Skip to Main Content
Images
ACRL Guide Digital Images Collections
A curated bibliography of quality digital image collections spanning ~85 subjects, including ~950 digital collections, that have been culled primarily from the LibGuides Community, and several subject areas have been further refined by 20 subject liaison
Akkasah Photographic Archive at NYU Abu Dhabi
Digitized photographic images, historical and contemporary, gathered from around the Middle East and North Africa.
American Center of Oriental Research (ACOR) Photo Archive
The American Center of Oriental Research (ACOR) in Amman, Jordan, is a non‑profit, 501(c)(3) academic institution dedicated to promoting research and publication in the humanities and social sciences, with a particular focus on issues related to Jordan and the broader Middle East. The ACOR Library holds a remarkable photographic archive related to its role in preserving and promoting the country’s heritage. The complete collection, estimated to number more than 100,000 images, provides primary visual documentation of Jordan, including the major archaeological and cultural heritage projects the center has sponsored across the country over the decades.[Site Description]
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Compiled by the Library of Congress¸ American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words¸ sound recordings¸ still and moving images¸ prints¸ maps¸ and sheet music that document the American experience. The database contains over 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.
2021 update: We've migrated most of our American Memory collections to new presentations. For a full list of all digitized collections at the Library of Congress, please go to https://www.loc.gov/collections/
Arab Image Foundation
Digitized historic photographs and other visual documents portraying life and art in the Arab world.
Archives of American Art
Our vast holdings are a vital resource to anyone interested in American culture over the past 200 years and consist of more than 20 million letters, diaries, scrapbooks, manuscripts, financial records, photographs, films, and audiovisual recordings of artists, dealers, collectors, critics, scholars, museums, galleries, associations, and other art world figures. The Archives also houses the largest collection of oral histories anywhere on the subject of art. [Site Description]
Art as Image: Prints and Promotion in Cincinnati¸ Ohio
Art as Image: Prints and Promotion in Cincinnati¸ Ohio is both a print monograph and a web site published by Ohio University Press in association with the University of Cincinnati Digital Press. The monograph (ISBN: 082141335X) can be ordered online from Amazon.com or Ohio University Press. Cincinnati was a major printing and publishing center from the earliest days of the Old Northwest Territory. The spectacular technological and artistic developments in the 19th-century printing trade nationally were reflected in the Cincinnati printmakers' achievements. Highlights of Cincinnati prints¸ printing¸ and graphic design are the focus of the monograph and web site.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative¸ founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation¸ with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship¸ teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is a searchable database of more than 2.5 million digital images and related data. Combinations of images¸ data and text provides comprehensive art-related teaching¸ learning and researching capabilities. Images can be viewed and analyzed through features such as zooming and panning.
Belgium Art Institute
Belgium's art history in a single click, nearly 650 000 free downloadable photos [Web Site]
CCSearch [Creative Commons]
CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.
CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution.,
Civil War Monuments in Ohio
Photographs of monuments, statues, plaques and buildings with detailed descriptions.
Corbis Bettmann Images
More than 100 years of history
Unveil more than 100 years of history through stock photography in the prestigious Bettmann Archive. The archive is a compilation of Dr. Otto Bettmann’s life’s work and the United Press International Photo Archive — more than 11 million photographs from the 19th and 20th centuries. One of the most significant historical collections of images in the world, this international treasure is housed in the state-of-the-art Film Preservation Facility (FPF) in Pennsylvania. New scans of images that have never been digitized are uploaded daily. [Site Description]
Department of Photographs and Films [Cincinnati History Library and Archives]
The collection consists of approximately 800,000 unique items. The earliest photographs are the 485 unique, cased daguerreotypes, ambrotypes and tintypes dating back to the 1840s. These are followed by thousands of albumen cartes-de-visite and cabinet cards of various sizes, stereographs, about 50 cyanotypes, and a few salt paper prints. The remaining 75% of the paper prints comprise more modern processes. Less than 1% of the prints are in color. There are over 8,000 trade and real-photo postcards
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The stated aim of the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is to bring together the riches of America's libraries¸ archives¸ and museums¸ and make them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression¸ from the written word¸ to works of art and culture¸ to records of America's heritage¸ to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to make the realm of openly available materials more easily discovered and more widely used. This resource offers a single point of access to millions of items including photographs¸ manuscripts¸ books¸ sounds¸ moving images¸ and more from libraries¸ archives¸ and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA's collections by timeline¸ map¸ format¸ and topic. Users can also save items to customized lists and share their lists with others
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. [Site Description]
Edward E. Ayer Digital Collection (Newberry Library
See sections on art works and on photographs.
