Solar Energy by Michael E. MackayThe information in this book can be used to teach advanced undergraduate or beginning graduate students the fundamental science and engineering of solar energy technologies. It is written in a way that will allow the reader to generalize the information presented in the book rather than present a compendium of facts. A concise and detailed review of solar energy and its interaction with materials is first given followed by discussion of photovoltaic devices andsolar thermal technologies like the solar chimney, solar (power) tower, flat plate water heater, and electricity generation. This is a broad and detailed presentation of information that can be used bythe reader to understand existing solar energy related technologies or to design their own.
Call Number: sci TJ810 .M155 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Solar Energy Engineering: Processes and Systems by Soteris A. KalogirouThis new edition of Solar Energy Engineering: Processes and Systems from Prof. Soteris Kalogirou, a renowned expert with over thirty years of experience in renewable energy systems and applications, includes revised and updated chapters on all areas of solar energy engineering from the fundamentals to the highest level of current research.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013
Solar Engineering of Thermal Processes by John A. Duffie; William A. BeckmanThe updated fourth edition of the "bible" of solar energy theory and applications Over several editions, Solar Engineering of Thermal Processes has become a classic solar engineering text and reference. This revised Fourth Edition offers current coverage of solar energy theory, systems design, and applications in different market sectors along with an emphasis on solar system design and analysis using simulations to help readers translate theory into practice. An important resource for students of solar engineering, solar energy, and alternative energy as well as professionals working in the power and energy industry or related fields, Solar Engineering of Thermal Processes, Fourth Edition features: Increased coverage of leading-edge topics such as photovoltaics and the design of solar cells and heaters A brand-new chapter on applying CombiSys (a readymade TRNSYS simulation program available for free download) to simulate a solar heated house with solar- heated domestic hot water Additional simulation problems available through a companion website An extensive array of homework problems and exercises
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013
Solar Energy by Robert Foster (Editor); James Witcher (Editor); Vaughn Nelson (Editor); Majid Ghassemi (Editor); Luz Elena Mimbela (Editor); Abbas Ghassemi (Editor)Drawing on the authors' extensive research and project implementation around the globe, Solar Energy: Renewable Energy and the Environment covers solar energy resources, thermal and photovoltaic systems, and the economics involved in using solar energy. It provides background theory on solar energy as well as useful technical information for implementing solar energy applications. The book details the strengths, weaknesses, and applications of solar power generation technologies. It discusses the design and implementation of often-overlooked solar technologies, such as solar water pumping, distillation, detoxification, refrigeration, and village power. The text also examines photovoltaic power and how it is best suited for remote-site applications with small to moderate power requirements. Examples, real-world case studies, and lessons learned from technical failures illustrate how to best implement solar energy projects. The time for clean energy solutions is here. Only through energy efficiency and renewable energy technologies can modern civilization extricate itself from the gathering "perfect energy storm." Focusing on one of the keys to lessen the potentially harmful impacts of the storm, this book discusses how to increase energy production from a clean energy source-the sun.
Call Number: TJ810 .S4897 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The references below are provided by the National Academy of Engineering. See whether you can find them in the library either in the digital or the print format.
Beard, M.C., et al. 2007. Multiple Exciton Generation in Colloidal Silicon Nanocrystals. Nano Letters 7(8): 2506-2512. DOI: 10.1021/nl071486l S1530-6984(07)01486-5
DOE (U.S. Department of Energy). 2007. Solar America Initiative: A Plan for the Integrated Research, Development, and Market Transformation of Solar Energy Technologies. Report Number SETP-2006-0010. Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Solar Energy Technologies Program. Washington, D.C.: DOE.
DOE. Solar Energy Technologies Program Multi-Year Program Plan 2007-2011. Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. Washington, D.C.: DOE.
Lewis, N.S. 2007. Toward Cost-Effective Solar Energy Use. Science 315(5813): 798-801. DOI: 10.1126/science.1137014
Ranjan, V., et al. 2007. Phase Equilibria in High Energy Density PVDF-Based Polymers. Physical Review Letters 99: 047801-1 - 047801-4. DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevLett.99.047801
Schaller, R.D., and V.I. Klimov. 2004. High Efficiency Carrier Multiplication in PbSe Nanocrystals: Implications for Solar Energy Conversion. Physical Review Letters 92(18): 186601-1 - 186601-4. DOI: 10.1103/PhysRevLett.92.186601
Search on Your Own
Use the following library tools to find sources above and additional articles.
You can search books, ebooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, and many more in this catalog. It's NOT recommended for searching articles, instead, use databases below.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
CompendexCompendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteComputers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences¸ representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals¸ professional publications¸ and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines¸ computer theory¸ and new technologies.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
Coverage: 1988 - present
INSPEC (Engineering Village)INSPEC is an abstracting and indexing database that provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics¸ computer engineering¸ electrical engineering¸ electronics¸ communications¸ control engineering¸ computers and computing¸ and information technology. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science¸ oceanography¸ nuclear engineering¸ geophysics¸ biomedical engineering and biophysics. INSPEC includes over 14 million records with 725¸000 records added annually¸ including records for 2¸500 conference proceedings. Over 5¸000 journals and other serial titles are indexed.
Coverage: 1896 - present
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present