Green Carbon Dioxide: advances in CO2 utilization by Gabriele Centi (Editor); Siglinda Perathoner (Editor)PROMISING NEW APPROACHES TO RECYCLE CARBON DIOXIDE AND REDUCE EMISSIONS With this book as their guide, readers will learn a variety of new approaches and methods to recycle and reuse carbon dioxide (CO2) in order to produce green fuels and chemicals and, at the same time, minimize CO2 emissions. The authors demonstrate how to convert CO2 into a broad range of essential products by using alternative green energy sources, such as solar, wind, and hydro-power as well as sustainable energy sources. Readers will discover that CO2 can be a driving force for the sustainable future of both the chemical industry and the energy and fuels industry. Green Carbon Dioxide features a team of expert authors, offering perspectives on the latest breakthroughs in CO2 recycling from Asia, Europe, and North America. The book begins with an introduction to the production of CO2-based fuels and chemicals. Next, it covers such topics as: Transformation of CO2 to useable products through free-radical-induced reactions Hydrogenation of CO2 to liquid fuels Direct synthesis of organic carbonates from CO2 and alcohols using heterogeneous oxide catalysts Electrocatalytic reduction of CO2 in methanol medium Fuel production from photocatalytic reduction of CO2 with water using TiO2-based nanocomposites Use of CO2 in enhanced oil recovery and carbon capture and sequestration More than 1,000 references enable readers to explore individual topics in greater depth. Green Carbon Dioxide offers engineers, chemists, and managers in the chemical and energy and fuel industries a remarkable new perspective, demonstrating how CO2 can play a significant role in the development of a sustainable Earth.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Solubility in Supercritical Carbon Dioxide by Ram B. Gupta; Jae-Jin Shim; Jae-Jin ShimSupercritical fluid extraction is an environmentally safe and cost-effective alternative to traditional organic solvents. Carbon dioxide is widely used as the solvent of choice for applications such as caffeine and nicotine extraction due to its mild critical temperature, nontoxicity, nonflammability, and low cost. Introducing the most complete collection of supercritical CO2 solubility data currently available, Solubility in Supercritical Carbon Dioxide features experimental data on more than 780 solutes in consistent units and an easily accessible format. This book reflects the authors' painstaking efforts to compile solubility data for an extensive variety of compounds including liquids, solids, polymers, foods, drugs, nutraceuticals, pesticides, dyes, and metal complexes. Each of the more than 1200 tables is arranged in alphabetical order by compound, includes a graphical plot of its data, and features the following information: Compound name, molecular formula, and molecular weight Temperature and pressure given in Kelvin and bar, respectively Name and amount of cosolvent, if applicable Molar or mass solubility, when applicable Mole- or mass-fraction solubility Synonyms for the compound, where available Reference source for the data Density data for CO2 appears in one appendix, while a complete list of solutes by molecular formula appears in the other. Clear, consistent, and carefully organized, Solubility in Supercritical Carbon Dioxide is the most convenient quick-lookup guide for reliable data.
Call Number: biol TP156.E8 G77 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Terrestrial Sequestration of Carbon Dioxide by Felix D. Agron (Editor); James P. Osborne (Editor)Vegetation is able, through photosynthesis, to remove CO2 from the atmosphere and convert it to carbohydrates. Some of this carbon returns to the atmosphere through decay or burning, but much of it can remain in the soil or in plant tissues for many years. By improved management practices, the amount of carbon stored in soils and plants can be increased. Storing carbon in this way is referred to as terrestrial sequestration. This book examines the land types and management methods that can maximize carbon storage in vegetation and soil and explores the analytical techniques necessary to monitor, verify and account for terrestrially stored carbon, which is required for this carbon to be traded.
You can search books, ebooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, and many more in this catalog. It's NOT recommended for searching articles, instead, use databases below.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
CompendexCompendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteComputers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences¸ representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals¸ professional publications¸ and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines¸ computer theory¸ and new technologies.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
Coverage: 1988 - present
INSPEC (Engineering Village)INSPEC is an abstracting and indexing database that provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics¸ computer engineering¸ electrical engineering¸ electronics¸ communications¸ control engineering¸ computers and computing¸ and information technology. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science¸ oceanography¸ nuclear engineering¸ geophysics¸ biomedical engineering and biophysics. INSPEC includes over 14 million records with 725¸000 records added annually¸ including records for 2¸500 conference proceedings. Over 5¸000 journals and other serial titles are indexed.
Coverage: 1896 - present
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present