As a collection of general Americana, the Newberry’s Edward E. Ayer Collection is one of the best in the country and one of the strongest collections on American Indians in the world. [Site Description]
Europeana Photography
"Europeana Photography presents images from the first 100 years of photography, sourced from photographic archives, agencies and museum collections across Europe. The collection includes work by important pioneers like Julia Margaret Cameron, Eadweard Muybridge and Louis Daguerre... "{Europeana Announcement]
Faces and Places--Northern Kentucky Photographic Archives
Some 100,000 digitized images from the photographic collections of the Kenton County Public Library
Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information Color Photographs
Photographers working for the U.S. government's Farm Security Administration (FSA) and later the Office of War Information (OWI) between 1939 and 1944 made approximately 1,600 color photographs that depict life in the United States, including Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. The pictures focus on rural areas and farm labor, as well as aspects of World War II mobilization, including factories, railroads, aviation training, and women working. [Web Site]
First World War Portal
The First World War portal presents rich and varied primary source documents on the personal experiences of men and women¸ recruitment¸ and the development and dissemination of various forms of propaganda. The documents feature in four self-contained modules: 1) Personal Experiences¸ 2) Propaganda and Recruitment¸ 3) Visual Perspectives and Narratives¸ and 4) A Global Conflict; and these can be explored seamlessly. The wealth of original documents include: personal narratives¸ diaries¸ newspapers¸ posters¸ postcards¸ photographs¸ printed books¸ military and government files¸ ephemera¸ official and personal photographs¸ manuscripts¸ rare printed material¸ artwork¸ objects and film. This material is complemented by a range of contextual secondary features. Use the Interactive Maps to learn about the extension of the conflict¸ explore significant dates and events of the Great War through the chronology and view fascinating visual images in bespoke galleries. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Getty Images
“Getty Images is a global digital media company which moves the world with images. Established in 1995, we proudly represent the work of more than 250,000 talented and dedicated photographers and other content creators, and hundreds of media and content partners. Nearly 2,000 global employees in more than 20 offices around the world...[Site Description]
Getty Museum and Research Institute
The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids. [Site Description] See GRI Digital Collections
Google Arts & Culture
Explore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute [Web Site]
Japanese Illustrated Books from the Edo and Meiji Periods
The Freer|Sackler Library's collection of illustrated Japanese rare books includes over 1,000 volumes previously owned by Charles Lang Freer. Often filled with color illustrations, many are by famous artists such as Andō Hiroshige and Katsushika Hokusai. These beautiful woodblock printed works of art were published during the Edo and Meiji periods (1600-1912). Another group of Japanese rare books more recently added to the Library's collections consists of 67 volumes of illustrated Meiji-period books collected by Robert O. Muller who also formed a superb collection of Japanese prints from the same period which he bequeathed to the Arthur M.Sackler Gallery. [Web Description]
Library of Congress Free to Use and Reuse Sets
This page features items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use. Each set of content is based on a theme and is first featured on the Library's home page.
These sets are just a small sample of the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The digital collections comprise millions of items including books, newspapers, manuscripts, prints and photos, maps, musical scores, films, sound recordings and more. Whenever possible, each collection has its own rights statement which should be consulted for guidance on use. Learn more about copyright and the Library's collections. [Site description]
Life Photo Archive hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive¸ stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Coverage: 1750's - present
Maya Archaeology Photographs
Mayan Archeology Digital Photographs is a collection of digital photographs of Mayan archeology. This collection shows Mayan architecture and scenery from Mexico¸ Honduras¸ and Guatemala. As a resource for the exploration of the various and complex interrelationships within Mayan society¸ the Mayan archaeology collection serves as basic image resource which the creators hope will be augmented by other scholars in the field.
