DEPARTMENT OF PHILOSOPHY
Subjects Covered : Philosophy includes the areas of logic, ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, history of philosophy, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of law, metaphysics, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, value theory, and feminist philosophy.
Departments and Users Served: The collection serves students and faculty of the Department of Philosophy, College of Arts and Sciences. Students and faculty in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences also make use of the library's philosophy collections.
Quantitative Information: http://www.artsci.uc.edu/departments/philosophy.html
Degrees Granted :
Special Programs and Accreditation Requirements :
Philosophy and the Life Sciences http://www.artsci.uc.edu/departments/philosophy/grad/pls.html
Cincinnati Philosophical Colloquium http://www.artsci.uc.edu/departments/philosophy/events_seminars.html
Funding : The philosophy collection is supported through general library funds. The philosophy collection may also make application to the Charles Phelps Taft Memorial Fund for research materials in excess of one thousand dollars.
GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF THE COLLECTION
Location of the Collection : The Philosophy collection is housed in the Langsam Library. Rare or special items are located in the Archives and Rare Books Department, Blegen Library. Older, little used materials are in the Southwest Depository storage facility.
Other Collections Supporting the Program :
Internal : The philosophy collection draws on the Classics Library for western philosophy during the Classical period. The Chemistry-Biology Library and the Health Sciences Library support research in the philosophy of science.
External : Students and faculty of the Department of Philosophy make use of collections in other Ohio libraries through OhioLINK. Interlibrary Loan also supports the philosophy collection.
SPECIFIC ASPECTS OF COLLECTION
Call Numbers : The majority of books collected for the Department of Philosophy are in the B classification, with bibliographical sources being located in the Z classification, and Philosophy of Science materials in the Q classification.
Current and Retrospective Collecting : Acquisition emphasis is on collecting current publications.. Important older works may also be added to the philosophy collection.
Time Period Collected : The collection covers all post-Classical historical periods.
Collection Levels : Most areas of philosophy are collected to support instruction in undergraduate and graduate courses. Areas in which faculty have particular interested are collected at higher levels.
Languages : Most purchases are of English language titles. However, journals and books in various languages are also acquired.
Geographic Areas : Western Europe and North America are emphasized.
Types of Resources : The materials of philosophy include philosophical texts and commentaries on them, histories and surveys of Philosophy (both general and by periods, topics, and schools), Festschriften and other multi-volume works, proceedings of scholarly conferences and symposia, and serial publications. Materials are in print, microform, digital, and video formats.
Approval Plans : Philosophy uses a profile developed and supported by Yankee Book Peddler.
Slip Orders and Firm Orders: Philosophy draws on slip orders suplied by Yankee Book Peddler, reviews in various reviewing sources, and faculty requests.
Standing Orders : Standing orders are used to acquire journals, sets, and selected monographic series.
Special Vendors : Philosophy depends on the library's acquisition team to select appropriate vendors.
University of Cincinnati Libraries
PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033
Contact Us | Staff Directory