis Answers provides a quick summary for legal concepts, doctrines and standards using advanced artificial intelligence.
Legal News Hub on Lexis+ (YouTube) This 3:27 min. video demonstrates using the Legal News Hub to integrate Law360 news in 70+ practice areas and topics.

Secondary Sources on Westlaw

Bloomberg Law

Please note that Bloomberg Law is only available to law students, MLS students, and law faculty. You must sign on to Bloomberg Law in order to access the tutorials.

Getting Started on Bloomberg Law (html)

HeinOnline

Please note that HeinOnline is restricted to UC faculty, students and staff .

Getting Started on HeinOnline Video (YouTube) Are you new to HeinOnline? Do you have questions about the basics of HeinOnline research? Watch this brief video to get started with the research platform.
HeinOnline One-Box Searching (Video) This 3:30 min. video demonstrates how to enter a keyword (or several), a document or case citation, an author name, the name of a publication title, and more into the HeinOnline search bar to bring up results associated with that metadata in HeinOnline. From anywhere in HeinOnline, enter any query into the new one-box search. A series of options will appear in a drop-down allowing you to specify your search intent.
How to Search in HeinOnline Video (YouTube) This 6:41 min. video demonstrates how to search from the welcome page or from within a specific collection. It also introduces some basic syntax options.
How to Use Citations in HeinOnline (YouTube) This 4:12 min. video shows you how to search by citation in HeinOnline.
HeinOnline General Navigation Videos
Searching in HeinOnline Video
HeinOnline Law Journal Coverage Video Uses Flash & audio (1:44 min.)
Searching the HeinOnline Law Journal Library Video
HeinOnline's Scholar Check Video