Minor White Photography Archive
Minor White (1908–1976) was one of the most important photographic artists of the twentieth century. In a career spanning four decades, he became a key figure in shaping a distinctly modern American photographic style.
The Minor White Archive, which entered the Princeton University Art Museum in 1976, is the most significant collection of primary source material by and about the artist. [Web Site]
New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery
Welcome to the New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery of over 900,000 images. Selected from the world-class historical collections of the Archives, most of these unique photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings are being made accessible for the first time. [Site Description]
NYPL Digital Collections
The New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides access to over 600¸000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of the New York Public Library¸ including illuminated manuscripts¸ historical maps¸ vintage posters¸ rare prints and photographs¸ illustrated books¸ printed ephemera¸ and more.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
as of May 2021, 905,746 items digitized from NYPL collections.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Designed specifically with the researcher in mind¸ Nineteenth Century Collections Online has been built on a research platform that offers the robust search functionality and annotation and tagging tools necessary for scholarly work. The database includes a variety of content types--monographs¸ newspapers¸ pamphlets¸ manuscripts¸ photographs¸ ephemera¸ maps¸ statistics¸ and more--and unites them in one central¸ cross-searchable location. This database now includes parts 1 to 8: 1)Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange¸ 2) British Politics and Society¸ 3) British Theatre¸ Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture¸ and 4) European Literature¸ 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection¸ 5) Europe and Africa: Commerce¸ Christianity¸ Civilization¸ and Conquest¸ 6) Photography: The World Through the Lens¸ 7) Science¸ Technology and Medicine¸ 1780-1925¸ and 8) Women: Transnational Networks
Open Heritage
CyArk is a non profit organization founded in 2003 to digitally record, archive and share the world's cultural heritage and ensure that these places continue to inspire wonder and curiosity for decades to come. After nearly 15 years in operation we have recorded over 200 monuments on all 7 continents.
PERSUASIVE CARTOGRAPHY The PJ Mode Collection Cornell University
Highly image-driven collection of more than 800 maps intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs - to send a message - rather than to communicate geographic information. The collection reflects a variety of persuasive tools , including allegorical, satirical and pictorial mapping; selective inclusion; unusual use of projections, color, graphics and text; and intentional deception. Maps in the collection address a wide range of messages: religious, political, military, commercial, moral and social.[Site description]
Poster Collection Public Library Cincinnati and Hamilton County
Circus & theater posters created by Cincinnati's Strobridge Lithographing Company, printed in the 1890s through the mid-1920s. Travel posters by various artists. WWI and II propaganda posters.
Photogrammar
Photogrammar is a web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI). [Site Description]
Pulverer Collection of Japanese illustrated Books
The Pulverer Collection, acquired in its entirety by the Freer Gallery of Art in 2007, includes numerous rare and pristine examples of Japanese illustrated books produced in the Edo period and beyond. For more than thirty years Dr. Gerhard Pulverer, a renowned medical researcher in Germany, and his wife Rosemarie traveled the world and assembled the collection. Their holdings of more than 900 titles encompass almost 2,200 volumes that range in date from the early seventeenth century to the 1970s. Today the Pulverer Collection is regarded as one of the most outstanding and comprehensive collections of Japanese illustrated books outside Japan. [Web Site]
Royal Commonwealth Society Library
Digitized photographs, drawings, and other pictorial images from Britain's colonial empire.
