Research Guides: Law Faculty Publishing: A Guide: Citation Management Services

Citation Managers

Citation Managers are software applications that will help researchers …

Gather references automatically from article databases
Format manuscripts and citations instantly in a variety of styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.)
Generate bibliographies
Create and organize a personal research database of references, images and PDFs
Share citations with colleagues on campus and around the world
Transfer references among various applications

Below are some citation management programs:

RefWorks
A web-based bibliography manager that makes it easy to import references to articles, books, web pages and other types of sources from online databases. RefWorks is licensed by the University of Cincinnati and is available at no cost to all UC students, faculty and staff.
To add the Bluebook Style to RefWorks:
- Click on the Bibliography button
- Access the Output Style Manager
- Select the Bluebook Style and Add it to your favorites
- Go back to the Bibliography screen and select the Bluebook Output Style
Zotero
"A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."
Adding the Bluebook Style to Zotero:
- From the Gear Icon / Action Menu within the Zotero pane, select Preferences
- Click on the Cite Button
- Click on the Styles Tab
- Click on the link to Get Additional Styles
- Find the Bluebook Law Review Style and click Install
- Click OK
Mendeley
"A free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Automatically generate bibliographies, collaborate easily with other researchers online, easily import papers from other research software, find relevant papers based on what you’re reading, access your papers from anywhere online, read papers on the go..." and more.
Adding the Bluebook style to Mendeley:
- From the View Menu, select Citation Style: More Styles
- Click on the Get More Styles tab
- Search for Bluebook Law Review
- Click on Install and Use
Endnote
A software program for publishing and managing bibliographies that you purchase and load on your computer. You can sign up for a free 30 day trial to test it. It is available for purchase at UC Bookstore.
Endnote Tutorials

Social Bookmarking

Social Bookmarking sites allow you to save references and bookmarks to an online account, which you may choose to share with others. You may also browse by subject or tags, and some services allow you to upload files.

BibSonomy With BibSonomy you can easily create collections of bookmark and publication posts. In addition, you can also use ISBN, ISSN, DOI, or barcodes to have the insert publication form filled up automatically for you. Use tags to organize the posts in your collection.BibSonomy helps you create bibligraphies. Use the search to find other users.
Scoop.It Scoop.It is a tool for curation of blog content.