Skip to Main Content
American Federation of Labor records : the Samuel Gompers era
Time Period: 1881-1937
• Contents:Pt.l. Reels 1-57, records held by the AFL-CIO, edited by Peter J. Albert:
A. Early Federation Records 1881-1890 and papers of Gabriel Edmonston 1881-1918
B. Executive Council Records (Minutes 1893-1924; Vote Books 1892-1924; Correspondence 1901-1924)
C. Files of the Office President (Letterbooks 1907-1924; Scrapbooks 1886-1905)
D. AFL Microfilm Convention File 1909-1925 (originals destroyed after filming by the AFL staff in 1950s)
E. AFL Microfilm National and International Union File 1890-1948 (originals destroyed after filming by the AFL staff in 1950s)
F. AFL Microfilm Jurisdiction File 1896-1924 (originals destroyed after filming by AFL staff in 1950s)
G. AFL Microfilm Circular and Neostyle File 1906-1937 (originals destroyed after filming by AFL staff in 1950s)
Pt.2. Reels 58-144, records held by the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, edited by Harold L. Miller
A. Files of the Office of the President (General correspondence 1886-1937; Speeches and writings 1894-1925; Conferences 1901-1925, 1930; Hearings 1899-1924; Reference material 1878, 1886-1936; Appointment records 1902-1924)
B. National and International Union Correspondence 1885, 1890-1911
C. Mining Department Records 1911-1915
American Federation of Labor records : the Samuel Gompers era : guide to a joint microfilm publication
Lists material specifically excluded from the microfilm edition.
• Search UC Library Catalog using “American Federation of Labor” as anauthor and as a subject for printed primary source materials in our holdings.
•Do the same in the OhioLINK Library Catalog and in the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) catalog.
•Also search the subject heading “Labor Unions United States,” as well as the personal names of specific labor leaders
American labor unions' constitutions and proceedings
Time Period: Pt. 1, 1836-1974; pt. 2, 1864-1976; annual updates, 1975-
•Contents: Part 1 is a selective collection of 33 active unions and 61 inactive unions representing 11 industry groups. Part 2 adds 11 new industry groups and 43 active unions, included all associated inactive unions. The updates keep the constitutions and proceedings of selective active unions up-to- date.
•See Directory of U.S. Labor Organizations 1982- Latest in Langsam Reference HD6504 .D64 and its predecessors.
•See Handbook of American Trade Unions in U.S. Dept. of Labor. Bureau of Labor of Labor Statistics Bulletin 420; 506; 618 SW Depository L2.3:[415-420; 500-507; 615-618] Full Text at Hathi Trust
CRL Topic Guide: Labor
Guide to labor materials at CRL available for use by UC faculty and students
Debs, Eugene V. (Eugene Victor), 1855-1926 The Papers of Eugene V. Debs, 1834-1945
Time Period: Late 19th early 20th centuries
•Contents: Correspondence with leading labor and socialist figures of the time, including letters written from prison (1919-1921); published writings and speeches (1877-1926); scrapbooks, including obituaries (1884-1938)
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
Primary source accounts: photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and historical documents from the United Farm Worker Delano Grape Strikers and the UFW Volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement [Project description]
Kester, Howard, 1904-1977 Howard A. Kester papers, 1923-1972.
Preacher of the social gospel message, activist, and organizer of the Southern Tenant Farmers' Union [See their papers]
The ILO library's catalogue and a major source of information on the world of work. Over 350¸000 bibliographic records describing books¸ journal articles¸ reports and other publications (including ILO's) covering many work related issues. Some full texts included. Labordoc also provides an ever increasing number of links to online publications available on the Internet. Labordoc also includes thousands of references to journal articles¸ documents and hard-to-find material from countries around the world giving worldwide coverage to the world of work.
Coverage: 1919 - present
Lloyd, Henry Demarest, 1847-1903 The Henry Demarest Lloyd papers
Time Period: 1866-1937
•Content: Correspondence, papers, clippings, and other materials including material about Lloyd written after his death
Papers of the International Labor Defense
Time Period: 1025-1946
•Content: ILD case files, correspondence, pamphlets, petitions, resolutions, newspaper clippings, reports, legal documents and speeches focusing on the protection of worker’s rights, particularly those of the foreign-born and racial minorities
The Samuel Gompers Papers
The Samuel Gompers Papers collects, annotates, and makes available, primary sources of American labor history. Founded by Stuart Kaufman in 1974, the project has published two microfilm series of union records and eleven volumes of Gompers' papers. [Site Description]
Southern Tenant Farmers' Union papers, 1934-1970
Time Period: 1934-1970
•Content: Correspondence, reports, analyses, and other documents written by the Union’s leaders and supporters; letters and other documents from tenant farmers.