Soviet war posters, c. 1940-1945 : the TASS poster series from the Hallward Library, University of Nottingham
Reproduces 129 stencilled posters from the TASS (Telegraphic Agency of the Soviet Union) Windows series and 37 printed posters of the period from June 1943 to May 1945 [Source Description]
Soviet war posters c1940-1945 from the University of Nottingham
166 Soviet World War II posters selected from two collections (TASS Windows, or Tass poster series; and, Printed Posters) housed at the University of Nottingham. Posters illustrate a variety of social and political conditions in the context of the heroic, and of the patriotic Soviet war effort. Posters are reproduced in the original color on one reel, and then again in b&w on the other reel. Printed guide and listing has been reproduced at the beginning of each reel [Source Description]
Terence Vincent Powderly Photographic Prints
Images selected from the Powderly collection [Site Description]
Visualizing Cultures
Visualizing Cultures was launched at MIT in 2002 to explore the potential of the Web for developing innovative image-driven scholarship and learning. reconstruct the past as people of the time visualized the world (or imagined it to be). Topical units to date focus on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China. The thrust of these explorations extends beyond Asia per se, however, to address "culture" in much broader ways—cultures of modernization, war and peace, consumerism, images of "Self" and "Others," and so on. Images of every sort are introduced and examined here—in partnership with contributing institutions and collections, and with the collaboration of experts ...[Site Description]
Wellcome Images
Thousands of images and centuries of medicine, science, society and culture
Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
If you want information about using our images, you can find it under Services. All our images are available digitally. [Site Description]
William Blake Archive
A free site on the World Wide Web since 1996¸ the Blake Archive was conceived as an international public resource that would provide unified access to major works of visual and literary art that are highly disparate¸ widely dispersed¸ and more and more often severely restricted as a result of their value¸ rarity¸ and extreme fragility. A growing number of contributors has given the Archive permission to include thousands of Blake's images and texts without fees.
Wright Brothers Collection (Digital Photographs)
Wright Brothers Digital Photographs is a collection of photographs documenting the invention of the airplane¸ the lives of the Wright Family¸ and the Wrights' flying exhibitions in Europe and the United States. The collection provides thorough coverage of the Wrights' early inventive period documenting their early gliders and flight testing in both North Carolina and Ohio. Much of it should show that Orville and Wilbur Wright were technically excellent photographers who painstakingly documented their process of invention. The content posted to date also provides a valuable record of their home life¸ camp life¸ and the flora and fauna of the Outer Banks 100 year ago. These photos are from The Wright Brothers Collection housed in Special Collections and Archives at the Wright State University Libraries¸ one of the most complete collections of Wright material in the world.
Immigration/Emigration
Complete Book of Emigrants
"A comprehensive listing compiled from English public records of those who took ship to the Americas for political, religious, and economic reasons; of those who were deported for vagrancy, roguery, or non-conformity; and of those who were sold to labour in the New Colonies."[Catalog Note] [v. 1]. 1607-1660 -- [v. 2]. 1661-1699 -- [v. 3]. 1700-1750 -- [v. 4]. 1751-1776
Digitizing Immigrant Letters Project
"... letters from the IHRC Archives and other collections (private individuals, partner institutions) that were written between 1850 and 1970 both by immigrants (the so-called “America letters”) and to immigrants (“homeland letters”). Global and multilingual in scope...." [Site Description]
Henry Watson, Jr., papers, 1765-1870, Greensboro (Greene County, later Hale County), Alabama, and East Windsor, Connecticut [microfilm 10 reels].]
"The Henry Watson collection details the immigration of Henry Watson, Jr., to Greensboro, Alabama, from East Windsor, Connecticut, and his amassing a fortune as a cotton planter and entrepreneur in the Deep South"[Catalog Note]
Immigrant in America [microfilm 33 reels] : unit 5, Germans, French
Guide available: The Immigrant in America : guide to th microfilm collection, Unit 5, reels 148-180, French, reels 181-183
Indentured Records Project
Examination of indenture contracts of immigrants to Philadelphia on cusp of American Revolution
Papers of the Select Commission on Immigration and Refugee Policy [microfilm 24 reels]]
pt. 1. Meetings, consultations, legal materials, selected subject files, and staff report with appendices (11 reels).--pt. 2. Records of regional hearings (13 reels)
Refugees, relief, and resettlement
Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950 through correspondence, reports, studies, organizational and administrative files, and much more. It is the first multi-sourced digital collection to consider the global scope of the refugee crisis leading up to, through, and after World War II.
