Textbook of Personalized Medicine by Kewal K. JainAdvances in the technology used in personalized medicine and increased applications for clinical use have created a need for this expansion and revision of Kewal K. Jain's Textbook of Personalized Medicine. As the first definitive work on this topic, this book reviews the fundamentals and development of personalized medicine and subsequent adoptions of the concepts by the biopharmaceutical industry and the medical profession. It also discusses examples of applications in key therapeutic areas, as well as ethical and regulatory issues, providing a concise and comprehensive source of reference for those involved in healthcare management, planning and politics. Algorithms are included as a guide to those involved in the management of important diseases where decision-making is involved due to the multiple choices available. Textbook of Personalized Medicine, Second Edition will serve as a convenient source of information for physicians, scientists, decision makers in the biopharmaceutical and healthcare industries and interested members of the public.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Personal Genomics and Personalized Medicine by Hamid BolouriCurrent research in genomics and pharmacogenomics is increasingly highlighting the need to move towards stratified disease descriptions and individualized treatment plans. This book explains how a confluence of recent biological, technological and methodological developments is making it possible to provide personalized diagnoses and treatments.By virtue of treating each person's condition as unique, personal genomics and personalized medicine require health professionals to understand the nature of the data, its health implications, and its limitations.This book provides a detailed scientific treatment of the emerging disciplines of personal genomics and personalized medicine. It also includes a comprehensive treatment of both the promises and challenges of personal genomics and medicine from technological, societal and medical perspectives. It offers a wide-ranging review of the state of the art across all aspects of a highly multi-disciplinary subject. This book will be immensely useful for practicing health professionals and researchers, as well as senior undergraduates and graduate students in biomedical sciences.
Call Number: sci RB155 .B65 2010
Publication Date: 2009
Genomics and Proteomics Engineering in Medicine and Biology by Metin Akay (Editor)Current applications and recent advances in genomics and proteomics Genomics and Proteomics Engineering in Medicine and Biology presents a well-rounded, interdisciplinary discussion of a topic that is at the cutting edge of both molecular biology and bioengineering. Compiling contributions by established experts, this book highlights up-to-date applications of biomedical informatics, as well as advancements in genomics-proteomics areas. Structures and algorithms are used to analyze genomic data and develop computational solutions for pathological understanding. Topics discussed include: Qualitative knowledge models Interpreting micro-array data Gene regulation bioinformatics Methods to analyze micro-array Cancer behavior and radiation therapy Error-control codes and the genome Complex life science multi-database queries Computational protein analysis Tumor and tumor suppressor proteins interactions
Call Number: sci QP551 .G343 2007
Publication Date: 2007
The references below are provided by the National Academy of Engineering. See whether you can find them in the library either in the digital or the print format.
Erwin P. Bottinger, “Foundations, Promises, and Uncertainties of Personalized Medicine,”Mount Sinai Journal of Medicine 74 (2007), pp. 15-21.
Manfred Dietel and Christine Sers, “Personalized medicine and development of targeted therapies: The upcoming challenge for diagnostic molecular pathology. A review,”Virchows Arch 448 (2006), pp. 744-755.
David L. Heymann, “Resistance to Anti-Infective Drugs and the Threat to Public Health,”Cell 124 (February 24, 2006), pp. 671-675. DOI 10.1016/j.cell.2006.02.009.
W. Kalow, “Pharmacogenetics and pharmacogenomics: Origin, status, and the hope for personalized medicine,” The Pharmacogenomics Journal 6 (2006), pp. 162-165. doi:10.1038/sj.tpj.6500361
L.J. Lesko, “Personalized Medicine: Elusive Dream or Imminent Reality?” Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics 81 (June 2007), pp. 807-816.
M.P. Lutolf and J.A. Hubbell, “Synthetic biomaterials as instructive extracellular microenvironments for morphogenesis in tissue engineering,” Nature Biotechnology 23 (January 2005), pp. 47-55.
Gerard D. Wright and Arlene D. Sutherland, “New strategies for combatingmultidrug-resistant bacteria,” Trends in Molecular Medicine 13 (2007), pp. 260-267. doi:10.1016/j.molmed.2007.04.004.
Mike West et al., “Embracing the complexity of genomic data for personalized medicine,”Genome Research 16 (2006), pp. 559-566.
Search on Your Own
Use the following library tools to find sources above and additional articles.
You can search books, ebooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, and many more in this catalog. It's NOT recommended for searching articles, instead, use databases below.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
CompendexCompendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteComputers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences¸ representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals¸ professional publications¸ and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines¸ computer theory¸ and new technologies.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
Coverage: 1988 - present
INSPEC (Engineering Village)INSPEC is an abstracting and indexing database that provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics¸ computer engineering¸ electrical engineering¸ electronics¸ communications¸ control engineering¸ computers and computing¸ and information technology. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science¸ oceanography¸ nuclear engineering¸ geophysics¸ biomedical engineering and biophysics. INSPEC includes over 14 million records with 725¸000 records added annually¸ including records for 2¸500 conference proceedings. Over 5¸000 journals and other serial titles are indexed.
Coverage: 1896 - present
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present