These tools have many uses, but the following are the most common:
This rest of this page lists encyclopedias, dictionaries, nutshells, and other study aids.
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (online) by
This new edition of the definitive reference work on international law contains over 1,619 articles covering the full breadth of the subject. Articles address the history and theory of international law; all sub-fields such as international criminal law, environmental law, and economic law; leading cases; and significant treaties, organizations, armed conflicts, and geographical issues. Every article has been thoroughly peer reviewed and all references have been checked over by the editorial staff giving readers total confidence in the quality and accuracy of the content. The subject "international environmental law," for example, brings up 163 articles on general topics like "air pollution, transboundary aspects"; locations like "Baltic sea"; organizations like the "Commission on Sustainable Development"; cases like the "Gabčíkovo-Nagymaros Case"; and treaties like the "Convention on Biological Diversity."
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics by
Written by a team of international experts, the Encyclopedia provides authoritative initial orientation to a particular topic or issue and will serve as a solid starting point for wider explanation. With over 300 fully cross-referenced entries, many of which are followed with suggestions for further reading, the Encyclopedia includes: (1) Country and regional entries, with country entries giving a concise overview of the history, main actors, issues and policies related to its environmental politics; (2) Normative and ethical dimensions of environmental politics, from animal rights, social and global justice to deep ecology; (3) Environmental movements, organizations, struggles and actors from local to international levels; (4) Issues in international environmental politics such as global warming, biodiversity, trade and the environment; (5) Prominent individuals (historical and current) who have inspired or been actively involved in international environmental politics - such as Mahatma Gandhi, Petra Kelly, Vandana Shiva and Aldo Leopold; and (6) Central topics and issues in environmental politics - such as global warming, globalization, wildlife preservation, eco-taxes, energy production and consumption, sustainable development and the World Trade Organization.
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs by
Lakes and reservoirs hold about 90% of the world's surface fresh water, but overuse, water withdrawal and pollution of these bodies puts some one billion people at risk. The Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs reviews the physical, chemical and ecological characteristics of lakes and reservoirs, and describes their uses and environmental state trends in different parts of the world. Superbly illustrated throughout, it includes some 200 entries in a range of topics, including acidification, artificialisation, canals, climate change effects, dams, dew ponds, drainage, eutrofication, evaporation, fisheries, hydro-electric power, nutrients, organic pollution, paleolimnology, reservoir capacities and depths, sedimentation, water resources and more.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems by
This encyclopedia examines topics of global agriculture and food systems. Questions it addresses include: Will we be able to produce enough food to meet the increasing dietary needs and wants of the additional two billion people expected to inhabit our planet by 2050? Will we be able to meet the need for so much more food while simultaneously reducing adverse environmental effects of today's agriculture practices? Will we be able to produce the additional food using less land and water than we use now? These are among the most important challenges that face our planet in the coming decades. The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work.
Global Social Issues by
This reference is a comprehensive, one-stop, interdisciplinary resource that examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Nearly 150 in-depth, balanced, and thought-provoking articles cover a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, and immigration, to name just a few. Each original, signed article provides historical context as well as a thorough discussion and analysis of contemporary issues facing today's interconnected world.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provids a multi-authored, academic yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it. The debate over the advent of global warming at least partially brought on by human enterprise has continued to ebb and flow, depending literally on the weather, politics, and media coverage of climate summits and debates. Advances in research also change the discourse as new data is collected and new scientific projects continue to explore and explain global warming and climate change.
Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste by
In our age of globalization and multiculturalism, it has never been more important to understand and appreciate all cultures across the world. The four volumes take a step forward in this endeavour by presenting concise information on those regions least well-known to students across Europe: the Middle East, Asia and Africa. The volumes convey what daily life is like for people in these selected regions. Entries will aid readers in understanding the importance of cultural sociology, to appreciate the effects of cultural forces around the world, and to learn the history of countries and cultures within these important regions. Key Features -Topics are explored within historical context, in three broad historical periods: prehistory to 1250, 1250 to 1920 and 1920 to the present. -One volume each is devoted to the regions of the Middle East and Africa and then one volume to East and Southeast Asia and a final volume to West, Central and South Asia. The volumes include extensive use of photographs and maps to explain cultural and geographic content. -Each volume has its own volume editor with expertise in that particular region. Key Themes Arts, Culture and Science People, Society and Dynasties Religion and Law Family and Daily Life Conflicts and Wars Politics and Government Health and Education Economy, Trade and Industry National Geography and History.