India
Census of India, 1872-1951
Time Period: 1872, 1881, 1891, 1911, 1921, 1931, 1941, 1951
• Content: Reports from the Indian Census Commissioner filmed from the originals in the India Office Library
China and India
Office of Strategic Services/State Department intelligence reports on India and China, 1941-1949
Crown Representative papers of India, 1894-1938
Selected documents from the India Office Library filmed on demand. The guide gives CR numbers, date, and document titles on each reel.
East India Company
collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947
Gandhi, Mahatma, 1869-1948 Collected works
Use Gandhi, Mahatma as an author and a subject search in the library catalog to find additional materials
Lok Sabha debates
Time Period: ser.2:v.23(1958)-ser.4:v.10(1967) (Incomplete holdings)
•Content: Parliamentary debates
Nehru, Jawaharlal, 1889-1964 Speeches
Use Nehru, Jawaharlal as an author and a subject search in the library catalog to find additional primary sources
Indians of North America
American Indian Constitutions and Legal Materials
The Law Library of Congress collection contains a variety of American Indian legal materials. This webpage offers links to over 400 American Indian legal materials, spanning both 19th century items and constitutions and charters drafted after the 1934 Indian Reorganization Act.[Site Description]
American Indian Histories and Cultures
The wide range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world. [Site Description]
America's Historical Imprints: Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker
America’s Historical Imprints: Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker includes Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800), plus the Evans supplement from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society for 1652-1800 and the Evans supplement from the collections of the Library Company of Philadelphia for 1670-1800 plus Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819). All four collections may be searched at once or you can also choose to search just one of the series. Books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera, and government documents from 1639-1819 are searchable in this Readex database. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture¸ history¸ and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology¸ multicultural relations¸ gaming¸ governance¸ legend¸ and literacy. BIPNA contains more than 80¸000 citations for books¸ essays¸ journal articles¸ and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Coverage: 16th Century - present
eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF World Cultures (formerly called "eHRAF Collection of Ethnography" ) is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Fuentes para la historia del trabajo en Nueva España
Use these subjects in the library catalog for more information:
Indians, Treatment of -- Mexico
Indians of Mexico
Gambold, Anna Rosina, d.1821. The Moravian Springplace Mission to the Cherokees
Annoted translation of the diaries of John and Anna Rosina Gambold, Moravian missionaries to the Cherokee Indians from 1805 to 1821 [Catalog description]
Garland library of narratives of North American Indian captivities
Each narrative in this series is separately cataloged. Use the series title " Garland library of narratives of North American Indian captivities" in the library catalog for a listing of each individual narrative in the collection
George Catlin the Printed Works
Contains 730 images of lithographic, chromolithographic, and engraved plates from four Catlin titles
IDA Treaties Explorer
While treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.[Site Description]
Indigenous Digital Archive
A National Leadership Grant project of the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture. The Museum of Indian Arts and Culture, in collaboration with the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center and the State Library Tribal Libraries Program, is creating a free online resource of interest to students, families, researchers, and communities. The Indigenous Digital Archive (IDA) is funded by a National Leadership Grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), the New Mexico Historical Records Advisory Board, and the Knight Foundation. For full details, please read on under the photos, and to learn more as the project progresses, join our mailing list here.[Web Site]
Kim-Wait/Eisenberg Native American Literature Collection
One of the most extensive collections of Native American writings currently in the process of digitization. "The collection includes fiction, poetry, history, philosophy, sermons, anthropological works, photography, activist manifestos, books for children, and much more. The aim is to document as thoroughly as possible the full spectrum of Native American writing and intellectual life from the 18th century to the present." [Site Description]
McKenney & Hall, History of the Indian tribes of North America
Contains 125 images of lithographic, chromolithographic, and engraved plates
Making of the Modern World
The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth with a focus on economics, political science, history, philosophy, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. The three collections can be searched together, or individually. Part I: The Goldsmiths’-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 includes major works of many economists, political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and ephemera. Part II: 1851-1914 is comprised mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, providing international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization and the birth of the modern corporation. It provides a glimpse into the second half of the 19th century and the global events and crises that were witnessed by those living them. Part III: 1890-1945 includes transnational coverage in an area of political economy, with content covering the First World War, the Great Depression, and the Second World War. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Coverage: 1450 - 1945
Maya Archaeology Photographs
Mayan Archeology Digital Photographs is a collection of digital photographs of Mayan archeology. This collection shows Mayan architecture and scenery from Mexico¸ Honduras¸ and Guatemala. As a resource for the exploration of the various and complex interrelationships within Mayan society¸ the Mayan archaeology collection serves as basic image resource which the creators hope will be augmented by other scholars in the field.
