The Four Faces of Nuclear Terrorism by Charles D. Ferguson; William C. Potter; Amy SandsThe Four Faces of Nuclear Terrorism, a new book from the Center for Nonproliferation Studies, assesses the motivations and capabilities of terrorist organizations to acquire and use nuclear weapons, to fabricate and and detonate crude nuclear explosives, to strike nuclear power plants and other nuclear facilities, and to build and employ radiological weapons or "dirty bombs."
Call Number: HV6431 .F43 2005 (Langsam)
Publication Date: 2005
The War on Terror and American Popular Culture: September 11 and beyond by Andrew Schopp; Matthew B. HillThe War on Terror and American Popular Culture is a collection of original essays by academics and researchers from around the world that examines the complex interrelation between the Bush administration's "War on Terror" and American popular culture. Written by experts in the fields of literature, film, and cultural studies, this book examines in detail how popular culture reflects concerns and anxieties about the September 11 attacks and the war those attacks generated, how it interrogates the individual and collective impacts that war has wrought, how it might challenge or critique current policy, and how it might reinforce or endorse the war and its sociopolitical paradigms.
Call Number: HV6432.7 .W36 2009 (Langsam)
Publication Date: 2009
Handbook of Nuclear Engineering by Dan Gabriel Cacuci (Editor)The Handbook of Nuclear Engineering is an authoritative compilation of information regarding methods and data used in all phases of nuclear engineering. Addressing nuclear engineers and scientists at all academic levels, this five volume set provides the latest findings in nuclear data and experimental techniques, reactor physics, kinetics, dynamics and control. Readers will also find a detailed description of data assimilation, model validation and calibration, sensitivity and uncertainty analysis, fuel management and cycles, nuclear reactor types and radiation shielding. A discussion of radioactive waste disposal, safeguards and non-proliferation, and fuel processing with partitioning and transmutation is also included. As nuclear technology becomes an important resource of non-polluting sustainable energy in the future, The Handbook of Nuclear Engineering is an excellent reference for practicing engineers, researchers and professionals.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2010
The references below are provided by the National Academy of Engineering. See whether you can find them in the library either in the digital or the print format.
Bernstein, A. et al. 2002. Nuclear reactor safeguards and monitoring with antineutrino detectors,” Journal of Applied Physics 91: 4672-4676. DOI: 10.1063/1.1452775
Bowden, N.S., et al. 2007. Experimental results from an antineutrino detector for cooperative monitoring of nuclear reactors. Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A, 572: 985-998.
Garwin, R. and G. Charpak. 2001. Megawatts and Megatons. New York: Knopf.
Hecker, S.S. 2006. Toward a Comprehensive Safeguards System: Keeping Fissile Materials Out of Terrorists’ Hands. The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, 607: 121-132.
National Research Council. 2002. Making the Nation Safer: The Role of Science and Technology in Countering Terrorism. Washington, D.C.: National Academies Press. pp. 39-64.
Nuclear Threat Initiative. 2006. Seeing the Danger is the First Step: 2006 Annual Report.
Slaughter, D.R., et al. 2007. The nuclear car wash: A system to detect nuclear weapons in commercial cargo shipments,” Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A, 579: 349-352. DOI:10.1016/j.nima.2007.04.058
Search on Your Own
Use the following library tools to find sources above and additional articles.
You can search books, ebooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, and many more in this catalog. It's NOT recommended for searching articles, instead, use databases below.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
CompendexCompendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteComputers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences¸ representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals¸ professional publications¸ and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines¸ computer theory¸ and new technologies.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
Coverage: 1988 - present
INSPEC (Engineering Village)INSPEC is an abstracting and indexing database that provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics¸ computer engineering¸ electrical engineering¸ electronics¸ communications¸ control engineering¸ computers and computing¸ and information technology. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science¸ oceanography¸ nuclear engineering¸ geophysics¸ biomedical engineering and biophysics. INSPEC includes over 14 million records with 725¸000 records added annually¸ including records for 2¸500 conference proceedings. Over 5¸000 journals and other serial titles are indexed.
Coverage: 1896 - present
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present