Biology of the Nitrogen Cycle by Hermann Bothe (Editor); William E. Newton (Editor); Stuart J. Ferguson (Editor)All organisms require nitrogen to live and grow. The movement of nitrogen between the atmosphere, biosphere, and geosphere in different forms is described by the nitrogen cycle. This book is an activity of the COST 856 Action on Denitrification. It covers all aspects of the N-cycle: chemistry, biology (enzymology, molecular biology), physics, applied aspects (greenhouse effect, N-pollution problems, practices in farming, in waste-water treatment, and more). In this book, leading editors offer the latest research available on dentrification (reduction of nitrates or nitrites commonly by bacteria- as in soil). * Provides details on denitrification and its general role in the environment * Offers latest research in N-Cycle and its reactions * Discusses impacts on various environments: agriculture, wetlands, plants, waste-water treatment and more * The only book available in the field since the last 20 years * Contains 27 chapters written by internationally highly recognized experts in the field * Covers all modern aspects, emphasizes molecular biology and ecology * Written in an easily understandable way
Call Number: geo QH344 .B58 2007
Publication Date: 2006
The Story of N: a social history of the nitrogen cycle and the challenge of sustainability by Hugh S. GormanIn The Story of N, Hugh S. Gorman analyzes the notion of sustainability from a fresh perspective--the integration of human activities with the biogeochemical cycling of nitrogen--and provides a supportive alternative to studying sustainability through the lens of climate change and the cycling of carbon. It is the first book to examine the social processes by which industrial societies learned to bypass a fundamental ecological limit and, later, began addressing the resulting concerns by establishing limits of their own The book is organized into three parts. Part I, "The Knowledge of Nature," explores the emergence of the nitrogen cycle before humans arrived on the scene and the changes that occurred as stationary agricultural societies took root. Part II, "Learning to Bypass an Ecological Limit," examines the role of science and market capitalism in accelerating the pace of innovation, eventually allowing humans to bypass the activity of nitrogen-fixing bacteria. Part III, "Learning to Establish Human-Defined Limits," covers the twentieth-century response to the nitrogen-related concerns that emerged as more nitrogenous compounds flowed into the environment. A concluding chapter, "The Challenge of Sustainability," places the entire story in the context of constructing an ecological economy in which innovations that contribute to sustainable practices are rewarded.
Call Number: TD196.N55 G67 2013 (UC Clermont)
Publication Date: 2013
The World's Greatest Fix: a history of nitrogen and agriculture by G. J. LeighIn the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.
Sustainable Agriculture and New Biotechnologies by Noureddine Benkeblia (Editor)Taking a broad and innovative informational approach, Sustainable Agriculture and New Biotechnologies is the first book to apply omic technologies to address issues related to understanding and improving agricultural sustainability in the food production process. The transformation from industrial to sustainable agriculture is discussed within the frameworks of new biotechnologies and global environmental changes. While considering this transformation, the book covers: The use of new biotechnologies to help in the creation of more sustainable agricultural practices, including methods in molecular biology, genetic engineering, and the new emerging technologies, such as metabolomics, metagenomics, nutrigenomics, and ionomics The path to reach the goal of the global sustainable agricultural and food production systems in a world of limited natural resources and growing environmental degradation Principles that regulate the new agricultural and food production systems including breeding programs for more sustainable crops, soil management, and environment preservation It is clear that biotechnological approaches will become increasingly important in the future and that a shift from industrial to a sustainable agriculture will be necessary. While many books tend to make "a quick and easy link" between these two different worlds, Sustainable Agriculture and New Biotechnologies describes exactly how omics can contribute to greater food productivity and security, and agricultural sustainability in the future.
Call Number: SB106.B56 S87 2012
Publication Date: 2011
The references below are provided by the National Academy of Engineering. See whether you can find them in the library either in the digital or the print format.
C. Driscoll et al., "Nitrogen pollution in the northeastern United States: Sources, effects and management options," BioScience 53 (2003), pp. 357-374.
C. Driscoll et al., "Nitrogen pollution: Sources and consequences in the U.S. Northeast,"Environment 45 (2003), pp. 8-22.
K. Fisher and W.E. Newton, “Nitrogen Fixation,” Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences (Elsevier, 2004), pp. 634-642.
Galloway et al., Bioscience 53 (2003), p. 241.
R.W. Howarth, "The nitrogen cycle," Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change, Vol. 2, The Earth System: Biological and Ecological Dimensions of Global Environmental Change (Chichester: Wiley, 2002), pp. 429-435.
R.W. Howarth et al., "Nutrient pollution of coastal rivers, bays and seas," Issues in Ecology 7 (2000), pp. 1-15.
R.W. Howarth et al., Ecosystems and Human Well-being, Vol. 3, Policy Responses, The Millennium Ecosystem Assessment (Washington, D.C.: Island Press, 2005), Chapter 9, pp. 295-311.
D.A. Jaffe and P.S. Weiss-Penzias, “Nitrogen Cycle,” Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences (Elsevier, 2003), pp. 205-213.
National Research Council, Clean Coastal Waters: Understanding and Reducing the Effects of Nutrient Pollution (Washington, D.C.: National Academies Press, 2000).
Robert H. Socolow, “Nitrogen Management and the Future of Food: Lessons From the Management of Energy and Carbon,” Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 96 (May 1999), pp. 6001-6008.
"Reactive N in the environment," UNEP, 2007.
"No 4.: Human alteration of the nitrogen cycle: Threats, benefits and opportunities," UNESCO-SCOPE Policy Briefs (2007).
Search on Your Own
Use the following library tools to find sources above and additional articles.
You can search books, ebooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, and many more in this catalog. It's NOT recommended for searching articles, instead, use databases below.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
CompendexCompendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteComputers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences¸ representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals¸ professional publications¸ and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines¸ computer theory¸ and new technologies.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
Coverage: 1988 - present
INSPEC (Engineering Village)INSPEC is an abstracting and indexing database that provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics¸ computer engineering¸ electrical engineering¸ electronics¸ communications¸ control engineering¸ computers and computing¸ and information technology. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science¸ oceanography¸ nuclear engineering¸ geophysics¸ biomedical engineering and biophysics. INSPEC includes over 14 million records with 725¸000 records added annually¸ including records for 2¸500 conference proceedings. Over 5¸000 journals and other serial titles are indexed.
Coverage: 1896 - present
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present