The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data & Internet Resources by
"Just do an Internet search." "It's on the Internet" These phrases have quickly become a part of the vernacular. The quintessential book of data relating to water, The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources, Third Editionarose from the premise that most of the information provided within this publication could be easily found on the Internet. As the editors and their team of contributors soon discovered, using the Internet for research can be problematic. Too much, too little, and questionable data sets can influence the caliber of your results. The new edition contains more than 1100 tables and 500 figures providing data related to weather, surface water, ground water, water use, water quality, waste water, pollution, and water resource management. The first two chapters are completely new and discuss data management and international data collection. The pollution chapter has grown to contain some 450 plus tables and figures. Wastewater, previously included within the pollution chapter, is presented as a new standalone chapter. Whether you are looking for a specific piece of information or exploring many topics, this edition is a portal to quality facts and data sets. Retaining the elements that made the previous editions bestsellers, the third edition elucidates the many changes within the environmental industry and in water-related issues during the last decade. Prepared by scientists and engineers, the book has been significantly expanded beyond the scope of the second edition. Reflecting changes not only in information but also technology, whenever possible, the text includes an Internet address that guides you to the appropriate source.
Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food by
The Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food provides users with access to nearly 200 entries that cover the entire food system, describing the concepts and processes that are used in the production of raw agricultural materials and food product manufacturing. It addresses Environmental Issues & Sustainability in the Context of 21st Century Challenges Edited by a respected team of biotechnology experts, it includes descriptions and interpretations of molecular biology research, including topics on the science associated with the cloning of animals, the genetic modification of plants, and the enhanced quality of foods. It discusses current and future applications of molecular biology, with contributions on disease resistance in animals, drought-resistant plants, and improved health of consumers via nutritionally enhanced foods. The text examines regulation associated with biotechnology applications¿with specific attention to genetically modified organisms; regulation differences in various countries; and biotechnology's impact on the evolution of new applications. The encyclopedia also looks at how biotechnology is covered in the media, as well as the biotechnology/environment interface and consumer acceptance of the products of biotechnology. Rounding out its solid coverage, the encyclopedia discusses the benefits and concerns about biotechnology in the context of risk assessment, food security, and genetic diversity.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation by
With the growing concern over the environment, new industries and research areas have been developed to identify, monitor, regulate, and legislate environmental interactions as well as to determine and repair existing environmental damage. For both the expert and the newcomer, a quick, convenient, and comprehensive source is needed to answer questions on the rapidly increasing amount of environmental information. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation (EEAR) responds to this need by providing the reader with an in-depth examination of the environmental analysis and remediation fields in a single eight-volume reference source.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology by
In today's world, knowledge about the environment and our relationship with it is extremely crucial. Academic Press proudly presents the Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology, a much-needed reference with detailed information on the environmental issues affecting you. Written for law offices, environmental groups, city planners, and government officials, these three volumes contain 150 expressly prepared articles exploring the impact of global change on plants, animals, and habitats. The Encyclopedia examines the causes and the cures of environmental degradation in an easy-to-use, comprehensive format.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy by
This encyclopedia examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change by
The Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change consists of five volumes of inter-related material: Volume 1: The Earth System: Physical and Chemical Dimensions of Global Environmental Change; Volume 2: The Earth System: Biological and Ecological Dimensions of Global Environmental Change; Volume 3: Causes and Consequences of Global Environmental Change; Volume 4: Responding to Global Environmental Change; and Volume 5: Social and Economic Dimensions of Global Environmental Change. Each volume contains articles of between 1,000 and 10,000 words on major topics. Articles contain an abstract written for the non-specialist, followed by the main text which provides greater detail for the specialist. Biographies of distinguished environmental scientists discuss their contributions to a better understanding of global environmental change. Definitions of international terms and descriptions of acronyms of international and regional programs and agencies provide a quick reference source. Presents a thematic approach and includes theory, empirical studies and applications emphasizing the inter-relationship between various disciplines and systems.
International Environmental Law in a Nutshell by 
Environmental Law and Policy (Concepts & Insights) by
Environmental Law and Policy is a user-friendly, concise, treatment of environmental law. The book provides a broad conceptual overview of environmental law while also explaining the major statutes and cases. The book includes multiple problem exercises, describing a legal or policy conflict in detail and asking students to identify and assess solutions. The new edition is fully updated to include policy initiatives of the Biden Administration, important recent Supreme Court decisions through the 2023-2024 term (Sackett, Loper Bright Enterprises, Jarkesy, Cedar Point Nursery), and the emerging role of Native American tribes in environmental law. The first part of the book provides an engaging discussion of the major themes and issues that cross-cut environmental law, including a new problem exercise on the Rights of Nature. The second part of the book examines the substance of environmental law, with separate sections on each of the major statutes. The third part of the book discusses important issues of natural resources law, including the public trust doctrine, endangered species conservation, wetlands protection, and energy issues. Part four addresses environmental impact statements and the National Environmental Policy Act.