National Museum of the American Indian
The National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) has one of the most extensive collections of Native American arts and artifacts in the world—approximately 266,000 catalog records (825,000 items) representing over 12,000 years of history and more than 1,200 indigenous cultures throughout the Americas, [Site Description] Use "Search Online Collections" to access the digital artifacts.
Newberry Library Edward E. Ayer Collection
As a collection of general Americana, the Newberry’s Edward E. Ayer Collection is one of the best in the country and one of the strongest collections on American Indians in the world. See the Newberry's digital collections as well as special research guides on this site containing bibliographies, checklists, and other resources helpful in directing research on American Indians at the Newberry. The Newberry's catalog may also be searched online. [Site Description]
New England Indian Papers Series [Yale Indian Papers Project]
The New England Indian Papers Series is a scholarly critical edition of New England Native American primary source materials...[Site Description]
Occom Circle Project
Wiqômun! or “Welcome” to The Occom Circle, a freely accessible, scholarly digital edition of handwritten documents by and about Samson Occom (1723-1792) housed in Dartmouth College. Occom was a Mohegan Indian, Presbyterian minister and missionary, intertribal leader, public intellectual, and important Indian writer. Dartmouth’s archives hold a wealth of primary holograph materials pertaining to Occom and his circle, which included Eleazar Wheelock, founder of Moor’s Indian Charity School in Lebanon, CT, other Native American students at Moor’s, and a wide range of prominent figures in North America and Great Britain involved in Indian missionary efforts.[Site Description]
Sabin Americana (1500-1926) Collection Online
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement¸ Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1500-1926
Tozzer Library Collections
Tozzer Library collects comprehensively in all subfields of anthropology: cultural and social anthropology, biological and physical anthropology, archaeology, and anthropological linguistics, with a special emphasis on materials relating to the indigenous peoples of the Americas.
Of particular significance is the large collection of primary source materials in Mesoamerican archaeology, ethnology, and linguistics. It includes Mayan language materials, Spanish Colonial documents, ethnographic and archaeological field notes, and unpublished scholarly manuscripts from researchers at Harvard and other institutions. Among the most notable of the Mesoamerican materials are those in the Bowditch-Gates Collection of over 250 volumes containing photographic reproductions of almost every unpublished manuscript or unique imprint in the various Mayan and Mexican languages. Other important materials are the Scholes collection of manuscripts relating to Middle American Indians, the field notes of distinguished anthropologists Alfred Marston Tozzer, after whom the library was named, and Sylvanus Griswold Morley, and the significant number of high-quality reproductions and facsimiles of Maya and Mexican pre-Columbian and Colonial period codices.
United States. Indian Claims Commission
Conduct a corporate author search using United States. Indian Claims Commission to find additional materials issued by that body.
