Desalination: water from water by Jane KuceraThis is the first volume to cover desalination in such depth and detail, offering engineers, technicians, and operators full coverage of the applications, economics, and expectations of what will certainly become one of the most important water-related processes on the planet. Covering thermal processes and membrane processes, this is the only volume any engineer working in desalination must have, covering both practical and theoretical issues encountered on a daily basis. Certain to be an important contribution to the water management community.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Clean Water by Beth GeigerLearn how to live green in this series from noted astronaut and environmentalist, Sally Ride that is dedicated to 3 of the Earth's main resources--air, energy, and water. Each volume describes how people use the Earth's resources and what can be done to protect them. Packed with full-color photographs and illustrations. Learn about developing technologies for recycling and desalinating water that are helping to bring clean water to people all over the world.
The references below are provided by the National Academy of Engineering. See whether you can find them in the library either in the digital or the print format.
Gleick, P.H., et al. THE WORLD’S WATER 2006-2007: BIENNIAL REPORT ON FRESHWATER RESOURCES. Chicago: Island Press.
Hillie, T. et al. 2006. NANOTECHNOLOGY, WATER, AND DEVELOPMENT. Dillon, CO: Meridian Institute.
United Nations Development Programme. 2006. HUMAN DEVELOPMENT REPORT 2006: BEYOND SCARCITY: POWER, POVERTY AND THE GLOBAL WATER CRISIS. New York: Palgrave Macmillan.
U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division. INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMS DATA. Accessed July 2007.
The World Bank, Middle East and North Africa Region. 2007. MAKING THE MOST OF SCARCITY: ACCOUNTABILITY FOR BETTER WATER MANAGEMENT IN THE MIDDLE EAST AND NORTH AFRICA: A MENA DEVELOPMENT REPORT. Washington, D.C.: World Bank Publications.
World Health Organization (WHO)/UNICEF Joint Monitoring Programme for Water Supply and Sanitation. 2005. WATER FOR LIFE: MAKING IT HAPPEN. Paris: WHO Press.
World Water Assessment Programme. 2006. WATER: A SHARED RESPONSIBILITY: THE UNITED NATIONS WORLD WATER DEVELOPMENT REPORT 2. Paris and New York: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization and Berghahn Books.
Search on Your Own
Use the following library tools to find sources above and additional articles.
You can search books, ebooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, and many more in this catalog. It's NOT recommended for searching articles, instead, use databases below.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
CompendexCompendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteComputers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences¸ representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals¸ professional publications¸ and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines¸ computer theory¸ and new technologies.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
Coverage: 1988 - present
INSPEC (Engineering Village)INSPEC is an abstracting and indexing database that provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics¸ computer engineering¸ electrical engineering¸ electronics¸ communications¸ control engineering¸ computers and computing¸ and information technology. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science¸ oceanography¸ nuclear engineering¸ geophysics¸ biomedical engineering and biophysics. INSPEC includes over 14 million records with 725¸000 records added annually¸ including records for 2¸500 conference proceedings. Over 5¸000 journals and other serial titles are indexed.
Coverage: 1896 - present
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present