ERISA: Research Guide to the Employee Retirement Income Security Act

The collection Regulations & Agency Documents provides full text of regulations and agency documents essential to an understanding of the legal and analytic framework underpinning the field of benefits practice. Also included are BNA's exclusive Annotated Primary Sources.

Provides final ERISA regulations issued by the Department of Labor, PBGC, and the IRS. Also provides a detailed topical index that uses key words to direct you to specific ERISA topics.

Contains the complete text of the Internal Revenue Regulations, as amended through the end of the First Session of the 113th Congress. Provides a useful selection of Code and Regulations sections and clear annotations in the form of Editorial Summaries.

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Lexis Advance provides access to the Department of Labor ERISA Opinion Letters (ERISA) Advisory opinions and Information Letters from The Department of Labor Employee Benefits Security Administration, formerly the Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration.

Requests for interpretations and other rulings under Title 1 of ERISA are handled by the Office of Regulations and Interpretations under the provisions established by ERISA Procedure 76-1. The office answers inquiries from individuals and organizations in the form of advisory opinions, which apply the law to a specific set of facts, or information letters, which merely call attention to well established principles or interpretations.

The Congressional Research Service is a division of the Library of Congress that prepares reports for members and committees of the U.S. Congress.

The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. It is updated daily by 6 a.m. and is published Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays.

The List of CFR Sections Affected lists proposed, new, and amended Federal regulations that have been published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision date of a CFR title. Each LSA issue is cumulative and contains the CFR part and section numbers, a description of its status (e.g., amended, confirmed, revised), and the Federal Register page number where the change(s) may be found.

Alphabetical index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies.

The mission of the Department of Labor is to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights.