Economics and Finance for Engineers and Planners by Neil S. GriggCivil engineers who design, construct, or manage infrastructure or environmental systems often find themselves facing decisions that involve factors outside technical and engineering requirements: Can a transportation system be made more sustainable? How can we balance environmental demands with available financing? How can priorities for building and repairing water systems be established in light of limited resources? Economics and Finance for Engineers and Planners: Managing Infrastructure and Natural Resources presents the core issues of economics and finance that relate directly to the work of civil engineers, construction managers, and public works and utility officials. This book answers the practical questions that confront engineers involved in infrastructure, natural resources, and the environment. It explains the economic forces, reviews financial methods, and offers the management tools necessary for civil and environmental engineers to be successful. This book will be an invaluable resource for civil and environmental engineers, construction managers, public works and utility officials, and anyone involved in the economics and finance of planning and management. About the author: Neil S. Grigg, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, is a professor and former head of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Colorado State University.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2009
Sustainable Transportation Systems Engineering by Francis Vanek; Ricardo Daziano; Mark Turnquist; Largus Angenent; James BanksEngineer and implement sustainable transportation solutions Featuring in-depth coverage of passenger and freight transportation, this comprehensive resource discusses contemporary transportation systems and options for improving their sustainability. The book addresses vehicle and infrastructure design, economics, environmental concerns, energy security, and alternative energy sources and platforms. Worked-out examples, case studies, illustrations, equations, and end-of-chapter problems are also included in this practical guide. Sustainable Transportation Systems Engineering covers: Background on energy security and climate change Systems analysis tools and techniques Individual choices and transportation demand Transportation systems and vehicle design Physical design of transportation infrastructure Congestion mitigation in urban passenger transportation Role of intelligent transportation systems Public transportation and multimodal solutions Personal mobility and accessibility Intercity passenger transportation Freight transportation function and current trends Freight modal and supply chain management approaches Spatial and geographic aspects of freight transportation Alternative fuels and platforms Electricity and hydrogen as alternative fuels Bioenergy resources and systems Transportation security and planning for extreme weather events PRAISE FOR SUSTAINABLE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS ENGINEERING: "This book addresses one of the great challenges of the 21st century--how to transform our resource-intensive passenger and freight transportation system into a set of low-carbon, economically efficient, and socially equitable set of services." -- Dan Sperling, Professor and Director, Institute of Transportation Studies, University of California, Davis, author of Two Billion Cars: Driving toward Sustainability "...provides a rich tool kit for students of sustainable transportation, embracing a systems approach.The authors aptly blend engineering, economics, and environmental impact analysis approaches." -- Susan Shaheen, Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Co-Director, Transportation Sustainability Research Center, University of California, Berkeley
Call Number: HE151 .V36 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Infrastructure Sustainability and Design by Spiro N. Pollalis (Editor); Daniel Schodek (Editor); Andreas Georgoulias (Editor); Stephen J. Ramos (Editor)You're overseeing a large-scale project, but you're not an engineering or construction specialist, and so you need an overview of the related sustainability concerns and processes. To introduce you to the main issues, experts from the fields of engineering, planning, public health, environmental design, architecture, and landscape architecture review current sustainable large-scale projects, the roles team members hold, and design approaches, including alternative development and financing structures. They also discuss the challenges and opportunities of sustainability within infrastructural systems, such as those for energy, water, and waste, so that you know what's possible. And best of all, they present here for the first time the Zofnass Environmental Evaluation Methodology guidelines, which will help you and your team improve infrastructure design, engineering, and construction.
American Society of Civil Engineers. 2005. Report Card for America’s Infrastructure.HTTP://ASCELIBRARY.ORG/DOI/BOOK/10.1061/9780784478851
American Society of Civil Engineers. 2013. Report Card for America’s Infrastructure.HTTP://WWW.INFRASTRUCTUREREPORTCARD.ORG/
Bill Wenk. 2007. Green Infrastructure BMPs for Treating Urban Storm Runoff: Multiple-Benefit Approaches,” Water World (July 2007). ww.pennnet.com/display_article/297781/ 41/ARTCL/none/none/Green-Infrastructure-BMPs-for-Treating-Urban-Storm-Runoff:-Multiple-Benefit-Approaches
Zielinski, S. 2006. New Mobility: The Next Generation of Sustainable Urban Transportation,” The Bridge 36 (Winter 2006), pp. 33-38.
Search on Your Own
Use the following library tools to find sources above and additional articles.
You can search books, ebooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, and many more in this catalog. It's NOT recommended for searching articles, instead, use databases below.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
CompendexCompendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteComputers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences¸ representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals¸ professional publications¸ and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines¸ computer theory¸ and new technologies.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
Coverage: 1988 - present
INSPEC (Engineering Village)INSPEC is an abstracting and indexing database that provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics¸ computer engineering¸ electrical engineering¸ electronics¸ communications¸ control engineering¸ computers and computing¸ and information technology. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science¸ oceanography¸ nuclear engineering¸ geophysics¸ biomedical engineering and biophysics. INSPEC includes over 14 million records with 725¸000 records added annually¸ including records for 2¸500 conference proceedings. Over 5¸000 journals and other serial titles are indexed.
Coverage: 1896 - present
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present