Skip to main content
UC Logo
Libraries | Ask the Libraries

Collection Policies

Collection Policies by Subject

University Archives

UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

ARCHIVES & RARE BOOKS LIBRARY

PROGRAM DESCRIPTION

Subjects covered :  The University Archives contains non-current records of the University and its predecessor institutions having permanent historical value and non University materials documenting its activities.

Departments : The University Archives serves reference, research and instructional needs throughout academic and administrative sectors of the University.
 

GENERAL COLLECTION DESCRIPTION

Location of collection : Archives & Rare Books Library, 808 Carl Blegen Library and in storage at SWORD (Southwest Ohio Regional Depository).

Related collections :

  • Archives & Rare Books Library
  • C.U. Collection
  • Cincinnati Medical Heritage Center

General level of collecting :  Comprehensive
 

SPECIFIC COLLECTION DESCRIPTION

Size : approximately 12,000 linear feet

Time period collected : 1819 -

Level & areas of strength & depth : Collected comprehensively

Presidential Records
Administrative Records
Organizational Records
Faculty Papers
Student Organizations

Languages : English

Geographical areas : University of Cincinnati

Finding aids : Inventories are available in the Archives & Rare Books Library.

Formats : Print, microform, audio tapes, videotapes, films, slides, photographs, architectural drawings, and electronic resources
 

ACQUISITIONS PROCESSES

Materials are acquired through transfer and gift. As part of its designated functions, the University Archives administers the University Records Management Program, a state-mandated program for effective administration, retention, and disposal of University records in accordance with legal requirements.  Through this program, historic records of permanent value are transferred from University offices to the Archives & Rare Books Library.
 

UA.1
3/28/02 Alice M. Cornell
5/27/05 Kevin Grace

University of Cincinnati Libraries

PO Box 210033 Cincinnati, Ohio 45221-0033

Phone: 513-556-1424

Contact Us | Staff Directory

University of Cincinnati

Alerts | Clery and HEOA Notice | Notice of Non-Discrimination | eAccessibility Concern | Privacy Statement | Copyright Information

© 2019 University of Cincinnati