Indians of Central and South America
Codex Zouche-Nuttall
Codex (screenfold manuscript book) comprising 47 leaves, made of deer skin, painted. Contains two narratives: one side of the document relates the history of important centres in the Mixtec region, while the other, starting at the opposite end, records the genealogy, marriages and political and military feats of the Mixtec ruler, Eight Deer Jaguar-Claw.[Object Description]
eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF World Cultures (formerly called "eHRAF Collection of Ethnography" ) is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Making of the Modern World
The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth with a focus on economics, political science, history, philosophy, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. The three collections can be searched together, or individually. Part I: The Goldsmiths’-Kress Collection, 1450-1850 includes major works of many economists, political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and ephemera. Part II: 1851-1914 is comprised mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, providing international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization and the birth of the modern corporation. It provides a glimpse into the second half of the 19th century and the global events and crises that were witnessed by those living them. Part III: 1890-1945 includes transnational coverage in an area of political economy, with content covering the First World War, the Great Depression, and the Second World War. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Coverage: 1450 - 1945
Sabin Americana (1500-1926) Collection Online
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement¸ Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1500-1926
Simón, Pedro, b. 1565 Noticias historiales de Venezuela
Noticias historiales de las conquistas de Tierra Firme en las Indias Occidentales. Selections
Vega, Garcilaso de la, 1539-1616. Obras completas del Inca Garcilaso de la Vega
1. La traducción del indio de los tres Diálogos de amor de León Hebreo, hecha de italiano en español, por Garcilaso Inca de la Vega. Relación de la descendencia de Garci Pérez de Vargas. La Florida del inca.--2-3. Commentarios reales de los incas.--4. Comentarios reales de los incas. Escritos menores. Apéndice: Pedro Sarmiento de Gamboa y su Historia índicis, por C Sáenz de Santa María. Historica índica, por P. Sarmiento de Gamboa
Subject Peru -- History -- To 1548
Incas
Intellectual
Cullen, Countee, 1903-1946 Countee Cullen papers, 1921-1969
Correspondence and other papers of Countee Cullen, poet, playwright, novelist, and member of the Harlem Renaissance
[History of western philosophy]
"...part of a collection of philosophical works filmed in the Jesuit library at Les Fontaines, Chantilly, though supplemented through our own [Pius XII Memorial Library, St. Louis University] rare book holdings." [Catalog Description]
Peirce, Charles S. (Charles Sanders), 1839-1914 Complete published works including selected secondary materials
Time Period: 1858-1911
•Content: Peirce’s published works relating to mathematics, astronomy, physics, aesthetics, psychology, linguistics, logic, and philosophy
• See also Collected Papers of Charles Sanders Peirce Langsam stacksB945.P43 C6 1931 8 vols.
Rare militant British 19th century Freethought books
Books in this microfilm collection are digitally available in the "British Politics and Society" section of the database Nineteenth Century Collections Online. Use Rare Freethought Militant 19th Century Books in the search box. Contents include pamphlets, periodicals, and books by prominent British militants such as Annie Bessant,Richard Carlile, Robert Cooper, Charles Bradlaugh, and Frances Wright
The Shelley-Godwin Archive
digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online for the first time ever the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this uniquely gifted family of writers [Site Description]
International Affairs [See also individual countries]
The Annual register, or, A view of the history, politics, and literature for the year ..
Year by year record of British and world events with miscellaneous documents. Continuously published since 1791 with various name changes, all beginning with "Annual Register." Use that title in the library catalog for complete holdings.
CIA Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Electronic Reading Room.
12 million declassified pages from 930,000 documents more than 25 years old. The CIA releases millions of pages of documents each year and frequently releases items of public interest on this website. The Library contains a wealth of information, from unclassified current publications to basic references, reports and maps.[Web Site]
Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records
Time Period: 1914-1941
• Content: Reports and documents on Russia and the Soviet Union gathered and filmed from the unpublished records of U.S. consulates, listening posts, and embassies in St. Petersburg/Petrograd, Riga, Archangel, and Moscow. Drawn chiefly from National Archives Record Group #84 with additional materials from Record Group #59.
• Use in conjunction with Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States, 1918-1919 Russia Stks JX233.R8
U.S. Declassified Documents Online (USDDO)
Online access to over 500¸000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond¸ this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations¸ American studies¸ United States foreign and domestic policy studies¸ journalism and more.
