Biology for Engineers by Arthur T. JohnsonBiology is a critical application area for engineering analysis and design, and students in engineering programs must be well-versed in the fundamentals of biology as they relate to their field. Biology for Engineersis an introductory text that minimizes unnecessary memorization of connections and classifications and instead emphasizes concepts, technology, and the utilization of living things. Whether students are headed toward a bio-related engineering degree or one of the more traditional majors, biology is so important that all engineering students should know how living things work and act. Classroom-tested at the University of Maryland, this comprehensive text introduces concepts and terminology needed to understand more advanced biology literature. Filled with practical detailed examples, the book presents: Scientific principles relevant to biology that all engineers must know A discussion of biological responses from the perspective of a broad range of fields such as psychology, human factors, genetics, plant and animal physiology, imaging, control systems, actuary, and medicine A thorough examination of the scaling of biological responses and attributes A classification of different types of applications related to biological systems Tables of useful information that are nearly impossible to find elsewhere A series of questions at the end of each chapter to test comprehension Emphasizing the ever-present interactions between a biological unit and its physical, chemical, and biological environments, the book provides ample instruction on the basics of physics, chemistry, mathematics, and engineering. It brings together all of the concepts one needs to understand the role of biology in modern technology.
Call Number: TA164 .J64 2011
Publication Date: 2010
New Biology for Engineers and Computer Scientists by Aydin Tozeren; Stephen W. ByersTaking a system approach to expose modern biology, this book presents the fundamental system principles and parameters common to all living species. The straightforward examination begins with a presentation of molecular cell biology and progresses to the complex interrelationship between genes and proteins as observed in metabolic process, signal transduction, cell division and embryonic development. The book's unique approach provides a depiction of the human genome project, a review of high throughput biology and bioinformatic tools and a presentation of gene circuitry and pathway analysis as applied to cell division, development of embryo and metabolic pathways and expose of emerging proteomic science. The volume presents the chemistry of life, macromolecules of life, cells and their housekeeping functions, gene circuits, genomics, cell adhesion and communication, cell division and its regulation, development of multicellular organisms and large scale biology. For computer scientists, physicists, and engineers.
Call Number: QH506 .T68 2004
Publication Date: 2003
Albert Einstein: Chief Engineer of the Universe by Jürgen Renn (Editor)In 1905, Albert Einstein published five scientific articles that fundamentally changed the world–view of physics: The Special Theory of Reativity revolutionized our concept of space and time, E=mc² became the best–known equation in physics. On the occasion of the 100th aniversary of his "annus mirabilis" 1905, the UNESCO declared the year 2005 the "World Year of Physics", in order to draw attention to the impact of physics. The Max Planck Institute for the history of science dedicates an exhibition in the Kronprinzenpalais in Berlin to the probably most important scientist of the 20th century. In this book, 100 authors explain the historical background of Einstein′s life and work, shed light on many different aspects of his biography, and on the scientific fields and topics that are connected to Einstein′s work. The authors are some of the most renowned Einstein researchers in the world, such as Jürgen Ehlers, Peter Galison, Zeev Rosenkranz, John Stachel and Robert Schulmann. The essays form a bridge between scientific and cultural history, opening up a perspective on Einstein′s biography which goes beyond the traditional picture of the exceptional science genius.
Call Number: phys QC16.E5 A65 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The Edge of Physics: a journey to Earth's extremes to unlock the secrets of the universe by Anil AnanthaswamyIn this deeply original book, science writer Anil Ananthaswamy sets out in search of the telescopes and detectors that promise to answer the biggest questions in modern cosmology. Why is the universe expanding at an ever faster rate? What is the nature of the "dark matter" that makes up almost a quarter of the universe? Why does the universe appear fine-tuned for life? Are there others besides our own? Ananthaswamy soon finds himself at the ends of the earth—in remote and sometimes dangerous places. Take the Atacama Desert in the Chilean Andes, one of the coldest, driest places on the planet, where not even a blade of grass can survive. Its spectacularly clear skies and dry atmosphere allow astronomers to gather brilliant images of galaxies billions of light-years away. Ananthaswamy takes us inside the European Southern Observatory’s Very Large Telescope on Mount Paranal, where four massive domes open to the sky each night "like dragons waking up." He also takes us deep inside an abandoned iron mine in Minnesota, where half-mile-thick rock shields physicists as they hunt for elusive dark matter particles. And to the East Antarctic Ice Sheet, where engineers are drilling 1.5 miles into the clearest ice on the planet. They’re building the world’s largest neutrino detector, which could finally help reconcile quantum physics with Einstein’s theory of general relativity. The stories of the people who work at these and other dramatic research sites—from Lake Baikal in Siberia to the Indian Astronomical Observatory in the Himalayas to the subterranean lair of the Large Hadron Collider—make for a compelling new portrait of the universe and our quest to understand it. An atmospheric, engaging, and illuminating read, The Edge of Physics depicts science as a human process, bringing cosmology back down to earth in the most vivid terms.
You can search books, ebooks, journals, magazines, newspapers, and many more in this catalog. It's NOT recommended for searching articles, instead, use databases below.
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Coverage: 1865 - present
CompendexCompendex provides abstracts and full bibliographic citations for worldwide engineering and technical literature and encompasses all engineering disciplines¸ as well as related fields in science and management. The records in the database are drawn from over 2¸600 published journals¸ conference proceedings¸ and individual conference papers¸ technical reports¸ monographs¸ and other materials. The database provides access of over 11 million records covering over 120 years of engineering literature. Over 650¸000 records are added annually for 190 engineering disciplines.
Coverage: 1884 - present
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteComputers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences¸ representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals¸ professional publications¸ and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines¸ computer theory¸ and new technologies.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature¸ including peer-reviewed papers¸ theses¸ books¸ preprints¸ abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers¸ professional societies¸ preprint repositories and universities¸ as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you are unable to access the fulltext of the item¸ please check with your university library. You may need to do searches from a campus computer or use a library proxy.
IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions¸ IEEE and IEE journals¸ magazines¸ and conference proceedings published since 1988¸ and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
Coverage: 1988 - present
INSPEC (Engineering Village)INSPEC is an abstracting and indexing database that provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics¸ computer engineering¸ electrical engineering¸ electronics¸ communications¸ control engineering¸ computers and computing¸ and information technology. It also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science¸ oceanography¸ nuclear engineering¸ geophysics¸ biomedical engineering and biophysics. INSPEC includes over 14 million records with 725¸000 records added annually¸ including records for 2¸500 conference proceedings. Over 5¸000 journals and other serial titles are indexed.
Coverage: 1896 - present
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts¸ covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5¸300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines¸ covering approximately 2¸000 more journals than its SCI print and CD-ROM counterparts¸ with all cited references captured. Coverage: 1965 - present
KnovelProvides leading science and engineering books¸ conferences¸ and databases embedded with productivity tools in one online service. The Knovel product provides the ability to interact with the data¸ deep searchability¸ valuable subject collections through aggregation¸ and continuing expanding content. Approximately 500 books are included in the collection at the end of 2003.
Scopus (Elsevier)Indexing¸ abstracts¸ and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature. Scopus covers 14¸000 titles across 4¸000 publishers¸ providing access to over 25 million abstracts going back to 1966 and 5 years of cited reference back years¸ building up to 10 years by the end of 2005. Coverage: 1966 - present