Law Reviews are scholarly legal publications published by law schools or other organizations.  Examples here at UC are the University of Cincinnati Law Review, Immigration and Naturalization Law Review, Freedom Center Journal, and Human Rights Quarterly. 

Law reviews can be great sources of information because they can give good policy arguments, broad background information, focus in on narrow topics, as well as cover very cutting edge and controversial topics.

Other types of periodicals that you will come across include legal magazines, newspapers, and newsletters. These are usually more practitioner oriented.  They give practical information on the practice of law and serve as current awareness functions. 

Bluebook

Rule 16 of the Bluebook (19th ed.) covers the citation of law reviews.

Consecutively paginated law reviews and journals (R. 16.4)

Elements

The citation should include the following:

• Author's name
• If the article is written by a student author, the designation of the piece
• Title of the article (in italics or underlined)
• Volume number (if no volume, use year and don't put the year at the end)
• Abbreviation of journal name (see Tables 10 and 13 in the Bluebook)
• The beginning page number
• Year

Example:

Practitioner typeface:

Charles A. Reich, The New Property, 73 Yale L.J. 733, 737-38 (1964).

Scholarly citation typeface:

Charles A. Reich, The New Property, 73 Yale L.J. 733, 737-38 (1964).

Nonconsecutively paginated periodicals (R. 16.5)

Elements

The citation should include the following:

• Author
• Title of the article (in italics or underlined)
• Abbreviation of journal name (see Tables 10 and 13 in the Bluebook)
• Date as it appears on the cover
• the word "at"
• The beginning page number

Example:

Susan A. Berson, Starting Up: If You're Hanging a Shingle in 2011, A.B.A. J., Jan. 2011, at 40.

Newspapers (R. 16.6)

 The citation format for newspapers and newsletters is largely the same as for nonconsecutively paginated periodicals. See your Bluebook for specific exceptions involving special designations, place of publication etc.

ALWD

Rule 23 of the ALWD Citation Manual (4th ed.) covers the citation of periodicals.

Elements

The citation should include the following:

• Author
• If the author is a student, insert "student author" after the name.
• Title (italicized or underlined)
• Volume (if no volume put the year and don't repeat the year at the end)
• Periodical Abbreviation (see Appendix 5)
• Page
• Date (use exact date if if it is not consecutively paginated)

Examples

Charles A. Reich, The New Property, 73 Yale L.J. 733, 737-38 (1964).

Susan A. Berson, Starting Up: If You're Hanging a Shingle in 2011, 97 A.B.A. J. 40 (Jan. 2011).

• Print
• Print law reviews and journals may be found on the Law Library's 4th floor legal periodical collection
  
• Search UCLID, the Online Catalog, for titles and coverage
• HeinOnline
• Must be on-campus or authenticate from off-campus
• HeinOnline contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Therefore, in some cases the current issues are available, but generally a user will notice a one-volume delay
• Lexis Advance (law students and faculty only)
• Date coverage of legal periodicals on Lexis varies depending on the periodical.
• To view legal periodicals available on Lexis Advance, go to Browse Sources > Secondary Materials > Law Reviews and Journals
• Westlaw (law students and faculty only)
• Date coverage of legal periodicals on Westlaw varies depending on the periodical.
• Search Database Identifier JLR
• Ebsco Legal Collection
• Must be on-campus or authenticate from off-campus
• This database contains the full text of more than 300 scholarly law journals.
• Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
• SSRN is a for-profit collection designed to promote greater dissemination of social science research. In the Legal Scholarship Network, scholars will often post pre-publication drafts of papers and law review articles. Most, but not all, of these papers are available for free downloading.
• To browse subjects, look at http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/displayjel.cfm. Law & Economics are listed under K. You can also search by author, title, or find keywords in the abstract. You cannot search full-text.
• Berkeley Electronic Press (BePress)
• One of the services that BePress offers is to act as a repository for working papers and preprints.
• You can browse the repository by recent publications, popular papers, and peer reviewed articles, or by institutions or subjects. You can also search full-text or fields such as author, title, subject, institution, etc.
• You can set up notification alerts of new articles posted at http://law.bepress.com/repository/search_by_subject.html. This does require free registration.

Note that these are indexes, not full-text sources. The index will give you the citation to an article which you would then need to retrieve if you wanted to review the full-text. There may be some overlap in coverage by the indexes but each covers some periodicals that the others do not.

• Current Law Index / LegalTrac / Legal Resource Index (LRI)

• This periodical index goes back to 1980. It is an index to over 800 law journals from the United States and several countries of the Commonwealth. You can search by subject, author/title, and a separate Table of Cases and Table of Statutes.

• Print

• Current Law Index is the print version 4th Floor Law Periodicals K33 .C87

• Westlaw

• Legal Resource Index is an electronic version found in Westlaw (law students & faculty only) --Database identifier: LRI

• Index to Legal Periodicals (ILP)

• This periodical index goes back to 1908. Legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand are covered. Search by author and subject.

• Print

• Index to Legal Periodicals (in print) 4th Floor Law Periodicals K33 .I53

• Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)

• CILP is a current awareness tool where over 500 selected law review articles are indexed. When retrieving them on Westlaw, you will see a key to the citations, then that week’s articles organized by subject. You can scan the entire week’s issue or do a specific topic search using the topic, TO field.

• Westlaw

• Westlaw (law students & faculty only): CILP (last 8 weeks available)

• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

• This index, which goes back to 1960, covers non-US periodicals, with an emphasis on non-commonwealth countries. It provides indexing of public and private international law, as well as comparative and foreign law.

• Print

• Print available at 4th Floor Law Periodicals K33 .I38

• HeinOnline

• (must be on-campus or authenticate from off-campus)

Periodical Indexes and Library Catalogs (1 hour)

Available to Law Students only (see a reference librarian if you do not have a CALI activation code).