Digital National Security Archives (DNSA)
The Digital National Security Archive is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 63¸000 of the most important¸ declassified documents - totaling more than 488¸144 pages - are included in the database. Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
Documents on international affairs
Time Period: 1928-1963
• Content: Supplement to the Survey of International Affairs, published 1920-1963 Stks D442.S8. Use with Consolidated Index to the Survey of International Affairs, 1920-1938, and Documents on International Affairs, 1928-1938 Stks D442.C6
Foreign relations of the United States : diplomatic papers / Department of State, United States of America
Time Period: 1931- [Volumes covering 1861-1931 have title Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States Stks JX233.A3 1870-1931]
• Content: Official record of major U.S. foreign policy documents published by the Office of the Historian, U.S. Department of State
Historic documents
Time Period: 1972-present
•Content: Annual collection representing the most significant documents issued in U.S. and world politics during that year
Kennan, George F. (George Frost), 1904-2005. The Kennan diaries / George F. Kennan ; edited by Frank Costigliola
Find related material in the library catalog using the subject headings
Ambassadors -- United States -- Diaries
Diplomats -- United States -- Diaries
United States -- Foreign relations
Cold War
Wilson Center Digital Archive
Constructed and maintained by the Wilson Center’s History and Public Policy Program, the Digital Archive contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. The historical documents presented in the ever-expanding Digital Archive provide fresh, unprecedented insights into recent international history. By making new sources available and easily accessible, the Digital Archive serves to deepen and enrich international scholarship, history education, and public policy debate on important global issues and challenges. [Site Description]
Iraq [See also Middle East]
Iraqi Jewish Archive
Startling evidence of the once vibrant Jewish life in Iraq came to light in May 2003 — over 2,700 books and tens of thousands of documents were discovered in the flooded basement of the Iraqi intelligence headquarters by a US Army team. The remarkable survival of this written record of Iraqi Jewish life provides an unexpected opportunity to better understand this 2,500-year-old Jewish community. For centuries, it had flourished in what had generally been a tolerant, multicultural society. But circumstances changed dramatically for Jews in the mid-twentieth century, when most Iraqi Jews fled and were stripped of their citizenship and assets. To provide accessibility throughout the world to the damaged materials found in 2003, the US National Archives and Records Administration and its partners have preserved, cataloged, and digitized the books and documents. [Site Description]
Ireland
1641 depositions
Witness testimony concerning the Irish Rebellion of 1641
The acts of James II's Irish parliament, 1689
"This is the first modern scholarly edition of the acts of King James II's Irish parliament of 1689. Like all the official records of James's parliament, the enrolled copies of its thirty-five acts were ordered by William III's Irish parliament in 1695 to be 'openly cancelled and utterly destroyed'. But the text of twenty-five of these acts remains extant and it is from the earliest surviving copies that this edition has been compiled. It supersedes Thomas Davis's edition which was neither comprehensive nor based on the most authentic sources. The 1689 acts dealt with the land settlement, the war, taxation, the legal system and the constitutional relationship with England, religious liberty and tithes, trade and economic development, among many other topics. The acts show a Catholic governing class legislating both for present needs and for a Jacobite settlement that was not to be." -- Publisher's website
Digital Repository of Ireland
The Digital Repository of Ireland is a national digital repository for Ireland’s humanities, social sciences, and cultural heritage data. You can browse and search across multiple collections from some of the finest Irish institutions.[Web Site]
Documents on Irish Foreign Policy
v. 1. 1919-1922 -- v. 2. 1923-1926 -- v. 3. 1926-1932 -- v. 4. 1932-1936 -- v. 5. 1937-1939 -- v. 7. 1941-1945 -- v. 8. 1945-1948 -- v. 9. 1948-1951
Early Stuart Irish warrants, 1623-1639 : the Falkland and Wentworth administrations
"A warrant is better known as an official document relating to the apprehension of an individual or a group of people suspected of causing an offence. However, its powers extend much further. It is a writ issued by the highest authority that permits the recipient to perform a specific act. The warrants in this publication not only shed light on the function of government, but also provide valuable information on virtually every aspect of the more routine affairs of life in early modern Ireland. The 620 warrants presented here cover political, administrative, military, religious, economic, social and cultural matters in the years from 1623 to 1639"--Book jacket
National Library of Ireland
The National Library’s holdings constitute the most comprehensive collection of Irish documentary material in the world and offer an invaluable representation of Ireland’s history and heritage. Material acquired through Legal Deposit, donations and purchases is subsequently processed for storage and access. Providing appropriate storage and care for all collections is a vital part of our work and ensures its preservation for future generations.[Site Description]
Rerum hibernicarum scriptores veteres
Annals of Inisfallen
Annals of Boyle
Annals of the four masters
Annals of Ulster