Climate Change Law (Concepts & Insights) by
Climate law runs the gamut from state and local regulations to federal policies and international agreements and includes both public and private sector involvement. The focus of this text is on core concepts of climate change law rather than all of the complex details. The book begins by discussing the scientific and policy issues that frame the legal scheme, including the state of climate science, the meaning of the social cost of carbon, and the variety of tools that are available to reduce carbon emissions. It then covers in turn the international, national, and state efforts in this sphere. Finally, the book turns to the challenge of adapting to climate change, before exploring the concept of geoengineering and the potential challenges associated with using geoengineering as a tool for addressing climate change. The new edition covers major developments such as the Supreme Court's decision in West Virginia v. EPA, Trump Administration rollbacks and their subsequent fates, climate litigation brought by state and local governments, and the implementation of the Paris Agreement.
Climate Change and Sustainable Development Law in a Nutshell by
Law students & faculty only. Policies regarding sustainable development and climate change management appeared on the world stage at the same time and should be studied and understood as a single body of law. This Nutshell enables readers to learn how the U.S. legal system fosters greenhouse gas reduction, energy conservation, and sustainable patterns of growth including energy efficient and sustainable buildings, the use of renewable energy resources, the protection of sequestering open space, and the adaptation of buildings and communities to sea level rise and natural disasters.
Global Issues in Environmental Law by
Law students & faculty only. This book introduces international and comparative legal issues into basic environmental law course. It covers constitutional protection of the environment; the precautionary principle; intergenerational equity; international and comparative approaches to the regulation of air, water, and toxic substance pollution; global climate change; wildlife and biodiversity preservation; the law of the sea; and management of oceans and coastal areas.
Understanding Environmental Law by
This Understanding treatise provides a comprehensive overview of environmental and land use law in the United States. Most of the content addresses the most seminal and widely litigated federal environmental statutes, which have served as the template for the majority of state environmental laws. However, the discussion includes salient state laws when they help to inform particular topics. Early chapters provide a basic summary of the building blocks of environmental law: its constitutional underpinning; federal versus state regulatory authority; common law antecedents; and how the process for the environmental review of government (typically agency) actions operates. Later chapters have been revised to address updated developments involving air pollution and controls, the Clean Water Act, Hazardous Waste regulations and cleanups, and various statutes governing classes of chemicals that collectively can be termed toxic substances. The discussion of noise regulation has been revised to address an increasingly pernicious but often underappreciated kind of emissions that historically had been relegated to state and local land use controls. Climate change is increasingly at the forefront of policy discussions, as are evolving ideas about the responsibility of corporations for including environmental goals in their business models and performance. Hence, these topics, domestically as well as internationally, have been expanded where relevant in this fourth edition. Finally, the new Chapter 14, largely replacing that of earlier editions, directs the readers' attention to emerging areas of environmental concern that increasingly demand regulatory attention.
International Law: A Dictionary by
This Dictionary acquaints readers with the basic tenets of public international law, combining the features of both a brief encyclopedic dictionary and a textbook in clear, understandable language. A list of acronyms and abbreviations; a glossary of Latin phrases; a chronology that offers a historical perspective by listing major developments relating to international law throughout the centuries; a table of cases with references to entries; and a list of the 373 entries precede the main text. The survey of international law is organized into nine chapters. Chapter I contains the usual introductory topics found in international law textbooks: the nature of this law, its sources, the relationship between international and national ("municipal") law, and some other general problems. Chapters II-VIII deal with matters coming within the scope of the "law of peace," organized according to the framework consisting of: states, individuals, spatial context, and interaction. Chapter IX, whose subject unfortunately becomes ever more relevant, describes the rules governing the conduct of warfare, that is, international humanitarian law. Numerous cross-references in bold lead the reader to appropriate entries, and the abundant references to primary sources, mostly treaties and court cases, enable the reader to locate the materials needed for research. The selective bibliography includes books, research aids, textbooks, and casebooks, as well as recent books on special international law topics.
Dictionary of International and Comparative Law by
The Dictionary of International and Comparative Law has over 5,000 entries and offers concise definitions of terminology found in the practice of international and comparative law. This work contains numerous entries recognizing the influence of world events, terminology arising from acts of terrorism and the subsequent escalating focus on the war on terrorism.