•See also OhioLINK for NAACP Papers containing STFU materials and other documentation available in Ohio.
•See also holdings of STFU materials in the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) catalog.
•The University of Akron owns the supplement to the STFU Papers: Green Rising, 1910-1977: a Supplement to the Southern Tenant Farmers Union Papers
•See also Howard A. Kester Papers
Trades Union Congress: Library Collections at the London Metropolitan University
British labour history. See especially section with links to other resources:http://www.unionhistory.info/links.php
Walter P. Reuther Library Wayne State University
The Walter P. Reuther Library of Labor and Urban Affairs was established as the Labor History Archives at Wayne State University in 1960, with the goal of collecting and preserving original source materials relating to the development of the American labor movement.
Age of Exploration
Bringing together material from twelve archives from around the world, this collection includes documents relating to major events in European maritime history from the voyages of James Cook to the search for John Franklin’s doomed mission to the Northwest Passage. It contains a host of additional features for teaching, such as an interactive map which presents an in-depth visualisation of over 50 of these influential voyages.Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center.
AHPN:Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive
A product of broad international collaboration, these digitized documents from the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN) aim to facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation. The discovery of the National Police Historical Archive in 2005 opened an extensive and timely resource for the study of Guatemalan history and human rights in the region, spanning a broad array of topics from Guatemala's armed conflict between 1960 and 1996 to the sexually transmitted disease experiments performed at the behest of the United States government in the 1940s. This site currently includes over 10 million scanned images of documents from the National Police Historical Archive. This digital archive mirrors and extends the physical archive that remains preserved in Guatemala as an important historical patrimony of the Guatemalan people.[Site Description]
Anales históricos de la revolucion de la América latina, acompañados de los documentos en su apoyo. Desde el año 1808 hasta el reconocimiento de la independencia de ese extenso continente. Por Carlos Calvo
Also see these subject headings in the library catalog:
South America -- History -- Wars of Independence, 1806-1830
Mexico -- History -- Wars of Independence, 1810-1821
Latin America -- Foreign relations -- Treaties
"... anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethno-history, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines" [Site Description]
El Códice Mendoza
See subject Manuscripts, Mexican -- Facsimiles in library catalog to locate additional codices
CRL Topic Guide: Latin American Studies
Latin American studies materials in CRL's collections available to UC faculty and students
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis. [Site Description]
Digital National Security Archives (DNSA)
Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink
Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013
Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
Early Americas Digital Archive
Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820
Extractos de escrituras públicas : Archivo General de Centroamérica
I. Años 1567 a 1648. A-D
Note Includes index
Subject Deeds -- Guatemala -- Guatemala
Public records -- Guatemala -- Guatemala
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. [Site Description]
Latin America in translation/en traducción/em tradução
The Latin America in Translation/en Traducción/em Tradução series, sponsored by the University of North Carolina-Duke Consortium in Latin American and Caribbean Studies, translates and publishes in English outstanding books in a wide range of fields by important Latin American writers and scholars. [Publisher's site] Includes primary source materials such as the work linked here. Use the series title in the library catalog to find other works in this series.
Latin American Open Archives Portal
The Latin American Open Archives Portal is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.[Site Description]
Latin American pamphlet digital collection
More than 5,000 titles including many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented in this collection [Catalog Description]
Mayan archaeology digital photographs
Content: 588 online images from various Mayan archeology sites in Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala
Politica Indiana [electronic resource] / sacada en lengua castellana de los dos tomos del derecho i govierno municipal de las Indias Occidentales que mas copiosamente escribio en la latina el dotor don Iuan de Solorzano Pereira ... por el mesmo autor
Translation of De Indiarum iure
•First published in Latin, Madrid, 1629-39, under title:...De Indiarvm ivre...First Spanish edition published at Madrid in 1648 with title: Política indiana
•Laws, legislation, and administration regarding Native Americans in Spain's New World colonies
Sabin Americana (1500-1926) Collection Online
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement¸ Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.Supported by the Charles Phelps Taft Research Center. Coverage: 1500-1926
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. The Avalon Project will no doubt contain controversial documents. Their inclusion does not indicate endorsement of their contents nor sympathy with the ideology, doctrines, or means employed by their authors. They are included for the sake of completeness and balance and because in many cases they are by our definition a supporting document. [Site Description]
Case Law Access Project [Harvard University]
CAP includes all official, book-published United States case law — every volume designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States.
