Principles of Fusion Energy: an introduction to fusion energy for students of science and engineering by A. A. Harms; D. R. Kingdon; K. F. Schoepf; G. H. MileyThis textbook accommodates the two divergent developmental paths which have become solidly established in the field of fusion energy: the process of sequential tokamak development toward a prototype and the need for a more fundamental and integrative research approach before costly design choices are made.Emphasis is placed on the development of physically coherent and mathematically clear characterizations of the scientific and technological foundations of fusion energy which are specifically suitable for a first course on the subject. Of interest, therefore, are selected aspects of nuclear physics, electromagnetics, plasma physics, reaction dynamics, materials science, and engineering systems, all brought together to form an integrated perspective on nuclear fusion and its practical utilization.The book identifies several distinct themes. The first is concerned with preliminary and introductory topics which relate to the basic and relevant physical processes associated with nuclear fusion. Then, the authors undertake an analysis of magnetically confined, inertially confined, and low-temperature fusion energy concepts. Subsequently, they introduce the important blanket domains surrounding the fusion core and discuss synergetic fusion -- fission systems. Finally, they consider selected conceptual and technological subjects germane to the continuing development of fusion energy systems.
Call Number: phys TK9204 .P75 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Fusion: The Energy of the Universe by Garry MccrackenFusion: The Energy of the Universe, 2e is an essential reference providing basic principles of fusion energy from its history to the issues and realities progressing from the present day energy crisis. The book provides detailed developments and applications for researchers entering the field of fusion energy research. This second edition includes the latest results from the National Ignition Facility at the Lawrence Radiation Laboratory at Livermore, CA, and the progress on the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER) tokamak programme at Caderache, France. Comprehensive coverage-- basic principles, detailed developments and practical applications Wide accessibility, but with sufficient detail to keep the technical reader engaged Details the initial discovery of nuclear fusion, current attempts to create nuclear fusion here on earth and today's concern over future energy supply Color illustrations and examples Includes technical notes for aspiring physicists
The references below are provided by the National Academy of Engineering. See whether you can find them in the library either in the digital or the print format.
Girard, J.P., et al. 2007. ITER, safety and licensing. Fusion Engineering and Design 82(5-14): 506-510. DOI: 10.1016/j.fusengdes.2007.03.017.
Holtkamp, N. 2007. An overview of the ITER project. Fusion Engineering and Design 82(5-14): 427-434. DOI: 10.1016/j.fusengdes.2007.03.029.
Magaud, P., G. Marbach, and I. Cook. 2004. Nuclear Fusion Reactors. Pp. 365-381 in Encyclopedia of Energy, Volume 4, ed. C.J. Cleveland. Elsevier Science: Oxford, U.K. DOI: 10.1016/B0-12-176480-X/00305-3.
Search on Your Own
Use the following library tools to find sources above and additional articles.
You can search books, ebooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, and many more in this catalog. It's NOT recommended for searching articles, instead, use databases below.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
CompendexCompendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteComputers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences¸ representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals¸ professional publications¸ and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines¸ computer theory¸ and new technologies.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
Coverage: 1988 - present
INSPEC (Engineering Village)INSPEC is an abstracting and indexing database that provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics¸ computer engineering¸ electrical engineering¸ electronics¸ communications¸ control engineering¸ computers and computing¸ and information technology. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science¸ oceanography¸ nuclear engineering¸ geophysics¸ biomedical engineering and biophysics. INSPEC includes over 14 million records with 725¸000 records added annually¸ including records for 2¸500 conference proceedings. Over 5¸000 journals and other serial titles are indexed.
Coverage: 1896 - present
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present