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law by
This classic red volume is a one-of-a-kind reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law. Now in its third edition, The Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law is completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2,500 entries provide the reader with copious references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites. Its alphabetically arranged entries allow the reader to form a deeper understanding than a mere definition could supply and offer concise but substantial information on such essentials of international law as: (1) Legal terms as used in international law; (2) Significant doctrines* Prominent cases, decisions and arbitration; (3) Important incidents; (4) Judicial and literary figures; (5) Treaties and conventions; (6) Organizations and institutions; and (7)Acronyms.
A Concise Encyclopedia of the United Nations by
This English edition of the German ""Lexikon der Vereinten Nationen" provides concise and comprehensive information not only about the structure of the UN system, its goals and functions, but about recent developments and reform efforts in the face of global opportunities and challenges. The contributing authors are academic scholars of international law, economics and political sciences; active and former diplomats and UN officials; journalists and members of non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and offer a variety of interesting perspectives. The entries are provided with Internet addresses for further information and are supplemented in the annex with a trilingual list (English-French-German) of the most important institutions and items of the official terminology and a list of information facilities concerning the UN. "Readership: scholars and students of international law, international economics and political sciences, teachers, journalists, diplomats and politicians in the parliaments of the UN member states.
International Law: A Handbook for Judges by
Intended to provide a starting point for understanding the relationship between international law and U.S. law, and the ways in which international law is applied in the United States
Dictionary and Introduction to Global Environmental Governance by
This unique dictionary and introduction to Global Environmental Governance (GEG) provides a compilation of over 5500 terms, organizations and acronyms, drawn from hundreds of official sources. An introductory essay frames the major issues in GEG and outlines the pitfalls of talking past one another when discussing the most critical of issues facing the planet. It challenges those who are concerned with the management of our planet and its inhabitants to understand and accept a vocabulary common to the often-opposing objectives sought in the many GEG instruments. This fully revised and updated edition contains over 500 new entries and acronyms on global environmental governance as well a new introductory section on global water governance, one of the most pressing environmental issues in our era of climate change, growing populations and food shortages.
The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering by
Environmental science and engineering is a truly interdisciplinary field. From its origins in public health practice, concern for the well-being of our environment has embraced areas as diverse as chemistry, the earth sciences, biology, engineering and law. The specialist language of any discipline can be a barrier to co-operation and understanding in solving environmental problems.The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering explains many important specialist environmental terms in a clear and concise way. It also provides an extensive guide to the many acronyms encountered in environmental science. The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering will be a valuable reference tool for anyone working, whether directly or indirectly, with the environment. The dictionary describes many of the acts, organisations and requirements related to the legislation of the environment, giving particular emphasis to those of the United States of America. Thus, it will be particularly useful to those seeking a greater understanding of the US perspective on the environmental question.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology by
This dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader. .
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation by
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment - its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories.Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, it is at the cutting edge of environmental and conservation studies.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment by
Like the subject - which is interdisciplinary and involves ideas from a number of fields of study - this volume deals with the science behind interrelationships of the natural world as well as with natural and human environmental problems. It explains the underlying principle of environmental science which holds that the Earth is a single interconnected system that can be altered by human activity and that cultural, social, and economic factors are vital to the development of environmental solutions and it defines the various terms, issues, and ideas that constitute the fundamental elements of the science.
Dictionary of Environment and Ecology
Topics covered range from soil science, climatology, agriculture (including GM and organic foods), NGOs, pollution, waste management, environmental protection and endangered species. Example sentences for each entry, together with grammar notes and parts of speech, as well as quotations from journals and magazines show how terms are used. Phonetic pronunciation is provided for all headworks and encyclopedic comments expand upon the more complex terms.
The Dictionary of Environmental Microbiology by
The Dictionary of Environmental Microbiology not only defines terms used in environmental microbiology but also includes terms associated with molecular biology, historical figures in the field, and microorganisms of significance. These entries not only provide information that will assist in the study of environmental microbiology, but will also serve as a resource for nonscientists.
DARE's Dictionary of Environmental Sciences and Engineering by
Ideal for anyone interested in environmental issues, this dictionary draws together information from a variety of sources to better facilitate understanding of this wide-ranging subject. Detailed explanations help to promote clearer communication between professionals and provide a standardized reference point for technical translation, a quick-reference guide for researchers and professionals, and an invaluable knowledge base for cross-disciplinary readers from the fields of health, politics, economics and engineering.
