Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Law Research Assistant Guide to the Law Library

This guide is designed to assist UC Law Research Assistants.

Citation Managers

Citation Managers are software applications that will help researchers …

  • Gather references automatically from article databases
  • Format  manuscripts and citations instantly in a variety of styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.)
  • Generate bibliographies
  • Create and organize a personal research database of references, images and PDFs
  • Share citations with colleagues on campus and around the world
  • Transfer references among various applications

Below are some citation management programs:

Social Bookmarking

Social Bookmarking sites allow you to save references and bookmarks to an online account, which you may choose to share with others. You may also browse by subject or tags, and some services allow you to upload files.

Comparison of Citation Management Software - Basics

Modified table based on the Cornell University Comparison of Citation Management Software (2011) table.

Wikipedia's Comparison of Reference Management Software also provides comparisons of many citation managers.

 

RefWorks

EndNote

Zotero

Mendeley

Developer

ProQuest

Thomson Reuters

Center for History and New Media (GMU)

Elsevier

Cost

Free to UC students, faculty, and staff. Paid for by the UC Libraries.

$

UC student discount available from UC Bookstore.

Free

Free (Basic)

Available to use…

Online

Computer with EndNote installed

Online (Firefox plug-in or stand-alone for use with Chrome & Safari)

Online and on computer with software installed

Version referenced

RefWorks 2.0

EndNote X6

Zotero 4.0.5

Ver. 1.8.4

         

Interoperable with other citation management programs

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Word Integration (format citations & bibliographies in MS Word)

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Modify & create filters

No

Yes

No

No

Import & extract bibliographic information from PDFs

No

Yes*

Yes*

Yes*

Search databases directly from program

Yes, certain databases

Yes, certain databases

No

No

Import references from  databases

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Storage

3GB

On Computer

100MB

2GB (Basic account)

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati