Advances in Cyber Security: technology, operations, and experiences by D. Frank Hsu (Editor); Dorothy Marinucci (Editor)As you read this, your computer is in jeopardy of being hacked and your identity being stolen. Read this book to protect yourselves from this threat. The world's foremost cyber security experts, from Ruby Lee, Ph.D., the Forrest G. Hamrick professor of engineering and Director of the Princeton Architecture Laboratory for Multimedia and Security (PALMS) at Princeton University; to Nick Mankovich, Chief Information Security Officer of Royal Philips Electronics; to FBI Director Robert S. Mueller III; to Special Assistant to the President Howard A. Schmidt, share critical practical knowledge on how the cyberspace ecosystem is structured, how it functions, and what we can do to protect it and ourselves from attack and exploitation. The proliferation of social networking and advancement of information technology provide endless benefits in our living and working environments. However, these benefits also bring horrors in various forms of cyber threats and exploitations. Advances in Cyber Security collects the wisdom of cyber security professionals and practitioners from government, academia, and industry across national and international boundaries to provide ways and means to secure and sustain the cyberspace ecosystem. Readers are given a first-hand look at critical intelligence on cybercrime and security--including details of real-life operations. The vast, useful knowledge and experience shared in this essential new volume enables cyber citizens and cyber professionals alike to conceive novel ideas and construct feasible and practical solutions for defending against all kinds of adversaries and attacks. Among the many important topics covered in this collection are building a secure cyberspace ecosystem; public-private partnership to secure cyberspace; operation and law enforcement to protect our cyber citizens and to safeguard our cyber infrastructure; and strategy and policy issues to secure and sustain our cyber ecosystem.
Call Number: TK5105.875.I57 A343 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04
Cyber Security Culture: counteracting cyber threats through organizational learning and training by Peter Trim; David UptonFocusing on countermeasures against orchestrated cyber-attacks, Cyber Security Culture is research-based and reinforced with insights from experts who do not normally release information into the public arena. It will enable managers in industry and government to understand how organizational learning and training can be utilized to develop a culture that protects an organization from attacks. The authors provide information to help managers form policy and procedures, to undertake scenario-based planning and arrange appropriate training interventions, such as table top exercises.Although the work is embedded in a theoretical framework, non-technical staff will find the book accessible and it links firmly with areas beyond ICT, such as human resource management. This book will interest Government officials, policy advisors, law enforcement officers and senior managers within companies, as well as academics and students in a range of disciplines including management and computer science. The knowledge provided will appeal to an international audience.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013
What Every Engineer Should Know about Cyber Security and Digital Forensics by Joanna F. DeFrancoMost organizations place a high priority on keeping data secure, but not every organization invests in training its engineers or employees in understanding the security risks involved when using or developing technology. Designed for the non-security professional, What Every Engineer Should Know About Cyber Security and Digital Forensics is an overview of the field of cyber security. Exploring the cyber security topics that every engineer should understand, the book discusses: Network security Personal data security Cloud computing Mobile computing Preparing for an incident Incident response Evidence handling Internet usage Law and compliance Security and forensic certifications Application of the concepts is demonstrated through short case studies of real-world incidents chronologically delineating related events. The book also discusses certifications and reference manuals in the area of cyber security and digital forensics. By mastering the principles in this volume, engineering professionals will not only better understand how to mitigate the risk of security incidents and keep their data secure, but also understand how to break into this expanding profession.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013
Hacking Happiness: why your personal data counts and how tracking it can change the world by John C. HavensI sync, therefore I am. In Hacking H(app)iness, futurist and Mashable contributing writer John C. Havens introduces you to your 'quantified self' - your digital identity, represented by gigabytes of data produced from tracking your activities on your smartphone and computer. Havens argues that megacorporations such as Google, Facebook, and Amazon gather this data for its immense economic value, encouraging a culture of 'sharing' as they hoard the information based on our lives for private monetary gain. But there's an alternative to this digital dystopia. Emerging technologies will help us reclaim this valuable data for ourselves, so we can directly profit from the insights linked to our quantified selves. At the same time, sensors in smartphones and wearable devices will help us track our emotions to improve our well-being based on the science of positive psychology. Havens proposes that these trends will lead to new economic policies that redefine the meaning of wealth, and thus allow governments to create policy focused on purpose rather than productivity. An issues book highlighting the benefits of an examined life in the digital world, this timely work takes the trepidation out of the technological renaissance and illustrates how the fruits of the Information Age can improve our lives for a happier humanity.
Call Number: HM846 .H38 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The references below are provided by the National Academy of Engineering. See whether you can find them in the library either in the digital or the print format.
Harrison, K. et al., “Security Through Uncertainty,” Network Security (February 2007), pp. 4-7.
Wulf, W.A. and Anita K. Jones, “Cybersecurity,” The Bridge 32 (Spring 2002), pp. 41-45.
President’s Information Technology Advisory Committee, “Cyber Security: A Crisis of Prioritization” (February 2005).
National Research Council, Cybersecurity Today and Tomorrow: Pay Now or Pay Later (Washington, D.C.: National Academies Press, 2002).
National Research Council, Toward a Safer and More Secure Cyberspace, eds. Seymour E. Goodman and Herbert S. Lin (Washington, D.C.: National Academies Press, 2007).
Search on Your Own
Use the following library tools to find sources above and additional articles.
You can search books, ebooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, and many more in this catalog. It's NOT recommended for searching articles, instead, use databases below.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
CompendexCompendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteComputers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences¸ representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals¸ professional publications¸ and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines¸ computer theory¸ and new technologies.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
Coverage: 1988 - present
INSPEC (Engineering Village)INSPEC is an abstracting and indexing database that provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics¸ computer engineering¸ electrical engineering¸ electronics¸ communications¸ control engineering¸ computers and computing¸ and information technology. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science¸ oceanography¸ nuclear engineering¸ geophysics¸ biomedical engineering and biophysics. INSPEC includes over 14 million records with 725¸000 records added annually¸ including records for 2¸500 conference proceedings. Over 5¸000 journals and other serial titles are indexed.
Coverage: 1896 - present
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present