Our scope includes all state courts, federal courts, and territorial courts for American Samoa, Dakota Territory, Guam, Native American Courts, Navajo Nation, and the Northern Mariana Islands. Our earliest case is from 1658, and our most recent cases are from 2018.[Site Description]
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
U.S. Congressional documents and debates
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
Hannah Capitol Connection
Ohio leglislative and governmental information service¸ including bill tracking¸ the full text of bills¸ the administrative code and revised code¸ committee rosters¸ and legislator information
Browse in the "Collections" section for United States, British, and international laws and cases.
International Criminal Court.
ICC Official Journal , documents, and legal digests
Judicial Cases Concerning American Slavery and the Negro
Time Period: Cases end 1875
•Content: V. 1 Cases from the courts of England, Virginia, West Virginia, and Kentucky V.2 Cases from the courts of North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee V. 3 Cases from the courts of Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana V 4 Cases from the courts of New England, the middle states, and the District of Columbia V.5 Cases from the courts of states north of the Ohio and west of the Mississippi rivers, Canada and Jamaica
Law Library of Congress
Congress established its Law Library in 1832, recognizing its need for ready access to reliable legal materials. The Law Library has grown over the years to become the world’s largest law library, with a collection of over 2.65 million volumes spanning the ages and covering virtually every jurisdiction in the world. [Site Description]
Making of Modern Law : Legal Treatises 1800-1926 (MOML)
Originally derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies¸ the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Provides digital images on every page of 22¸000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history¸ including casebooks¸ local practice manuals¸ form books¸ works for lay readers¸ pamphlets¸ letters¸ speeches and more. Coverage: 1800 - 1926
The making of modern law. U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs, 1832-1978
Content: For the period 1832 (when printed Court records began) through 1915, the documents are based primarily on the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library, America's first law library, located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. For 1915-1978 the source is the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York [database description]
Papers of the Select Commission on Immigration and Refugee Policy [
Time Period: 1978-1981
•Content: Internal papers of the commission created by Congress in 1978 to study existing laws, policies, and procedures in place to admit immigrants and refugees into the United States and make legislative recommendations concerning same
ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
This database includes full transcripts of the proceedings¸ including all oral statements¸ committee questions¸ and discussion. Also included are the texts of related reports¸ statistical analyses¸ correspondence¸ exhibits and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff. Coverage: 1824-2003 full text; indexing only 2003-present
ProQuest Congressional Publications
Provides daily updated information¸ including full text of bills starting in 1989¸ public laws starting in 1988¸ committee reports starting in 1990¸ House and Senate documents starting in 1995¸ Congressional hearings starting in 1987-88¸ Congressional Record starting in 1985¸ Federal Register starting in 1980¸ National Journal starting in 1977 and other government information. Users can search an index of congressional publications from 1970 to the present¸ retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970¸ find testimony from congressional hearings¸ track bills as they move through the House and Senate¸ search the Congressional Record and Federal Register¸ locate information about members and committees¸ and search the National Journal.
ProQuest Congressional U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
This database provides comprehensive¸ full-text access to the U.S. Serial Set from 1789 to the present. Coverage: 1789-present
Slavery, Race, and the American Legal System, 1700-1872
All items in this collection are cataloged separately. Use the series title to find each work in the collection.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
A section of "The Making of Modern Law" database.
Women and law
Time Period: late-20th century
•Content: A clipping archive assembled by the Women’s History Research Center for areas of women’s law without case precedent. The bulk of the collection comes from California sources but its scope and depth covers all areas of de facto sex discrimination in the 1970s including education, employment, divorce, housing, unionization, and politics. Rape, prison, and prostitution issues are also included. Minority women’s position in the law is also addressed. Find related material using these subjects in the library catalog: Women -- Legal status, laws, etc
Women -- History -- Social conditions