As the world grows more globally interconnected, International law becomes more important. This guide will give you a quick introduction to International, Foreign, and Transnational Law.
When researching International law, you may find many confusing abbreviations to unfamiliar sources. Use the following selected resources to help you identify the sources being abbreviated.
The Bluebook by
A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations by
This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations by
Created by the Journal of International Law and Politics at New York University, The Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations is the most comprehensive source for international citations rules.
Index to legal citations and abbreviations by
Covers abbreviations used in the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth, Europe, and the United States.
Latin American Legal Abbreviations by
This first comprehensive letter by letter dictionary of Latin American legal abbreviations includes abbreviations for government agencies, organizations, periodicals, and other publications relating to law. All entries are translated from Spanish and Portuguese into English.
Prince's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by
Generally the go-to source for American legal abbreviations, although it covers more.
World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by
This four volume set provides the definitions of common and civil law terms, with translations. Arranged by language group, by country, by subject.
International Law: A Dictionary by
This Dictionary acquaints readers with the basic tenets of public international law, combining the features of both a brief encyclopedic dictionary and a textbook in clear, understandable language. A list of acronyms and abbreviations; a glossary of Latin phrases; a chronology that offers a historical perspective by listing major developments relating to international law throughout the centuries; a table of cases with references to entries; and a list of the 373 entries precede the main text. The survey of international law is organized into nine chapters. Chapter I contains the usual introductory topics found in international law textbooks: the nature of this law, its sources, the relationship between international and national ("municipal") law, and some other general problems. Chapters II-VIII deal with matters coming within the scope of the "law of peace," organized according to the framework consisting of: states, individuals, spatial context, and interaction. Chapter IX, whose subject unfortunately becomes ever more relevant, describes the rules governing the conduct of warfare, that is, international humanitarian law. Numerous cross-references in bold lead the reader to appropriate entries, and the abundant references to primary sources, mostly treaties and court cases, enable the reader to locate the materials needed for research. The selective bibliography includes books, research aids, textbooks, and casebooks, as well as recent books on special international law topics.
Dictionary of International and Comparative Law by
The Dictionary of International and Comparative Law has over 5,000 entries and offers concise definitions of terminology found in the practice of international and comparative law. This work contains numerous entries recognizing the influence of world events, terminology arising from acts of terrorism and the subsequent escalating focus on the war on terrorism.
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law by
This classic red volume is a one-of-a-kind reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law. Now in its third edition, The Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law is completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2,500 entries provide the reader with copious references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites. Its alphabetically arranged entries allow the reader to form a deeper understanding than a mere definition could supply and offer concise but substantial information on such essentials of international law as: (1) Legal terms as used in international law; (2) Significant doctrines* Prominent cases, decisions and arbitration; (3) Important incidents; (4) Judicial and literary figures; (5) Treaties and conventions; (6) Organizations and institutions; and (7)Acronyms.
A Concise Encyclopedia of the United Nations by
This English edition of the German ""Lexikon der Vereinten Nationen" provides concise and comprehensive information not only about the structure of the UN system, its goals and functions, but about recent developments and reform efforts in the face of global opportunities and challenges. The contributing authors are academic scholars of international law, economics and political sciences; active and former diplomats and UN officials; journalists and members of non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and offer a variety of interesting perspectives. The entries are provided with Internet addresses for further information and are supplemented in the annex with a trilingual list (English-French-German) of the most important institutions and items of the official terminology and a list of information facilities concerning the UN. "Readership: scholars and students of international law, international economics and political sciences, teachers, journalists, diplomats and politicians in the parliaments of the UN member states.
International Law: A Handbook for Judges by
Intended to provide a starting point for understanding the relationship between international law and U.S. law, and the ways in which international law is applied in the United States
